Ratings based on 7,375 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Spacious room, but very dated

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Our room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed.
Cons: Amenity hours (pool, bar, hot tub, etc) should be open later than 11. No time-share solicitation at check-in.
Location: Convenient to get on International Drive, which leads to a GAZILLION attractions.
This place is gigantic. Our junior suite was upgraded to a condo at no extra charge. We had a full kitchen with dishwasher, washer/dryer, stove/oven and full size refrigerator. The bathroom had a jetted garden tub, separate shower, private water closet and double vanities. Our living room and ensuite bedroom were spacious and there was another bedroom with two double beds with access to the 2nd bathroom. The only thing that was wrong is that the furnishings and finishes were straight out of the 90's. The grounds were okay but some of the foliage could've used some trimming and there was some equipment left on the sidewalks that we had to walk around, but it was swept and clean. The most unfortunate part is that the pools and restaurants closed at 11. We would come home at 9:30 or so, after a long day of sight-seeing and visiting attractions, and have to run to get an hour in at the pool.(security made everyone get out at 10 til 11!) There were also no restaurants open after 11. The pool by our building (there are 7 all together) had a bar, but it wasn't open any time we were there. (???) We probably wouldn't go there again since it is just me and my husband and we would prefer someplace that caters more to adults. If we ever have grandchildren, we might reconsider. I'm sure kids would love the family-friendly amenities over a stylish interior. But, beware, there are a lot of time-share vultures offering all kinds of incentives to take a tour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Great hotel close to Umiversal!

Posted Aug 3, 2017
This hotel is very big. I stay in a 2 bedroom suite with lake view. The room was in excellent conditions. The appliances (refrigerator, washer, dryer,etc) were new. The staff was very friendly. It's very close to universal. They have a shuttle to Universal and you can also buy tickets in the hotel. My kids love the place! The hotel has arcade games, mini golf and pool activities for the kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Beautiful place with many pools. The lake is gorgeous!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cork, ireland

Lovely modern hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Loved most aspects of this hotel. The food, facilities and staff were excellent. If I had one criticism it would be that the cost of items in the marketplace was too high but thankful there is a huge walmart less than a mile away selling all if the same items for a fraction of the cost
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Ariel, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback on our Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa! It is fantastic you were able to enjoy a lot of what we have to offer. We are proud to offer a Marketplace on property for those who may need some last minute items. As you mentioned, we are also closely located to stores in which our guests are just a short walk away. The next time you are in Orlando, we hope to see you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

If there's no other option....

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: nothing.
Cons: Everything needs to be improved.
When booking this hotel, we looked at other hotels but unfortunately since we booked last minute our usual hotel was out of our budget. We decided to pick this one because we had stayed in it many years ago and I can say that it needs to be remodeled. It is very old looking. The dresser in the room had water damage and the "wood" is lifted. The TV, even thought it is a flat screen, is not HD - therefore, it seems that you are watching TV in the 80's or 90's as the resolution is very bad. When turning on the shower, I stayed with the shower handle or shower puller in my hand. The same exact thing happened with the faucet handle or faucet puller when I went to brush my teeth. We stayed in a studio villa, room 637B to be exact. When we went to the pool, there were no towels and my husband was told that we would have to go to our room and get the room towels. The pool water had lots of hair, leaves and bugs. It wasn't very clean. Oh, one of the towels had lipstick stains on it. Not a good experience. We won't be staying here anymore and won't recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

A Mediocre Experience

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: I liked that we were able to purchase Disney tickets right on site and the resort provided free, though limited, shuttle service to the parks.
Cons: They shouldn't try to trick people into attending a sales pitch breakfast at checkin. They should be up front with people about what it truly is.
Location: There are lots of things to do nearby - Disney World, Universal Studios, a big mall. On site there are pools, game rooms, and outdoor activities.
The resort itself was okay. They have several pools, a nifty game room, and several other fun things to do without leaving the resort. They also offer free transport to the Disney and Universal parks. However, we were disappointed when we were subjected to a misleading pitch about purchasing time-share property immediately after we checked in. It was presented as a free breakfast to say thanks for choosing their resort, and there was no mention of the 90 minute sales pitch that would go along with it. Aft first we were pleased at the gesture, but when we finally realized that it was just a sales pitch, we were really frustrated. The first morning, we woke up to our room smelling like burnt bacon because our neighbors were cooking on their in-room stove. The next day our room smelled like burnt pizza all day. There was nothing that could be done because the smell was coming right through the room vent, which, if closed, would cut off the AC in the room. While our room did have a pool view, which we assumed would be a nice feature, we quickly realized that it was not a good feature because the windows were paper thin. It was extremely loud because of the pool crowd screaming and the all-day DJ bumping music. In short, our room was smelly and loud, we were immediately subjected to a slight-of-hand timeshare sales pitch, and many of the resort amenities were simply too overwhelmed with people to really be enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Very nice getaway for kids and parents

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Very nice getaway for kids in Paris very nice rooms good staff bad parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed of our resort's accommodations. Please be advised that additional parking is available in our parking garage. We hope to see you again soon. Nat
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for families, but....

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Excellent wifi
Firstly, the room was very good. I was just staying whilst I waited for a flight home, but as a holiday destination it would be ideal for a small family. There were facilities to cook and make hot drinks, and the hot tub was a very welcome addition. The bar/restaurant was ok, and the onsite store was ok if a little expensive. You DO need a car if you want to visit anywhere, I had a day to spare and ended up staying in my room as I hadn't arranged transportation anywhere. The only negative was that the room/rooms next to me were occupied by people who came back in the early hours very drunk and noisy. As frustrating as this was, I never blame a hotel when this happens. Where I did feel let down was the next day. I explained at reception that I had been kept awake from 2:30 - 5am and asked to switch rooms, only to be told there were none available. Shorly after, Facebook asked me to post a review of the hotel, I did so stating the above facts and the hotel replied, apologising and saying they hoped I would come back. I replied that I was staying for one more night, and that a brief search on hotel comparison sites showed that they did have room availability - no reply! A real shame, as I would have happily stayed there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too big, under staffed.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Check in is horrible! No where to park. There is seriously 5 spots for the entire resort, up front. We had a lot of rain during our stay. Our ceiling started leaking bad in our room, over the sleeper sofa and counter. We didnt get upset about that, because it did rain A LOT, but how they handled it was very disapointing. Took a day and 1/2 and a follow up reminder before coming to check. When the Mnt. Mgr finally shows up he says "it's not leaking now, what do you want me to do about it? You can move if you want to"....our jaws dropped. We were offered only to move to another BUILDING, no upgrades, no discounts for our inconvenience. We had a weeks worth of clothes etc already unpacked and put away. Our ice machine was broke the entire week. We all called multiple times and were told it is fixed. We had to wait for a long time for a shuttle to get us to bring us up front. Our Uber showed up before the employee in a golf cart did one time. It was off season and slow, so we'd hate to see what it's like there during peak season! Not a bad resort, but there are a lot of other options in Orlando that we will consider next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

I loved the bathroom and resort feel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
My wife and oyr 2yr child was able to enjoy the weekend in a 1 bedroom. The bathroom was comfortable and so was the room. We even enjoyed the balcony for some fresh air. Not too noisy, the only con was the parking. We had to park away from our building and take a shuttle to and forth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear when our guests have a wonderful time at our property. We hope you visit us next time you travel to Orlando. Allie