Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location...little else

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Updated
Location: everything is are your doorstep
Dated, time warp hotel. Rooms are drab and dark. Not much other then location to recommend it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and living in the past

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The rooms badly need to be updated, chintz from 20 years ago has had its day. The furniture for the most is badly worn and lacks any comfort./
Location: Downtown central near to the opera and market make it easy to access what Vienna has to offer.
The rooms are dated beyond vintage and are poorly maintained. Chintz and shabby carpet make the rooms dark and drab. A very depressing hotel and little but location to recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

A beautiful old hotel in Vienna

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: See above
Location: Visit the opera but be careful where you sit as you cannot always see. Masses of shops everywhere. Interesting architecture, museums and parks.
The Bristol is in the centre of Vienna opposite the opera, near shops including arcades and public transport. It is easy to walk to the main Viennese cultural attractions or to use public transport. The hotel is comfortable with lovely public rooms, friendly, helpful and informed staff. The breakfast is a little overpriced. Although an old hotel it has been sympathetically updated. It also has some unusual touches such as a postcard at the end of the day describing something in the hotel or some one who stayed in the hotel, together with a piece of Viennese chocolate. At breakfast there is also a leaflet about the current opera at the Staatsopernhaus and again something in the hotel. At this time of year there were also bowels of apples everywhere. I haven't been to Vienna for about ten years and was surprised by how much cleaner it had become and as a result more beautiful with stunning parks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Hotel Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna , Hotel Management
Dear Katherine, thank you for your recent stay at the Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna and for your great review. We are happy, you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back, whenever your travels bring you back to Vienna! Best regards, Simone Dulies General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Beautiful, historical hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: History
Cons: All good.
Location: Tourist attractions
Beautiful hotel with a lot of history, polite and professional staff, beautiful restaurant. Overall I am very happy and had a nice and comfortable stay at this hotel. Thank you to the management and staff of Hotel Bristol.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Hotel Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna , Hotel Management
Dear Aida, thank you for your recent stay at the Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna and for your great review. We are happy, you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back, whenever your travels bring you back to Vienna! Best regards, Simone Dulies General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful Hotel, Decor and staff are all 5 star quality. Price was fair.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Great location across the street from the Opera House. Down town, walking distance to most everything.
We had a wonderful experience in Vienna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Hotel Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna , Hotel Management
Dear Michael, thank you for your recent stay at the Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna and for your great review. We are happy to learn, you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back, whenever your travels bring you back to Vienna! Best regards, Simone Dulies General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Wonderful experience staying at the Hotel Bristol. Look forward to staying again next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Luxury in Vienna

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: The location and given the outside temperatures, the quiet air conditioning
Cons: Needs a bit of renovation to the bedroom decor
Location: Opposite the Opera, and close to all the major museums, as well as the city centre shops
Met all our expectations for one of the world's leading hotels - despite the batteries in the tV remote being on their last legs (promptly replaced!). The breakfast, and especially the scrambled eggs, was a highlight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Hotel Bristol , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel Bristol and for your nice review. We are happy to learn, you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back, whenever your travel brings you back to Vienna! Best regards, Simone Dulies General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second home

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
Bristol is the best as always. We stay here and only here during our trips to Vienna
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your nice Review. We are so happy to learn, you are always enjoying your stay at the Bristol and we can´t wait to welcome you back in your "second home" in Vienna. Looking forward to your next visit! Best regards, Simone Dulies General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel Bristol is in need of renovation

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Restaurant and Bar
Cons: Air Conditioning and to finish the renovation I think they had one floor done but pricing is also completely different.
Location: Opera is everything and across the street and great eateries in the area.
The picture for the Hotel that I used to make my decision was actually the Vienna Opera House across the street so I should have done more due diligence on my selection. However the balcony suites on the top of the hotel were tiny and like an oven in the unusual intense June heat we experienced. The Air Conditioning Systems could not keep up at all so very unpleasant for this Signature Brand. We did receive a call to see if we wanted to upgrade to a more expensive suite but it was so ridiculously more I just gave up! The Bar and Bar Tender however is wonderful and they are directly across from the Opera so wonderful location. Old Grand Dame in need of a facelift!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Hotel Bristol, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Mark, first we want to thank you for your recent stay with us and for the time you have taken to share your concerns and experience. We regret, your stay with us did not fully meet your expectations and are concerned to learn about the inconveniences you encountered and your dissapointment in regard to the room you stayed in. You may rest assured that all our rooms are regularly technically serviced and maintained, so the mentioned descriptions are absolutely not according to our very high level of quality standards and we truly apologize for not having met your expectations and furthermore for any inconveniences you may have encountered by this. Also please be assured, that we have already personally spoken to our Technical Director in regard of the air conditioning in order to look into this matter immediately. as a lack of quality is absolutely not according to our usually high level of quality standards. We are continuously performing renovation and maintanance works in order to remain the high room standard our guests can expect from our hotel. Moreover, we already have 12 newly renovated rooms in the Art-Déco style (our Grand Deluxe Rooms and Bristol Suites) which might be of interest for you in case you plan another visit. Despite this, major renovation and redecorations works in the near future are planned. We still hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Vienna and we be able to welcome you back to the Brisol. Best regards from Vienna, Simone Dulies General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Excellent breakfast. Beautiful room. Great beer. Interesting guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by The Executive Office, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay at the Hotel Bristol and for your positive feedback. We were delighted to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It would be an honor to welcome you back soon again. With many kind regards, The Executive Office