Ratings based on 885 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Great Front desk judy all the staff was amazing and also the room clean comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for the awesome feedback. Our staff is committed to providing excellent service, so Judy will be happy to know his efforts helped make your stay a great one. It was a pleasure serving you at Extended Stay America, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Interesting Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: I like that the hotel had two double beds, and a sofa bed.
Cons: The beds could be more comfortable. Add more comfortable pillows. The cleaning of the rooms.
Location: Shopping
On the way to the first room, in the hall, you could smell marijuana. As we got closer to the room, it sounded like the people were having a party, so we requested for a different room. The second hotel room, we went to was spacious. The hotel room was not clean at all, very dusty and had food stains on the walls. We found worms around the perimeter of the room (took pictures). The lady working the front desk was very helpful removing them...she was a brave trooper and needs a raise. The bathroom was tiny, not enough room to do much moving around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Would book again. No complaints. Everything I needed it was given to me with no problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your nice feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities and service were to your satisfaction. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon to Extended Stay America. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

nice

Posted Nov 14, 2017
the room was clean but pur ac was broke. it kept making a noises. The hallway and elevator was not clean. and they ran out of hot food before breakfast was over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Rell, thank you for being our guest. We are happy to know you had a good time here and your overall experience was pleasant. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience you had with the HVAC unit in your room. We have shared your feedback with our maintenance team and will use it as a training tool to improve our performance moving forward. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will encourage you to choose us again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Not Happy

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Size of the rooms was wonderful!
Cons: Better training for front desk staff.
Location: Location is awesome and lots to do!
Front desk personnel had very little knowledge of rules and policies. I booked 5 rooms and paid in advance with a corporate card. Was given a very hard time about trying to check in. Then again given a hard time about the tax exempt status. Both times was made to feel like my group of 13 would not have a place to stay. I hate to sound terrible, but I really feel like the language barrier and lack of understanding with the desk staff was the issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. It’s nice to know our location was ideal for your trip and that you liked your spacious room. Having said that, we apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with our front desk associate. Your feedback is of utmost value, and we will use it as a training tool to improve our service levels moving forward. It was good to have you here, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a much better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Very convenient to shuttle to convention center.
They've changed their breakfast since my last stay. No fruit, no muffins, no bowls for cereal, orange juice machine broken, no one managing the dining room. Kitchen available in room but need to bring your own silverware, etc. Still a decent hotel for the price and if you are prepared for the limitations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know you had a pleasant visit and that our location was convenient for your needs. we are sorry our breakfast offerings were not to your liking. We will make note of your feedback as we plan any changes to it. Please know, kitchenware for your suite is available and kept at the front desk to ensure cleanliness. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deltona

Nice hotel nice staff

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The only issue we experienced was the next door neighbors being incredibly loud at 6am but that’s not the hotels fault. The only thing I can recommend is that they have a coffee maker in the room and liners for the ice tray. It wasn’t actually a bucket, it was a square box that fridges with built in ice makers have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We are happy to know your stay with us was enjoyable. That being said, I regret the inconvenience you experienced due to noise issues. Our front desk is available to resolve such issues, so we are sorry we were not aware of the problem, as we would have been happy to try and resolve the issue or move you to another suite. We have also taken a not of your observations. We hope you will choose us again the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando Florida

My account was charged additional $123

Posted Oct 25, 2017
I want a refund of my $123 that was surcharged on my account.my bill is $603 and it was charged the first day on check in.why would additional $123 be charged
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Obadiah, we are very sorry for the issues you encountered while you were here, and we never want any of our guests to leave unhappy. We regret the billing issues you experienced. Please feel free to reach out to our front desk for any queries you may have as they will be happy to assist you. We hope you will give us a chance to impress you on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extended Stay Orlando Convention

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Stayed here in early October 2017. Attended a professional conference. Convention center is 5 min driving. Too far to walk. Hotel room was not as clean as it should be. There were hairs in the sheets and a couple of bath towels. Staff said that sheets had been washed but during the dryer process the hairs stick to the sheets. Regardless of the excuse it was not appropriate to have hairs in the sheets/towels. Hotel room doors were very thin and was woken up multiple times during the night by the people staying on my same floor. Room service is only done if you stay more than 5 to 7 nights. Overall, it could have been a much better experience if the room was cleaner and it wasn’t so loud. Room is large and if you were traveling with a family and interested in cooking in the kitchen was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you had an overall nice visit and liked the spaciousness of your room. However, we are sorry for the cleanliness issues and the inconvenience it caused. Your concerns will be shared with my housekeeping team to take corrective actions. We are also disappointed to know you were not pleased with the housekeeping policy. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Margate, FL

Super close to Universal Studios

Posted Sep 28, 2017
This place is affordable and comfortable. This was my second time staying with them and I had 4 teens and a dog. We were very comfortable and happy that we could walk to International Drive and also this hotel is only 15 minutes away from Universal Studios. I recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Ana, thank you for sharing your gracious comments about Extended Stay America. We are thrilled to read you loved the convenience of our location and found us to be a great value in the area. We appreciate you choosing us again and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management