Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2017
This beautiful hotel could use a good scrub in the room I was in. The smell of dirty, old, dusty, dusty carpeting tainted my experience as i am super sensitive to smells and dust. The room was very small and confining. However the bedding was wonderful and the bathroom was very clean. The morning buffet was abundant and lovely. The location is heartfelt Interrlaken and the church bells were quintessential old world.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Emmanuel Hübler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having stayed with us as well as for your review. We are glad to read you enjoyed overall and hope to see you once again. Kind regards from Switzerland, Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BKK, Thailand

Nice hotel close to Interlaken OST Station!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Staff's service mind. 2 front-desk staff on our arrival day (Sep 19) didn't welcome us at all.
Location: Very close station to ride up to harder kulm, just behind the hotel and in short walking distance to Interlaken OST.
Nice hotel but outdated room style with some broken cabinet. Cabinet in one of our room is broken and we couldn't even open it to get the mini bar which we got it free as complimentary. Breakfast is great, we love it!!! There are steam and sauna but we could use it for only 1 day (we stayed here for 2 nights). Something was broken so they closed it on our second night...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Emmanuel Hübler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all I want to thank you very much for your stay and this helpful review which helps us to improve ourselfs as well as our services. We are sorry you were not welcomed. Be sure we spoke with the staff and try to improve. As well the maintenance and houskeeping is sensitized to work more accurate. Despite we hope to see you back again and with you all the best. Kind regards from Switzerland, Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Lovely hotel with gorgeous view of the Swiss Alps!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The location, the view, the beautiful historic building, the decor, the staff, the restaurant, the Nespresso machine, which I am used to.
Cons: No AC. No screens to prevent flys from entering. Loudness of club in the neighborhood.
Location: Beautiful location with view of view of the Alps. Easy access to train and bus station, shops, restaurants.
This is hotel is a wonderful full service hotel! The staff is excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was spacious, clean, beautiful, with lovely porch that had a beautiful view of the Alps. I will say though if you are planning a summer trip, that it does not have air conditioning, because it is a historic hotel, and they said that they are not allowed to put air in. This did not really affect us to much, because we went in Sept, but there were times when it got somewhat stuffy, and we had to open the window. Since we were in the front of the hotel, this made the noise from a club across the street pretty loud. You could avoid this by, asking for a room in the back, which would still have a gorgeous view. Also loved the fact that the train and bus station is one block away. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel, and would definitely recommend staying there. Also, the restaurant was excellent, and the breakfast buffet was superb!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Emmanuel Hübler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I really want to thank you for having been our guest and sharing your impressions online. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so far and would love to welcoming you back as soon as possible. Kind regards from The Swiss Alps, Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

DO NOT STAY HERE--dirty, unsanitary, old hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing. Don't stay here. There are plenty of other options in the region.
Cons: Everything needs to be improved here. I wouldn't even stay here if it was $50 a night, much less the $400-$600 they charge.
Please see photos to see exactly how unsanitary this hotel is. There was mold growing all over the bottles in the mini bar, there was a mysterious sticky residue that stuck to all the bottles, and the couch had stains and marks that were so dirty that you couldn't sit on the couch for fear of catching a disease. On top of this, there was soap residue in the bathtub that hadn't been cleaned, the shower door leaks water all over the bathroom floor, the shower doesn't drain so you end up standing in a pool of water...to top it all off, the bathroom sink stopper didn't work, there was no air conditioning which made the rooms very hot during summer, and the electricity even went out in the bathroom and couldn't be fixed until the next day. I originally wasn't going to post such a scathing review because the hotel was going to refund one night and not charge for the roll away bed, but now they are going back on their word and refusing to process the refund to Expedia (Expedia contacted them twice. They didn't charge for the roll away but they won't issue the refund for one night of our three night stay as they promised they would). Lindner hotel staff are liars and only said they would refund one night in order to placate us in the moment, but clearly they never meant what they said. DO NOT STAY HERE. You will regret it immensely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Andrea Kunz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and your visit. I refuse the statement my staff are liars because we refunded you definetly one night right after departure. If the credit hasn´t reached you yet please contact Expedia/Hotels.com Kind regards, Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Nice hotel. Rooms antiquated. Good location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The quality of the rooms
Location: Very central. Less than 5 minute walk to the main street in Interlaken
Rooms were OK but not worth the money. The staff were friendly. I had booked two identical rooms but one was a small hole in the wall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Emmanuel Hübler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having taken your time creating this review. We hope you had a safe trip to your next destination and would like to see you back again. Sincerely, Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central location in interlaken

