Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Avoid this switch scam!

Posted Aug 10, 2017
On the morning of our arrival we received a text instructing us to pick up the key at a different address (3 Haris Koz). Then it took 20 minutes for a woman to show up who barely spoke English. She led us to apartment # 66 Vaci Utca which is different than what we reserved (67 Vaci Utca). I asked her about our reservation for 67 Vaci, not 66, but she didn't understand or didn't seem to care to answer my question. Then when we were about to take a shower we found that the shower was not working and there was no shower curtain nor shower door. Also be aware of the late check in fee (30 Euro) if you plan to arrive late in the evening. We had told the owner/manager early that morning that we would arrive at about 10:15 pm, and he didn't mention anything about a late check in fee. But the moment we walked into the apartment the woman demanded 30 Euro. I called the owner who was extremely rude on the phone and threatened to lock us out the next day if we wouldn't pay the 30 Euro. No apartment/hotel had charged us any late check in fee before. We originally booked for three nights and since we didn't feel safe to stay in this apartment I called Expedia and cancelled the following two nights. Avoid this property or be very disappointed!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Avoid this switch scam

Posted Aug 10, 2017
On the morning of our arrival we received a text instructing us to pick up the key at a different address (Haris Koz 3) than what we reserved (67 Vaci Utca). It took about 20 minutes for a woman to show up who barely spoke English. When she led us to the apartment I asked her about our reservation for 67 Vaci Street, but she didn't or pretend not to understand my question. The apartment can only be described as spacious dump. The shower was not working and there was no shower curtain or door. Also very important, if you plan to arrive late at the apartment be aware of the 30 Euro late check in fee which the owner/manager did not inform us when we told him in the morning that we would arrive late that night to check in. I called the owner and he even threatened to lock us out the next day if we don't pay the late fee. No apartment/hotel has charged us any late check in fee before. We originally booked for 3 nights but did not feel safe to stay there any longer. So I called Expedia immediately and cancelled the following two nights. Avoid this property or be very disappointed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good location, but bad value for money

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The location was good, there was a working elevator, and the room was quiet (we never heard any neighbors).
Cons: Cleanliness, cooking pots and shower in bad condition, very old small grainy TV, extra bed was broken
Location: The location on Vaci Utca is great, though tourist-centered. There are plenty of shopping and dining opportunities in easy walking distance.
The location was great, but for the amount we paid for the room, we expected a nice apartment with good facilities. Upon arrival, there was dust everywhere (including the plates), many of the pots were heavily used and in bad condition, the shower door was falling apart, the small TV was grainy, and the extra bed had loose planks so that if you sat on it you fell through (the person sleeping in it had to be careful not to move around at night). There was a semi-portable air conditioning unit, which was nice. Overall, we've stayed in worse rooms, but I would not stay in this apartment again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent apartment in central area

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Well located, everything!
Perfect location in an amazing city. Lots to see and do for everyone of any age! The baths are fab! We loved this apartment. It's central and the area is lively but it's a quiet apartment. It was easy to find. Shopping, sights, eateries, culture all on hand..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington

Good apartment

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Great location close to busy pubs and restaurants. Well recommended...
Location: Excellent location...
The place was cleaner than most apartment. The room was cleaned each day, like a apartment. Linen was provided and cleaned each day, like a apartment..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful apartment

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Good location... Roomy.
Best fun young crowd who enjoys loud music! The building is amazing, has so much character and Budapest charm. We loved it and think the building and interiors are beautiful. The location is in a great spot, easy to get to everything as it's in the centre of the city surrounded by incredible cathedrals and architecture...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

AVOID THIS BAIT & SWITCH SCAM!!!

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: See above.
Location: Vaci Utca is actually a nice area, with decent restaurants, shops, and a pedestrian walkway.
My wife and I booked this apartment based on glowing reviews in Expedia. On the morning of our arrival, we received a text instructing us to report to a different address (46 Vaci Utca) than what we reserved (67 Vaci Utca). We expected that was to pick up the keys, then head over to our reserved apartment. The text instructed us to call to have someone meet us outside the building. It took three calls and about 25 minutes for someone to show up. It turned out to be a lady who barely spoke English, and she led us inside to the apartment. My wife kept trying to question her about our reservation for 67 Vaci, but she didn't (or pretended not to) understand our questions. The apartment can only be described as a spacious dump. The wifi internet connection was so slow it was unusable, the bathroom had about 1/2 a roll of toilet paper (no extra rolls), the walls looked like they had 15-20 years of grime built up, there were a couple holes in the walls, there were broken and filthy mini-blinds on the windows, no drinking glasses in the kitchen, no dish towels, cracked tiles in the floor, cigarette burns on the wooden floor, peeling paint, and a relatively uncomfortable bed. Upon our return to the states, my wife contacted Expedia, who in turn contacted the property owner. He said he could have returned some money if we had contacted him within 10 days. We contacted Expedia 11 days after our checkout. Who do you believe? Avoid this property or be very disappointed!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected at all...

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Location was great, but our apartment didn't match the address. Check in was non existent and very confusing. Would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Austin

Good job

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Beautiful city and many places to walk.
Located in the center. Apartments are clean and modern. Fast WiFi. Could not ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Good time

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location just perfect. Underground just few minutes walk from the apartment. Will stay here again.
Location: An excellent location.
Quiet, plenty of room, kitchenette, dining table. It's a little old-fashioned, not luxurious but perfectly comfortable and had everything I needed. I could envisage booking this for a long stay.