Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut USA

Wonderful Neighborhood Hotel and Restaurant

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The staff, the restaurant, the neighborhood.
Cons: Tissues in the bathroom.
Location: Sightseeing, chateaux tours, shopping, boat rides, tram
French hospitality at it's finest! Our luggage was so heavy from purchases made over the past two weeks, but, "Not to worry, we will handle." And handle it they did. We stayed for two nights enjoying the sights and sounds of the neighborhood, including the nearby trains rushing past. On the first day, room was made in the garden for a wonderful three course meal and on the second night they accommodated us for dinner at the last minute. Thank you again for that kindness, as we had the finest meals we have had in France! Your chef is an artist of the first quality and the staff the most accommodating and kind. We hope to return some day, many thanks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stafford VA

Charming location, close to rail station.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Location (near train station), affordable, comfortable
Cons: Help connect train travelers with car rental locations (shuttle? bike rental?)
Location: Perfect for train travelers, and a 10 minute walk to the old city. We rented a car and visited area chateaux. Car rental was a long walk
Charming hotel - just what I would expect in an older European property. Breakfast was a good value. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the menu looked great. Great location for train travelers. Staff were very helpful with information and recommendations for seeing the chateaux in the area. Gardens were pleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel close to the train station

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The staff was excellent
We stayed for 2 nights and while not in the heart of Amboise, it is only a short 20 minute walk. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The rooms and grounds are immaculate and well kept with a very pretty garden area. If you have a car, there is ample parking as well. Make sure that you try the restaurant as it is excellent and is actually highly rated in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great little hotel fantastic service

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The warmth of reception and the willingness to help whatever the question. The quality of the food!!
Cons: The building is an old one and perhaps some of the corridors needed a little brightening.
Location: You do have to cross the bridge to get into the old town but this does offer the best views of the chateau.
My wife and I booked a six night stay so that we could examine the Amboise area at our leisure without having to change hotels. Prior to arrival we contacted the hotel to ask for a garden view, to book a car park space and to make a reservation for dinner on our first night. The reply came within 24 hours and couldn't have been more polite and obliging. The hotel was as expected; a small 2 star hotel on the opposite side of the Loire to the Chateau. Our room was big enough, had all the usual including a safe with a well appointed ensuite. Two things mark this hotel as excellent. Firstly the quality of the service from all the staff which was without question some of the best we have ever come across and secondly the quality of the restaurant. Our meal on our first night decided the pattern for the rest of our stay and we used it on the four evenings it was open during our stay (closed Sunday evening and all day Monday). As diners we have eaten at a number of Michelin starred restaurants in the UK and the food at La Breche was consistently of this standard. The duck was just pink as was the lamb, the scallops were so good they needed a second visit and the starters and desserts were both beautiful to look at as they were to eat. The wine list was extensive and the staff were very helpful in helping to choose the right wine for the person. We have nothing but praise for the staff at La Breche and their welcome was something we will remember and judge other places by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel a short walk from the city center.

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Welcoming staff, clean room and lovely courtyard. The breakfast was plentiful and the coffee delicious. The room was the right size for two people, and the bathroom spacious.
5 out of 5
by Vladimir

Небольшой уютный отель

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Очень приятный небольшой отель в Амбуазе, буквально в двух шагах от вокзала и минутах в 5 от замка и исторического центра. Довольно большие по французским меркам номера с хорошей и просторной ванной комнатой, приветливые сотрудники, тихий и спокойный район. С удовольствием вернемся еще раз.
4 out of 5
by Andrea

Close to the train station.

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
The room itself was quite tight but the bathroom made up for it. Was a little disappointed that when we arrived at 8:40 pm we couldn't get so much as a plate of cheese and/or bread even though the restaurant was supposed to be open until 9pm. The parking is good and they had no problem with us leaving our car there after we checked out, until we finished touring the town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice small hotel in walking distance of POI

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The bathroom is very nice and the room was clean. There is enough room. The location is good.
Cons: The restaurant staff was at times rude. If a person does not want dessert, repeatedly asking and then bringing a small dessert was not appreciated.
Location: The location is easy to find and is a nice walk across the bridge from the chateau.
This is a small hotel. The room was very comfortable, bathroom extremely nice. The stairs were challenging. Someone with mobility issues should not try them. We ate one dinner there and the food was excellent. Service person was judgement.
4 out of 5
by SYLVIE from Beaumont sur Oise

Vaut le détour.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Deux nuits passées dans cet hôtel, bon accueil, chambre pas très grande mais bien suffisante pour y dormir, la salle de douche très correcte grande, un drap de douche ,une serviette et un peignoir par personne. Le restaurant est très bien, sommelier également. Très bon service.
5 out of 5
by ALAIN from VOUVRAY ( AIN )

EXCELLENT SEJOUR.

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
VISITE DES CHATEAUX DE LA LOIRE.AVEC L HOTEL SUPER BIEN PLACE POUR LES VISITES.