Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice view, pity about the staff

Posted Nov 10, 2015
We were met by a lead reception person who was frankly dismissive, passive aggressive and just totally unhelpful. Rudeness with a smile. We saw even worse when a different member of staff was being just frankly rude to some people from the Asian subcontinent. The hotel itself is in a good location with sensational views. The food was fine, not great. We saw a couple planning their wedding there... Wanted to beg them not to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great breakfast and a fantastic view

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Very nice hotel is a good location in Portree, giving it a great view of the harbour. Room was really nice and clean. Breakfast was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: very nice view in front of the restaurant, clean room and warm staffs;
we were called up for 1 hour at 2am for a fire in the kitchen; but I have to say that I will come back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful hotel, fantastic on-site restaurant

Posted Oct 23, 2015
If you're going to Portree, stay at the Cuillin Hills Hotel and eat at the restaurant on-site! We made the mistake of only staying one night in Portree. This is a lovely hotel with helpful staff and an outstanding view of the city. We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and both were delicious! The hotel bar also has a very extensive scotch menu if you're looking to do some tasting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific view on Portree Bay, ask for room 21

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Great room, nice dinner, excessive Whiskey selection. Just the right place to let the soul dangle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. The hotel has a beautiful view of Portree harbour. The whisky selection was very good also!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Great boutique type of hotel, true 4 star hotel in a place without many
Location: Walking distance to main town
Room was spacious and bright; breakfast was good with great views of bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel, great staff

Posted Mar 14, 2015
If your going to portree you need to stay here, lovely setting with great views over the water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent comfortable hotel, beautiful view

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: room and view
Cons: food
Location: amazing setting
beautiful view, definitely worth the extra for a superior room with a view. everything great except food is expensive and could be better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our wee holiday

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Everything in fact we wanted to stay there indefinitely.
Cons: More range of food for gluten free menu especially vegan & vegetarians
Location: There are 3 walks the Cuillins hill hotel recommends plus lovely driving around the Isle of Skye. The Taliskar distillery & shopping in Portree
The staff were all friendly & helpful, they went out of there way especially for my partner who has coeliac ( gluten intolerant). The room that we stayed in was very well decorated King size four poster bed & comfortable to sleep on. Also in the room when we arrived there was a dressing gown each & slippers, bowl of fruit, 500ml bottle of water each & a miniature bottle of whisky each these were replenished every day of our stay. Plus the usual tea, coffee plus galaxy hot chocolate, hair dryer, trouser press. The en-suite bathroom well we had a very large corner bath with a built in seat plus his & her sinks and a lovely toiletry gift from the Skye company to discover the contents collectively cost around £19.00 as my partner went & bought several gifts out of that shop in Portree. Downstairs there was a sitting area with a roaring fire we sat there & had our pre dinner drinks of whisky from Skye of course yes Taliskar. The evening meal was a bit expensive as it was a la carte however on saying that it was delicious.