Ratings based on 1,726 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central position near shops and restaurants

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: friendly staff, especially at the bar
Cons: décor and carpets in need of update
enjoyed the stay, welcome was nice and breakfast in the bar was good value
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Mercure Budapest City Center Management , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is good to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Concerning your critical point please note that the first phase of our renovation project already finished and brand new rooms are available on four floors. We do hope you will visit us again and we can show you our great upgrades. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great hotel before our cruise

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Modern hotel and Mercure high standard. Staff very good and made us feel very welcome after a long flight.
Location: Perfect in the middle of cbd. Would stay again
Excellent hotel we booked into before our cruise up to Amsterdam. Location was perfect and enabled us to walk around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Mercure Budapest City Center Management, Hotel Management
Dear wendy, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient situation and reasonably priced

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Conveniently situated
Cons: More normal teabags and milk in the room
Location: You will have to go and look for,yourself
Staff very pleasant. In the evening at the bar the lady was on her own with many people to serve. We had to wait 20 minutes to get a drink.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Mercure Budapest City Center Management , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your comments about your stay with us. We are happy to receive your compliments. We are sorry to read that you had to wait in our bar, please let us express our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Please be assured that we certainly do our best to avoid similar cases in the future. We do hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again and we can prove the high quality of our services. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
4 out of 5
by Orestis

In the heart of Budapest

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Ideally in city centre.Excellent breakfast.A bit outdated but soon they will renew it as they say.Staff quite helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Orestis, Thank you very much for sharing your positive review. It is good to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. Concerning your critical points we are happy to inform you that the first phase of the renovation is already finished and freshly renovated rooms are available on four floors. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A/C Unit did not work

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
The A/C Unit does not work during this time of year, you cant open a window and the room was very hot. If requested you should be able to turn on the A/C since it is part of the amenities you are paying.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your experience following your stay with us. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time I am terribly sorry that you experienced some inconvenience concerning the air condition during your stay. Please be informed that because of technical reason the air conditioner is not working during the heating season. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location (Vaci Utca), Great breakfast. We had a very good time. The only thing that disturb us is the lack of Wi-Fi in the room (didn't work most of the time) and the fact the hotel initially ignored the complaint about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us. We are very delighted to hear that you were had a pleasant stay in our hotel. At the same time we are terribly sorry that you experienced some inconvenience in connection to our WiFi. Please be informed that we are working on the improvement of our system and an upgrade will be carried out in the near future. We do hope you will visit us again in the near future. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great Location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Being refurbished so will be an excellent hotel when completed.
Location: Can walk to all attractions from hotel. Loved the market. Hop on bus great value for money.
The hotel room was very tied but to be fair on the hotel the rooms are being refurbished and for what we paid it was excellent value for money. Ten out of ten for location. Ask for a non-smoking floor! Had to ask to be moved which the staff did accommodate us as couldn't stand the smell of stale cigarette smoke. Would like to return when hotel refurbishment completed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Mercure Budapest City Center Management , Hotel Management
Dear Annie, Thank you very much for sharing your review following your stay with us. We are sorry that your experience did not always meet your expectations. At the same time we are happy to inform you that the first phase of the renovation project is already finished and new rooms are available on four floors. Nevertheless we appreciate your positive comments about our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
3 out of 5
by Alistair

Great staff & location & when renovations finished

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Staff excellent. Hotel condition was poor and renovation work was taking place throughout my stay - hotel room was not as advertised on Hotels.com - if I'd have known what condition of room I was getting I would have chosen another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Alistair, Although this is not the type of review we enjoy receiving, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback concerning your stay. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with our central location and with our helpful staff. At the same time we are sorry that you were not satisfied with your room and the renovation works disturbed you; please let us express our sincerest apologies. Our aim is to provide new, stylish and comfortable environment for our guests. We definitely believe that with finishing the refurbishment you will be satisfied with our rooms in every aspect. We look forward to showing you these upgrades and to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from budapest

Good location,overpriced and needs a revamp!!!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
This hotel is in an amazing location but is over priced and in desperate need of a revamp!! The rooms are very small. The shower water soaks the entire bathroom, the bed sheets were stained and only one pillow per bed (very uncomfortable) rooms are also cold and have no sound proofing. The hallways stink of smoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by h6565-am@accor.com, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Mercure Budapest City Center. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Please be assured that we are working on the improvement of our product. We are very delighted because our hotel will be completely redesigned in the near future. This project’s goal is to modernize the atmosphere and the design of the hotel as well as offering our guests a new and comfortable environment. We appreciate that you have shared your concerns. We sincerely hope that you will give us one more chance to prove our real high quality of our services. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management
3 out of 5
by Ashley

Weekend getaway in Budapest

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
The location of this hotel was great! It was literally in the center of everything. It was perfect walking distance to everything. Super centrally located. As soon as you walk out the door there are tons of restaurants, shopping, and touristy things to do just down the way. The room wasn't bad, ours definitely didn't look like the ones that are being advertised in the photos, so that was quite disappointing. The hotel is currently renovating, so there was a lot of construction noise coming into our room quite early until pretty late in the evening. Don't expect to get what you see in the photos just yet, as our room was very basic. The bathrooms are very tight, I have an athletic build and the bathroom space was still pretty tight. If you don't plan on being in your room very much then this is perfect for you. The bed isn't comfortable, I woke up and my neck was very stiff. I'd recommend bringing your own pillow or asking for extra ones. The room does come with 1 extra pillow, and blanket. The room has a safe for you to put your valuables, there was plenty of storage space for our bags and things, there is A/C/heating, and there is also a mini fridge with drinks and other stuff for purchase, we just bought some drinks from down the road at the prima and used the mini fridge to keep them cold. The tv has channels in English which was very nice for us! We did try the breakfast buffet, it has a lot of choices to offer, and was delicious. The wifi was horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments following your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read that you could benefit from our central location. Furthermore it is always a pleasure to receive compliments for our recently renewed breakfast offer. At the same time we are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Please be assured that we continuously working on the improvement of our product and we are very delighted because our hotel will be fully renovated in the the near future. We do hope you will give us another chance to prove the high quality of our services. Kind regards, Mercure Budapest City Center Management