Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location for local tourists

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
great location for cycling or walking up and down the Loire or the Cher. Very close to the chateau of Villandry where you can see the fascinating ornamental vegetable gardens. We had two lovely evening meals mainly going for the specials, but the wine was quite expensive.
5 out of 5
by Michelle from Houston

Perfect French Country Side Getaway

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
It was perfect! Would not have changed a thing.
4 out of 5
by James from Perth australia

Hard bedding

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Clean tidy comfortable except that the beds are very hard,apart from that great.
4 out of 5
by John from GB

Lovely village hotel, Excellent Food

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
A charming hotel in a small village. We spent 2 nights in this hotel on our way from Spain back to England. It is just about 100m from the Chateau and Gardens of Villandry and an excellent base for visiting other Chateaux and wineries in the Loire valley. The service and food in the restaurant were excellent if not exactly cheap. I Would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful old hotel but updated and comfortable

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: food, bikes to rent were convenient
Cons: narrow stairs up to the room was difficult to bring up luggage needs conveneinet public transportation from Tours
Location: chateau Villandry , old church, Etape Gourmand restaurant - 400 year old farmhouse and restaurant
fantastic food and amazing garden courtyard. the setting of the hotel and the restaurant and the rooms was wonderful. beautiful old town and close to the Loire Valley bike trail
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kate from London

Lovely hotel, good location

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels
A very comfortable and well furnished hotel. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Beautiful village, although being out of season meant it was very quiet. Ideal location for exploring the area. We got there about 9.30pm and found the hotel shut up however - it would have been good if it had been made clear we needed to let them know our arrival time as there was no function on this website to do so (more a criticism of this site than the hotel however). They were quick to arrive and let us in however as soon as I rang them. It is also worth bearing in mind that arriving at 9.30pm nothing was open even for a light snack. The wine shop and bar up the road was well worth a visit - very friendly and had an excellent selection of local wine by the glass and a good rustic menu too.
4 out of 5
by Mrs Ford from Indre et Loire

Ideally placed for Villandry Château

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels
Comfortable and friendly hotel, but not ideal for people of restricted mobility - I found the spiral staircase to the rooms slightly challenging
5 out of 5
by Cruickshank family

Family stay in Villandry

Posted Aug 6, 2012 on Hotels
The Coquelicot family room is great if you are travelling with small kids, it has its own kids TV and bathroom and is spacious and well equipped. The service was professional and friendly - and happy to deal with a 5 year old and a baby. We had a very nice dinner - perhaps a little overpriced (especially the kids menu) - but there are plenty of other eating options in the vicintiy. The breakfast was the weakest element, especially the coffee - but again perfectly adequate, and it is optional, so alternative breakfast options can be explored. The hotel is conveniently located to explore the Loire between Tours and Saumur; we all enjoyed our stay and would happily go back again.
5 out of 5
by Meg

Staying at Villandry a Treat

Posted May 17, 2012 on Hotels
Being able to spend a full 24 hours at Villandry was wonderful thanks to Le Colombien which is a charming hotel only a short distance from the gardens and chateau. The room was cheerful, comfortable, clean, and reasonably priced.