Ratings based on 585 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Christmas in Vienna

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Very grand hotel. The rooms have aristocratic feel. The staff are great and speak English. Got champagne with breakfast on Christmas Day for only €2 more. It’s close to the shopping district and the opera.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire uk

A GRAND Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Staff. Comfort. Breakfasts
Cons: There is a small section internally that allows for smokers. Late evening if coming from the outside you felt that you could smell this smoke.
Location: Opera Hpose. Transport concert halls
This hotel was more han excellent, it as superior infrom the moment the staff greeted you to the hotel to the moment you left. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was absolutely perfectly situated on the Ring Strasse for touring and attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Oh Vienna!!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Beautiful traditional hotel, perfectly located and great service! Thank you Benjamin in the bar and Stephan in concierge for assisting us and making our stay so memorable!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Christmas trip.

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Good location, beautifully appointed. It took a little while for our luggage to be brought to our room and one day we had poor quality towels. Overall, the staff were pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Visited Vienna for Christmas holiday: Great location, staff is excellent. Would come back definitely. Beds could have been more comfortable. Breakfast in morning was perfect start to day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful. Toni the manager was so welcoming.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Super nice and Toni did his best to make our stay great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel and location

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Location and quality
Cons: Not much, bigger gym and non-smoking area in bar
Location: Location is ideal - everything is in walking distance
Great service from staff, in all areas. Perfect location for visiting Vienna. Good atmosphere in hotel. Room warm, very good state, well furnished, quiet. Difficult to fault (gym might be a bit bigger, a non-smoking section to the bar would be good). Abundant restaurants, bars and cafes within 5 min walk, all different and great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Excellent location

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Great location. Hotel and room overall is beautiful. Has their own fleet of cars to shuttle you to the airport.
Hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to all the places we want to see - Natural History Museum, Kunsthistorisches Museum, Naschmarkt, St Stephen's Cathedral, Hofburg Palace. Check in was quick. Service is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by T.Koppitsch, Hotel Management
Dear "komm07", thank you very much for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at our "Grand Hotel Wien". I am delighted to read that you could enjoy our central location in the heart of Vienna so much. It is also great to read that you liked your room and your nice comment about our service to be excellent is much appreciated. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the nearest future. Sincerely, Horst Mayer General Manager Grand Hotel Wien
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Birthday celebrations

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel with grandeur and style. Excellent knowledgeable and friendly staff. Wonderful breakfasts and faultless restaurant, Le Ciel. Immaculate and traditionally stylish bedrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

Excellent hotel which could be exceptional

Posted Dec 3, 2017
We had a deluxe King room which was a good sized room made to feel larger by the entrance hall where there were two wardrobes. These were well equipped with lots of hangers, shelves and drawers as well as a safe. The bathroom and toilet were separate. The shower was over the bath - excellent shower but slightly frustrating as you had to stand on the plug to be under the shower. The bathroom had a heated floor and heated towel rail so it was very luxurious. There were nice touches including a hair dryer, shaving kit and very nice complementary toiletries. The bed was large and very comfortable although it had the European tradition of two single duvets. We were given a complementary bottle of water on arrival but this was not replaced during out 3 night stay. This small thing stood out in contrast to the high quality of the hotel service generally and would have cost very little. We did get all the other little touched like chocolates on the bed while we were out in the evening and slippers prepared by the side of get bed which is why this little thing stood out. We had a small balcony but did not bother to sit out as the walls were too high to see anything which was a real shame. Back to the positives, when the luck on our for broke, a completely new one was fitted within 15 minutes, very professional. The hotel is in a fantastic location near the city centre near the opera house and at the end of the main pedestrian street that leads up to Stephensdom and onto the Hoffburg.