Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super location

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Good stopping off place on the way back from southern France. Central location near the river in gorgeous town of Chinon. Easy to find with private parking. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely hotel in a lovely town

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
We had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay at St Jacques in Chinon, France. The lady who runs the hotel was very friendly and helpful and she spoke English. We had a very good breakfast each morning. The hotel was in a good location in the town - just a 5 minute walk to a good choice of restaurants. Chinon is lovely and a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Shrewsbury

Cute little hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed one night while traveling in the Loire valley. Cute and convenient to the center of town and sites we wamted to visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value hotel close to town

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, handy for town
Cons: Lack of space prevents improvements ie car parking, although we had a space as it was late September. No lift. No bar on site. No tea/coffee in room
Location: Short walk across bridge into town. Boat trips & canoe hire across the road, swimming pool 5/10 mins walk. shops and restaurants. Excellent chateau
Arrived after a long journey from Le Puy en Velay. We have stayed in Chinon several times before so had no trouble finding the hotel. Booked in straight away (late afternoon) and, after settling in, had a drink at the bar opposite the chateau, one of our favourite views in France.
5 out of 5
by Patrick from Hawthorne, CA

Close Walk to Chinon, Friendly owners

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels
Free parking and free WiFi might seem to be the best thing about this, but it had to be the friendly "mom & pop" running the hotel. The hotel room was average size, the larger bathroom was newly updated though with a comfortable shower stall. No A/C, but the window opened and the room came with a fan. Very close walk across the bridge to Chinon for dinner. Breakfast was awesome, included cereal as well. The wifi is a little weak above the ground floor, but they do have a lounge to hang around downstairs if you need stronger signal. No complaints, with enough towels and comfortable beds. Parking could be bad if the hotel were full with cars, but we had no problems when we stayed. The close grassy park on the river is an awesome place for photos of the chateau.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location,nasty staff

Posted Jun 10, 2014
We would not choose this hotel again.Booked originally through Expedia (which we also will not use again) for 3 nights we changed to 2 nights several weeks ahead by contacting Expedia as required.When we arrived the owners claimed to have not received the change (which is possible I guess having talked with Expedia) so they refused to accept the change and charged us for the full 3 nights. They were much more concerned about being charged a booking fee from Expedia for the third night if they didn't charge us than in guest satisfaction. We spent a lot of money on expensive phone cell calls to Expedia trying to resolve the issue while so they would not be charged nor would we but in the end the hotel owners said too bad and charged our card without my signature and threatened to call the police if we didn't get out!! Never again with either Expedia or this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for any visitors, family or smaller

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Small private no frills hotel but with very friendly "hands on" owners who did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. Good breakfast, good location, good value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

A Great Place - Very Quaint

Posted Sep 5, 2011 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. We were travelling as a family and had two rooms. Both rooms are small, but cozy. Everything was super-clean, to the point you could eat off the bathroom floors. The bathrooms have been recently modernized, so everything is bright clean, and cheerful. The owners who run the hotel are lovely people, and very conscientious of their guests. The breakfasts available fare delicious and plenty to eat. A great value for only 7 euros. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, England

Hotel find of the holiday

Posted Jun 2, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel is five minutes stroll across the river into the old part of Chinon. The owners are friendly and provide a clean, crisp, well decorated hotel with private free parking at the side of the hotel. Breakfast has plenty of choice in a bright room and the bedromm was well appointed, comfortable clean and quiet. It was the find of the holiday and we shall return if in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bon 2 étoiles, bien placé

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Chambre conforme à la description, à 2 pas du centre ville de Chinon