Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Chateau hotel with gourmet dining

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Staff and ambience great. This hotel is not suitable for disabled guests. Parking far from rooms. Difficult walk on unlit paths. No lift in main building. Would have been nice to have tea maker in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loma Linda, United States of America

Worth the drive!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Beautiful place, great food, awesome staff. Grounds well maintained, lovely white and pink wild cyclamen in October
Cons: Main hotel always full but the cottages are comfortable. Location is somewhat out of the way unless you have a car
Location: Great location to visit the chateau in Loire Valley
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Staff was great, friendly and helpful. Very nice setting restaurant was very good. 5 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet serene location

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Loved the hotel and individual buildings.. Very quiet, but was very concerned with the trip hazards inbetween rooms. 2" variation in floor heights between hall an bathroom and bedroom. Tripped twice in first 1/2 hour. Ended up putting shoes at door entrances to alert to height changes. Otherwise, beautiful grounds and location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois, USA

Location not good, unless you have a car

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Great restaurant; beautifully decorated rooms; beautiful grounds / exterior.
Cons: Pick up the hotel & move it closer to a train line - LOL!
Location: Not centrally located to anything...unless you have a vehicle...even then the chateau's are 30+ minutes away.
This was part three of our four part trip through France (Paris, Normandy region, Loire Valley, Nice). We had originally planned on renting a car, but traffic in Paris scared us, so we changed our plans & instead took a train throughout France. Unfortunately the location of this hotel is not convenient for touring the Loire Valley chateau's w/out a vehicle...as it's about a 35 euro cab ride each way to the train station. We asked the front desk about tours of the chateau's (since we didn't have our own car to get around) but they didn't know of any & just referred us to some brochures that were by the front door...which didn't seem that great. We ended up doing research on our own & just took the train / bus to visit a few while there. The main property & grounds were great. Beautiful vista & walking path...also seemed like there was enough outdoor stuff for the active guests (tennis courts, pool, etc.) Our room (Charme room) was in a very cute cottage next to the main building - with an "old school" billiards room on the first floor (common area for all guests to use) and then there were two guest rooms upstairs. While decorated nicely ours was extremely small for the price (even taking into account European prices & room sizes). We did enjoy dinner at the hotel our first evening...meal was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
I felt like the hotel was a little run down for 4 stars and service was fine, but lacked a strong concierge service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful chateau hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Good service and excellent facilities in a beautiful location
Cons: Although we told the hotel we were vegetarians they were still surprised in the restaurant when we asked for vegetarian food.
Beautiful grounds - the woods were full of white and pink cyclamen when we were there last week. We were in rooms in the grounds, but they were still very well appointed and full of character. We stayed two nights and had a lovely time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ox

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The pool was not open and I had booked especially to have a pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Beautiful Loire Valley Hotel in a Small Chateau.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Locations, size, presentation.
Cons: Wi-Fi connectivity is poor. Although each room seems to a wireless modem, the connectivity and service needs to be improved at this price-point.
Location: About a 20 minute drive into Tours, and located within an easy drive of lots of nearby chateaus of the Loire Valley.
The hotel is conveniently located just outside of Tours and an excellent springboard location for travels with a rental car that are planning on exploring the Loire Valley. Our comfortable, well appointed room was located in one of the 'out' buildings and was very nice. Full size shower and bathroom facilities, comfortable bed, and excellent services in the main Chateau where other rooms and the restaurant are located. Drinks on the hotel terrace are a must, as is dining in the hotel's restaurant. The restaurant offers multiple options, including multi-course "gastronomique" (fit for foodies) tasting menus, and more reasonably priced "bistro" style dinner. The self-serve breakfast buffet has many options and is recommended at least once during the stay. Definitely a treat for those wanting to splurge just a bit on an in-Chateau experience in the Loire Valley.