Ratings based on 1,771 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Excellent Hotel Right in the middle of Budapest

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Clean, well maintained, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, quiet rooms.
Cons: We all have computers and mobile phones that need charging. How about some electrical outlets? Also, need a place to plug in a curling iron.
The Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel is located right at the beautiful Chain Bridge in downtown Budapest. It is clean and well run. The staff is terrific. The breakfast is excellent. The rooms are well appointed, kept very clean, and are quiet. We have stayed here twice for 3-4 nights each time, and will likely stay there again on our next visit. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AN

Showers

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Showers terrible - not thermostatic - cold water followed by hot water It was the same situation with the showers by the pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Amazing place

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Sofitel Club was amazing, great food, amazing staff, the room service was not that great since only put shampoo and toilerets the first day for two people I had to call to bring some and it was not the same. Since I was in the Club Sofitel level I had Hermes Products then the new ones were a generic brand of low quality! The rest of the stay and staff were amazing !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good hotel, wlakjng distance from river boat docks

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Awesome hotel close to most everything. Walking distance to/from River Cruise boat docks. Very odd, however that you must call room service for ice and bottled water, even in club level. Club Lounge also closes very early as opposed to other major chain hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth,Western Australia

Location, Location!!!!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Very little to be negative about,ticked all the boxes.
Cons: We had no suggestions for improvement.
Location: Great just to be able to walk to most attractions, restaurants, shopping streets,without the need for taxis,trams are at the hotel entrance if require
Wonderfully located hotel overlooking the river and Chain Bridge,close by to many restaurants, shopping malls, & relaxing walks along the river. Facilities in the hotel are of excellent standard, staff very courteous & helpful ,breakfasts in lounge more than adaqate, and so nice to return to during the day for a coffee & light refreshments, highly recommend the Club Rooms.Stayed only 3 nights & would have no hesitation in staying in the Sofitel on our next visit to Budapest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

AC not working - Too hot to sleep!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: The hallways reeked of smoke. It was awful walking from the room to the atrium where the small disappated.
Location: The palace, the parliament, St Stephens - we walked to everything!
The Sofitel is in an ideal location very near the beautiful Chain Bridge. We were quite pleased with the location. We had a full first day and got back to our room late - it seemed warm, but we cranked the AC and tried to sleep. It was sweltering! We tossed and turned all night - the room never cooled down. The next morning the staff fixed the AC; however, they made no attempt to compensate us for a lousy first night. As a matter of fact they were a bit nasty implying we should have told them in the middle of the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Location is fine Slightly old property Perhaps need refurbishing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Emöke, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations, especially regarding the style of our property, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have well noted your comment and that we will include this feedback into our ongoing efforts to improve our services and facilities. Again, thank you for having shared your feedback with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. Yours sincerely, Emöke Konert Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Linn, Oregon

Very good hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Staff was great. Room was outstanding. River view room was spectacular
Cons: Service at the buffet was spotty. Receiving coffee took forever. No eggs at the buffet. Any eggs had to be ordered. It upset the flow of breakfast
Location: Great location with easy access to tour busses and the walk shopping was very close
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful when we checked in. Great room with excellent river and palace view. Help with tours and taxis and directions was always available. The friendliness of the Hungarian people was outstanding. We felt very welcome in general and would go back for a longer visit. Selected the hop on-hop off tour because we only had 2 and a half days. It was a good overview. Overall the food outside the hotel was good. Food at the hotel was as usual very pricy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayr, Scotland

Outstanding location next to Chain Bridge

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: As above, excellent position and very good service
Cons: Nothing that I can think of
Location: Again very close to the Chain Bridge by the river side with excellent views . Close to the cathedral and many varied eating places
Booked a river view room 'club' without knowing what club meant, and found out immediately on arrival that it means very special service in a dedicated club room offering free food and drink (incl champagne) throughout the day. An unexpected and very worthwhile bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

This is a splendid hotel with a wonderful view .

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The beauty of the surroundings, and most of all the friendliness and kindness of the staff.
Location: We visited the Castle and Fisherman's Bastion and Matthias Church. We also had a tour with AMA to Hero's Square, and soaked in the Gellert pools.
I cannot say enough superlatives about this hotel. Our check-in was very smooth and we were very well treated by Gary, the front desk attendant. Our room was overlooking the castle and the Danube. The room was immaculate, and very comfortable with a large size bedroom and large bathroom by European standards. I loved the choice of the soap and shampoo-Lanvin. The housekeepers always had the room tidied early. The breakfast buffet had many choices. The hotel felt elegant and at the same time comfortable. I can see why AMA Waterways chose it for their base for the riverboat cruises.We were within easy walking distance from the Castle and Matthias Church, and were close to the Gellert pools and to shopping and wonderful cafes. At one of these cafes (Gerbaud) we discovered Marzipans that I wished to send to my daughter in law. Sophie at the Concierge desk was very accommodating and advised that she could mail them to Sweden for me on my Visa-she took care of everything, as we were leaving on our cruise the next day. My daughter in law was so pleased to receive the gift, and I so much appreciated the kindness of Sophie to accommodate me with this.