Ratings based on 7,619 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Not quite what I expected

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: The closeness to I-4 for travelers,
Cons: Pick up the trash on the first floor in the bushes- tooth pick floss sticks, worker gloves, cans. Too pushy at desk- just wanted a room.
Location: Only used for sleeping while on the road.
At check in, one person checks you in, then you're walked across the room to another who gives you a " welcome package" and asks if you want to attend a sales morning free breakfast buffet- only 60 minutes, and you'll get a gift card. No- just let me go to my room already. Another person at another desk gives a map and finally you get to go to your room. The King with sofa room- not comfortable at all. The sofa mattress is really thin- should have taken a picture. When you fold out the sofa, the access to the bathroom requires you to climb over a corner of the foldout. There is a microwave and small fridge- no way to heat up milk, oatmeal, soup for two! Phone in room had terrible static- I called the front desk- no answer after 4 rings. Card on table stated to call #8888 for immediate help- that also rang and rang. Check out is 10 a.m.sharp or a fee. At 8:30 in the morning, housekeeping kept banging their cart into the hallway. Received a hangup call at 8:40 right as they finished the room next door- just knock and I'll tell you I am leaving at 10 a.m. At checkout, when asked about my stay, the clerk informed me that they could have upgraded to a full kitchen 1 bedroom - well then why didn't you when I checked in at 11:30 p.m. and asked about the kitchen facilities? I asked to speak to a manager- but he was "in a meeting"- who leaves a busy front desk with no manager for issues such as these? Disappointed- could have stayed at a Disney hotel for same rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
It is very disappointing to know that your experience at our Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa was anything less than exceptional. It is unfortunate that you had a bad experience at check in - check out. Please be advise that we are a timeshare resort and our presentations are for guests interested in timeshare. We appreciate your feedback regarding our units as we are always looking to provide a more comfortable stay for our guests. We hope you visit us in the future and give us another chance to exceed your expectations. Lexa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place but parking problem

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: room is nice and close to where we are going to.
Cons: parkng
Hotel stuff is excellent and room is comfortable and clean. EXCEPT, if you go to Orlando in busy time and stay this place, parking will be a nightmare...and if you park your car outside, the gate will close by midnight and .the guy closed the door on us. So we have to drive our car to main front area to look for parking it took us another 40 min. parked faraway from our room and walk to room in cold weather. So I could not give excellent star on this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations, as well as the convenient location of our resort. Please be advised that additional parking is available at the entrance of our resort, in our parking garage. We do offer a resort shuttle service, so that our guests do not need to walk to and from the garage. We certainly hope that we have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and hope to see you again soon. Sam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Its a great resort. Clean, friendly staff. Comfortable place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide a relaxing and enjoyable stay for all of our guests. We are happy to read we were able to do just that. It would be an honor to provide you with another excellent stay on your next visit to the area! - Anja
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Nice view and perfect location Good space for 2 families and close to every thing I recommend this place to all my friends
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations, as well as the location of our resort. We invite you back, and we hope to see you again soon! Sam
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Below average

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Typical time share, except the cockroaches, the slow WIFI and the power outlets!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We regret to hear that your recent stay was anything less than exceptional. Please know that we take all reports of pests seriously. Rest assured we have a pest control company that comes frequently for preventative treatment and again whenever pests are found inside the resort. Please remember that we are a timeshare resort, and we like to give all of our guests and owners the opportunity to see what we have to offer. We will use your feedback on our WiFi to continue to improve our services and guest satisfaction. We realize you may not be inclined to visit us again, but please give us another chance to exceed your expectations.  Sam
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Very good located, the staff is very gentle and the food is good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed some of our different dining options, as well as our resort's location. Our staff strives to be attentive and give great service, and we are delighted to see that you experienced that. We are honored to have had the chance to serve you and look forward to your future visits. Sam
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Good location( right in few miles of SeaWorld, Universal Studios and Disney), Good amenities (Restaurant, games, shop) I like the resort! Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our resort's location, as well as the different amenities and activities we have to offer. We invite you back, and we hope to see you again soon. Sam
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

This is a time share!

Posted Jan 6, 2018
This was disgusting I was so embarrassed to stay here, they try to sell me a time share! I had no clue I pd top dollar and thought it was a hotel! Very old smell run down bar closed at 11? And on New Year’s Eve we weren’t allowed in the bar ! Raccoon running thru hallways! Rooms old and gross very very in happy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Nikki, thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. We do hope that our front desk staff was made aware of any housekeeping issues to be addressed. Please remember that we are a timeshare resort, and we like to give all of our guests and owners the opportunity to see what we have to offer. We will use your feedback on our hours of operation to continue to improve our services and guest satisfaction. We are currently working on upgrading many of our features and appreciate our guests' patience during this process. We realize you may not be inclined to visit us again, but please give us another chance to exceed your expectations.  Sam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando, fl

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Nice hotel close to the park and big. We enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the five-star review of Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa. We are glad you enjoyed our resort and found our location convenient to all the entertainment and sights around town. We look forward to seeing you again next time you travel into this area. Sam
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ontario

Posted Jan 5, 2018
I booked a double room and got a king room with a queen pullout. My daughter has back issues so she had to sleep with her mother. The pullout was old and uncomfortable. Room is old and outdated. Tv and reception is old. Needs updating. They charge $25 a day for hotel fees, this is throughly not worth it. Housekeeping only speak Spanish?? It was cold on our trip, but they still charge the resort fee even though you can’t do most of the activities. Overall was super disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Westgate_CustomerCare, Hotel Management
Lynn, thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We do regret to hear of any issues you may have experienced at check-in. We work closely with our partners to ensure that what you book is what you get. We are always available to confirm a reservation before you arrive so you will be fully informed of what you booked. Please be advised that our resort fee covers several different aspects of your stay like WiFi and fitness center access, along with some of our outdoor activities. Information regarding our resort fee is available on our website for guests to view prior to checking in. Westgate Resorts is a very diverse company that welcomes guests and employees from all over the world. Although we have a diverse staff that may speak multiple languages we do have team members available to assist you in English as well. Please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk team if you are in need of anything throughout your stay. We are currently working on upgrading many of our features and appreciate our guests' patience during this process. We realize you may not be inclined to visit us again, but please give us another chance to exceed your expectations.  Sam