Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by kathryn

We love the butterfly

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, incredible location next to the market, river and local transportation. If we return, we will stay again
4 out of 5
by charles

Good B&B

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Nothing to see from the outside, just a 5 storey building with the only sign being on the buzzer. But on the 3rd floor there was a cozy 7 room B&B. Large variety of good food for breakfast. Great location next to Vaci St and the Central Market. Friendly, helpful hosts.
4 out of 5
by Vanessa

Beautiful Danube River View

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
I was expecting more like a guest house, but this beautiful facility is a private home B and B. The facility had recently moved locations prior to our stay, to a facility with fewer rooms than advertised, so were overbooked so we did not stay our first night in the B and B, we stayed in an apartment owned by the same business two blocks away. The second night there was space in the main facility. I had booked through Hotels.com as I was traveling alone with my daughter and during those times seek a facility/hotel rather than a single place through Air B and B due to it feeling more secure. So that was my only negative feedback, that there was not available a place in the main location with part time concierge, and that the place that was available, while amazing, was way too secluded for my comfort as a single woman travelling with a child. I was very impressed with the kindness and helpfulness of the staff who made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful in assisting us to get acclimated, and explaining for, and apologizing to us for the change in reservation. I imagine now that they have completed this move, this should no longer be an issue for those who do not want a geographically separate place.
4 out of 5
by michael

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Exceptional stay Host was very very friendly and all employees also They go over and above with tips and information as well as setting up tours etc!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great nightlife and simple but perfect rooms

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very helpful once we got through a hiccup or two with communication around the online booking. I hope that that can be resolved in the future because it seems like the hotel must have to do a lot of negotiation just to cover deals made from antiquated websites. The actual deal and hotel is wonderful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unreliable

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Not a good experience. Ended up needing to book another hotel (at 10pm the night of checkin). Thought it seemed strange that so many reviews mentioned a change of address after booking. Sure enough, location was changed via email to someplace a few blocks away in what was apparently a large apartment building. I showed up at 10pm and no own answered the buzzer or the phone. I even sent an email and a half hour later I got an email response saying I was required to notify them if I arrived after 9pm...something they'd neglected to mention in their earlier email. It obviously wasn't worth their effort to answer the phone or to come let me in. The hotel around the corner was very helpful and even tried to phone them for me. Thankfully was able to book a room at that hotel instead, rather than spending the winter night on the street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally Located Room with a Great View

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
A great room centrally located with an amazing view of the Green Bridge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Butterfly Home--better than hoped for!

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
When our original lodging reservation was cancelled just a few days prior to our arrival, the proprietors of The Butterfly Home found us new accommodations in a larger room in a newer property, with an elevator, and in a more convenient location than we had previously. They arranged for transfers from/to the train station/airport, as well as making reservations for us at restaurants and for concerts. Ernie, who checked us in, was very friendly and wanted to make sure our stay in Budapest was perfect. He made sure we had breakfast foods we liked, steered us toward restaurants and attractions that we thoroughly enjoyed, and even walked me to an ATM one night to make sure I was safe and didn't have any problems with either the language or the machine itself. We loved the location--just across from The Great Market Hall. The streets were always full of people, making us feel safe at all hours. (This also meant that there was some street noise...it didn't bother us, but if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.) We have absolutely no complaints. We love good customer service and The Butterfly Home did not disappoint!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Charming small hotel in ideal location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We could not have received friendlier and more personalized treatment. The Butterfly Home is ideally situated, in the heart of the inner city. The building is old, as it should be, but the rooms modern.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Andras, Hotel Management
Hi David, Thanx for your lovely review! We hope to see you again sometime. I really like chatting with you guys, you are grrat company! BRGDS,