Ratings based on 2,061 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

Excellent location

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Martin at the bar is Second to none. Location is awesome and hotel is beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by kind regards, the Hotel de France Team , Hotel Management
Dear Ron, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, We really appreciate all your comments, especially the one regarding our friendly and helpful staff member. All our staff take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide high quality customer service. Already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands, England

What's not to like?

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Staff efficient, friendly and helpful. Good location, close to transport facilities. Excellent breakfast with wide range of food. Good sized rooms, sheets changed after 2 nights and towels changed daily even when not requested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by best regards, the Hotel de France Team , Hotel Management
Dear Rog! Many thanks for sharing your review with us! From your great feedback we saw that you were entirely satisfied with the hotel, our staff and the services offered! We love to hear that our rich breakfast, our friendly staff, the spacious room and the hotel's location could contribute to make your trip to Vienna and your stay at our hotel a memorable experience - we hope to see you soon again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

autumn break

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The history.
Cons: Temperature control in the room
Location: Everything is nearby.
The hotel was built as a guest house by Franz Joseph for the first World Exhibition, so it has all the style of a building from that era. I liked the connection with history. It is on the very edge of the inner city and all places of interest and all transport links are easy to walk to. The staff were all helpful. The room was comfortable, though a bit too hot. You could not imagine a better breakfast! Every style in the world was available, from healthy and delicious, to not healthy but delicious; cooked or cold platter. We would like to go again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by all the best, the Hotel de France Team, Hotel Management
Dear Alison! Thank you for posting your personal review! From your excellent feedback we saw that you were entirely satisfied with the hotel, our staff and the services offered! We love to hear that our rich breakfast, the spacious room and the hotel's location could contribute to make your trip to Vienna and your stay at our hotel such a memorable experience - we hope to see you soon again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Mainly Adequate but not outstanding

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Staff were friendly and efficient, our room was clean and comfortable. However the food at breakfast was at best adequate, the "hot" food was only warm. We had dinner one evening in the restaurant and were disappointed at the lack of variety and quality, while the prices were rather high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by all the best, the Hotel de France , Hotel Management
Dear Jim! First, we want to thank you for your feedback. While we wish, you had a better experience in our restaurant and at breakfast, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in your case, our restaurant service fell short - we are really sorry for that! From your other comments we saw that the rest of the hotel, the staff and the services offered could partly make up for that - we still hope that you had a couple of nice days in Vienna! Hope to see you soon again,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, USA

Nice hotel. Convenient location.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
One negative was that the weather was unseasonably warm and the hotel had turned off the air conditioning and, for some reason, couldn't or wouldn't turn it back on again. Our rooms were HOT. Had trouble sleeping. Another negative was breakfast. It was a huge buffet. No way you could eat even half of what was offered. And, it was expensive---26 euros per person. Yet, you could not have, say, fruit and a muffin. It was all or nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by the Hotel de France Team , Hotel Management
Thanks you for your great rating, Patricia! We love to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and in Vienna. Yes, indeed, during your stay the weather was quite warm, unfortunately there have been cooler days before which required central heating, which in turn means that the A/C is turned off. As for the breakfast, we are sorry that our arrangement wasn't quite at your liking. In spoiteof that we still hope to welcome you soon again, kindest regards from Vienna,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants UK

Great hotel near to the old city

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The Location being close to the old city and transport links, plus a good choice of restaurants and cafes nearby.
The Hotel de France is in a good location, only a 10 minute walk to the Opera House and 2 minutes from Trams and buses. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the Concierge. The Hotel has character and the rooms are comfortable..The hotel serves an excellent buffet breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by kind regards, the Hotel de France Team , Hotel Management
Dear Chris! We'd like to say a big thank you for posting such a great personal feedback! We love to read that you were entirely satisfied with the hotel and the services offered! And we will certainly share your kind comments with our staff - it will further encourage them in their efforts to be a perfect host! We are thrilled that we could make your trip to Vienna and your stay at our hotel such a pleasant and memorable experience! Already looking forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicestershire

Lovely hotel close to all amenities

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Excellent hotel and staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Only negative was the position of mirrors for ladies to apply make up and do hair. It's not always a good idea for hair to be done in a humid bathroom as it defeats the object.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by the Hotel de France Team , Hotel Management
Thanks you for your great rating, Sue! We love to hear that you had an almost perfect stay at our hotel and in Vienna. the fact that you would recommend us is the biggest compliment possible! Sorry about the bathroom mirror, you definitely have a point there. Hoping to welcome you soon again, kindest regards from Vienna, the Hotel de France Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

convenient, friendly, we loved it

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Close to Shottentor subway-tram station. Very convenient and there are many cafes, shops, and places to visit around the hotel, but it’s a little bit off from the middle of super touristy spot. So it is nice and calm. My mother and I stayed at the hotel for 7days. Breakfast was amazing. Staffs are so kind and friendly. I really liked interior decors too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by kind regards, the Hotel de France Team, Hotel Management
Dear MAki! We'd like to say a big thank you for posting such a great personal feedback! We love to read that you were entirely satisfied with the hotel and the services offered! And we will certainly share your kind comments with our staff - it will further encourage them in their efforts to be a perfect host! We are thrilled that we could make your trip to Vienna and your stay at our hotel such a pleasant and memorable experience! Already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vienna visit

Posted Oct 8, 2017
This hotel has a very nice staff and they try to help any way they can. Unfortunately the hotel rooms really need a face lift. Our room was very tiny and dingy. The only window faced a wall. The room was very hot and the thermostat did not work. On the plus side, the breakfast was very good! Lovely breakfast room, good food and lots of options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by all the best, the Hotel de France Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. Great to hear that you liked our friendly staff and the breakfast. We are sorry the room wasn't up to the standard you were expecting from us. Too bad you did not inform us during your stay, a room change might have helped to make your stay more comfortable. We still hope that you could spend some enjoyable days in the beautiful city of Vienna!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They bent over backwards to help

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Bellman and front bent over backwards to make sure my car was parked safe and sound. We were in and out quick but the service was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by kind regards, the Hotel de France Team , Hotel Management
Dear Guests! We'd like to say a big thank you for posting such a great personal feedback! We love to read that you were entirely satisfied with the hotel and the services offered! And we will certainly share your kind comments with our staff - it will further encourage them in their efforts to be a perfect host! We are thrilled that we could make your trip to Vienna and your stay at our hotel such a pleasant and memorable experience! Already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!