Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. The room was great. Perfect location to walk around the village. Food was also good at the attached resturant.
3 out of 5
by Katrina from Jewells

Very Disappointing

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
I was very excited about my upcoming stay in this hotel. Historic and 4*. The room was fantastic and comfortable. Lots of windows to open - important when it had been 34C during the day. Unfortunately, the check in procedure was terrible. A note on the desk asked us to Dial 11. We were then advised to "Dial 12 and my colleague will check you in". Unfortunately, the colleague was quite rude and told me I had to Dial 11. He was not interested in my explanation that I had already dialled 11, and had been requested to Dial 12. Dialling 11 again we were informed that someone would come to check us in. Which they did. Everything went very nicely after that. The room was good, the dinner in the beer keller excellent. However, breakfast next morning was very disappointing. 1 very small bowl of diced fruit, 1 bread roll each, 2 x slices of ham, 2 x slices of cheese each, freshly squeezed orange juice (excellent) and a hot drink. All well and good, but you can get a better breakfast in lower graded establishments. Free WiFi is offered, but was pretty well non existent in our room. We expected a lot more in the general customer service and breakfast in a 4* establishment, specially one which is a member of Historic Hotels Europe. This hotel was booked using reward points, plus a small amount of money. We would have been quite upset to have paid the full price for this accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellfleet, MA

Terrific hotel adjacent to the historic quarter.

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: The overall ambiance of the physical space, it's convenience to explore both Hall and Innsbruck, the staff's knowledge, attentivenes and the food.
Cons: The reception desk is not covered on Sunday afternoons. Assign a staff member to cover the reception and personally greet and orient guests.
Location: Exploring the historic center of Hall in Tyrol and Innsbruck.
Enjoyed our stay in this beautiful historic building with spacious, comfortable and smartly appointed rooms in Hall in Tyrol, also a very short distance for visiting nearby Innsbruck with easy access via public transportation, either by train or bus. The historic center of Hall is just 100 meters from the hotel and chock full of great eateries and featuring many shops with local artisans and offerings. The hotel has two great restaurants featuring local cuisine in either a formal or casual setting. Breakfast was also available and delicious with full offerings as was dinner featuring well prepared and presented regional specialties. Protected, secure, inexpensive parking is also available one block from the hotel. The staff, including the on-sight owner, was most gracious, accommodating and helpful during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Great Location and Interesting

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness and history.
Location: Easy day hiking a few train stops away, or locally hike around the town.
The Goldener Engl is located a 5-10 minute walk from the train station, which is great if you are backpacking. The hotel itself is clean and has a lot of history. The bar downstairs is great for pretzels and beer, and you can even eat in what used to be a jail. The staff was friendly, but recommended things that they had never been to or seen. I would take their suggestions with a grain of salt and do your own research.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

un merveilleux séjour à l'hôtel Goldener Engl

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Nous avons passé 4 jours inoubliables à l'hotel Goldener Engl à Hall ! Tout était absolument parfait ! L'hôtel était grandiose et que dire du personnel ! De l'accueil à la restauration nous avons rencontré des personnes tout à fait charmantes, sympathiques, toujours prêtes à rendre service : le tout dans la bonne humeur et la convivialité. Les chambres étaient confortables et très propres et la cuisine du restaurant de l'hôtel était succulente. Nous conseillons vivement cet hôtel (historique) à tous les voyageurs qui visitent cette belle région du Tirol et qui souhaitent séjourner dans un Etablissement tout à fait spécial. Ils en garderons un souvenir inoubliable, c'est garanti !
5 out of 5
by Roberto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carola from nürnberg

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
netter Service, sauberes zimmer
4 out of 5
by Julie from Geldrop

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Prachtig oud hotel. Uitzicht op de bergen. Ideaal voor doorreis. Parkeren op straat vóór de deur. WiFi op de kamer slecht, waarschijnlijk vanwege de oude dikke muren.
2 out of 5
by Henrik from Malmö

bokningen saknades

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Tyvärr så fanns inte bokningen för rummet på hotellet när vi anlände sent på kvällen, om felet är Hotels.com eller om det är hotellets fel det vet jag inte.. nu ordnade som tur var hotellet fram ett rum men vi fick vänta länge och vi skulle upp tidigt nästa morgon och köra vidare.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zimmer gut, Frühstück ausbaufähig

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Lage
Cons: Frühstück
Gemessen am Preis war das Frühstück äußerst enttäuschend: 2 aufgebackene Semmeln vom Vortag, 2 Scheiben Schinken, 2 Scheiben Käse, 1 gekochtes Ei, Orangensaft, 1 Portion Butter, 1 Portion Marmelade,1 warmes Getränk.