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Good location, spacious rooms, superb breakfast, facilities of swimming pool, sauna, steam room all free, free parking
Cons: Updating - Air conditioning , new carpets, fresh lick of paint Cleaning - we had cobwebs along cupboards, in corners of room, and on high ceilings
Location: In middle of all shops and restaurants, by car- 5mins to both superb lakes 40 mins from Grindewald for train to Jungfrau, 1hr to Lucerne/Engelberg
Hotel would Would be 5 stars if had Air conditioned rooms and updated decor Staff always helpful, superb breakfast with made to order additions like omelettes, prathas, cappuccinos, lattes etc, You can walk to all restaurants and shops/ supermarkets(co-op and Aldi) With your own car you can drive to all sights. a minute walk behind hotel is the train to Harder Kulm with superb views of both lakes and Jungfrau - do not miss this - if there is one thing to see in Interlaken it is this. If you want to experience Switzerland without the buzzing city traffic and hustle then Interlaken is the best central location to do so. All the major cities and sites are accessible within 90mins and day trips are possible to anywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Emmanuel Hübler, Hotel Management
Dear Harry, Thank you so much for having taken the time to create this nice review. We are glad you enjoyed having been here and also for your helpful comments. We would like to seeing you back again. Kind regards from The Swiss Alps, Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
5 out of 5
by Jason

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Our trip was made amazing by the staff. Their knowledge of the area and recommendations made our short trip fantastic
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Emmanuel, Hotel Management
Dear Jason, Thank you so much for having shared your impressions here about your stay. We are pleased to read you had a great time here and would like to see you again. Sincerely, Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shripshire, UK

Great Interlaken break

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Overall, the hotel was good. However, it is looking a bit tired in some areas of decoration, could have been cleaner (cigarette ends on the balcony), and desperately needs air con for a summer stay (would have expected this in the rooms for this class of hotel). Staff were great & overall the Interlaken experience made the stay (Jungfrau, Harder Kulm & Paragliding!) great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Emmanuel Hübler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your stay and your nice review. We are glad to read you had a good stay here and wish to see you back again. Sincerely, Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, Uk

Great location, views and comfort.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
A very pleasant stay in Interlaken. We were very able to walk to the centre (about 15 mins) and liked the fact that the hotel was in a quiet location. Longer walk to old town but still fine for us. Lovely pool with access to the outside. Excellent breakfast! Pity the church bells rang every 15 minutes all through the night. No air con. which we didn't mind but some might? On the expensive side but I guess not for Switzerland! We recommend a room with a balcony at the front - we had great views of the National Day Parade!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Emmanuel Hübler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your stay with us and your nice evaluation. We are pleased to read you had obviously a good time. We would like to seeing you again. Kind regards from Switzerland, Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K.

What a Disaster

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Pleasant Junior Staff
Cons: The Duty Manager should have checked after we were established in the new room that everything was alright
Location: These are well known enough!!!
Bedroom 507. Room shown by staff member stated windows didnt open( Not True).The curtains didnt meet, only 1 bedside table, the portable fan did not work and there was a faulty bulb in one bedside light. These faults reported and replacements provided that evening.Severe leak in side of shower hose reduced flow to nozzle, no bathroom stool and grab handle at side of shower was very loose and retaining screws were hanging off the wall making a very dangerous situation . Clearly "Housekeeping" never inspected, Next morning duty manager after inspection stated "This is not acceptable", we would be moved to Suite 602. A peculiar room with no window to the sides and the only natural light coming from ceiling with partial view of a mountainside. Air con provided because room like a greenhouse when the sun is shining!.Room accepted for the 2 remaining days but asked for a sheet to be supplied on one bed in lieu of duvet (Not supplied for 24hrs so duvet cover removed and used as sheet. No mat in slippery shower so used towel. Make up room sign left on door next morning at 1030 but no action taken by our return at 1500 so rang down for service.. No grab handle in double bath so unusable for elderly! 4 bulbs faulty in bathroom. Evening Receptionist very helpful at all times (Evija Zumbrunn) also the Blonde Male waiter in Dining Room. The No"Turn Down Service so overall not a 5 Star establishment. A great dissappointment.