Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Great hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Everything, rooms, staff,breakfast and location
Location: Excellent location for touring the Loire valley
Amazingly clean, well appointed, the hotel is an exceptional place to stay. The staff, particulary at the front desk strived to please, and their language skills ensured an easy check in/out. The rooms were large, and offerred all the amenities for this tired traveller. Had we known the quality of this hotel earlier we would have used it as our base while exploring the Loire valley
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syd

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
We arrived at our hotel the foyer was amazing on its own. We were advised that we had been up graded. When we got to our room we realised we had a suite with seperate toilet and bathroom. The batroom had a seperaye spa bath and double shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A great hotel in Tours

Posted Aug 6, 2016
We have stayed here twice and it has always been comfortable, clean and the staff friendly. They have just put in a pool, gym, hot tub and massage so worth the visit. I'll be going back again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Good, central hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Good location, clean room, comfortable beds, good shower.
Cons: Staff need to be more customer focused and friendly.
Location: Good location, tourist attractions all within easy reach - the old town, cathedral, castle, rail and bus stations and tourist information office.
Overall okay but let down by staff. Our television ceased to work during our stay. We phoned reception who informed us that the technician would look at it the next day. When we returned to the hotel the following evening the television was still not working. We contacted reception and they told us a technician had been but was unable to fix it. We asked if we could get another television or one from a vacant room but were told no. However, staff suggested we could watch the television in the bar! Not what we had expected from a four star hotel. Moreover, as the majority of guests were French speaking, it was unlikely they would be wanting to view English speaking programmes. However, my husband managed to fix the television in the room by unplugging it from the mains and plugging it in again. Similarly the spa bath at the swimming pool was not working when we visited it and staff offered no explanation or seemed to care. When checking out the staff did not asked if everything had been okay or whether we had enjoyed our stay. Neither did they wish us a safe journey home. Menu choices for the evening meal limited if staying for 10 days which we did
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great central location to explore Tours

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Lovely place with great restaurants nearby, easy access to the tourist office and reasonably priced chateau mini van tours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Front desk staff not very helpful and not very friendly.Map of city that they give is a bad copy.Directions given were not good. Bar tender was great.He came to room to open sofa bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Hotel was not very nice and looked much better on web-site than in reality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Lovely, centrally located hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, central location, near train station, buffet breakfast, good parking garage, lovely and quiet room, restaurants and bars nearby
Cons: Nothing
Location: Large choice of restaurants and bars, walkable location close to historic sites
We stayed at Oceania L'Univers Tours for a few days while touring the chateaux of the Loire Valley. The sitting room and bedroom were large and lovely, and the jetted tub and shower were great. The décor was quite modern, in contrast to the decidedly 19th century public areas. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The most memorable aspect of our stay, though, was our interaction with Carol at the reception desk. She was so helpful and pleasant, no matter how many guests she was helping, and it made our visit much more pleasant. All of the other staff that we had contact with were uniformly pleasant and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brossac, France

Very nice hotel, shame about the group booking

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: Position, cleanliness, style
Cons: More parking. Less block bookings....
Location: Right on the beach, close to the caseno
This is a very nice hotel indeed and I may well be being unfair not to grade it Excellent. But the hotel had been taken over for the weekend by an enormous group on a working weekend who filled every corner. You could not move in the reception area for people with papers and laptops, and the bar and dining room where swamped. Hardly a nice romantic weekend that I had planned....... The physical hotel though is of excellent quality, is well-located and should provide a great base to explore the area. Just hope that they don't do regular block bookings to spoil what should have been a cracking weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Very good location in the city centre

Posted Sep 24, 2015
But that's about it. Tired in places and lacking in atmosphere and poor value for money for a hotel of this class. Room was not cleaned properly, bed half made , shampoo, coffee and tea not replenished Early departure from a group staying on the floor above sounded like a herd of elephants. Staff appeared bored and disinterested. Not a great stay.