Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbury, MN

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Nice amenities, comfortable beds
Cons: Hot water for washer!
Location: This hotel is close to St. Paul. There are several nice restaurants nearby, Outback Steakhouse, Applebee's, the AMC movie theater, and Gerten's.
Everything was clean, pleasant, quiet. I paid for my daughter to stay at the hotel. She said the bed was very comfortable. However, I was disappointed that the washer had only cold water. We needed to wash some clothes. Would have liked there to be at least warm water if not hot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for pointing this out. I am not sure how this happened, but I will be checking it out and getting this corrected. I am glad that everything else was satisfactory. Thank you for your review and business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel easy to access of the highway

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Great if you're looking for a cheap place to stay. Decent breakfast, clean rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We do appreciate your business and hope that you will visit us again when you need a hotel in our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

It was nice and clean. Yummy breakfast!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Mall of America is just a 15 minute drive! The Outback Steakhouse restaurant is right across the driveway! Really good food too
Nothing much to say! It was clean, well put together and great staff! Very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Well, you said what we like to hear! Thanks so much for staying with us, and we hope you will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, very nice room.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Our room was very clean, spacious, and the beds were comfortable. Highly recommend this motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We do appreciate that you took time to review us. Thanks again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location,location, location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Location, price, condition.
Excellent location for our activities. Easy to get into and out of. We're often unsure of what conditions we'll find since online photos don't always tell the whole story. We were pleased to find the room clean and in excellent shape. No complaints. Breakfast was okay, but we did go out one morning for a full meal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad that we met your needs and that you had a pleasant stay. We hope you will visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winona, MN

Perfect stay in every way

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: It was very clean and quiet. The location was perfect.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: We went to the state fair, and shopped at the Mall of America. It was a perfect location for both.
It was our 43rd wedding anniversary. We got the Jacuzzi suite complimentary. Now that I see how nice it was I would pay the extra for it. Everything was extremely clean and fresh. Staff was fabulous. The continental breakfast included everything! Eggs, waffles, biscuits/gravy, fresh bakery (not packaged). We will choose this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your fantastic review. I am glad that you had such a pleasant evening at the Microtel. I apologize for the late response. Thanks again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay

Short visits to the Twin Cities

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: it is affordable, clean, and comfortable.
Cons: Figure out where the smoke smell is coming from. Is creeps into the room when the room air off.
Location: Easy access to the freeway without the freeway noise. Quick travel time to the Mall of America and St. Paul.
This is our go-to hotel when visiting the Twin Cities because it is one if the rarely affordable hotels that are clean, in a safe neighborhood, and has decent rooms. Very easy to get to, has some decent restraunts and a large movie theater complex nearby. Staff is friendly and helpful. Only negative was a strong cigarette and cleaning chemical smell in the hallway which is odd because the rooms are all smoke free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very reasonable for the price!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Our stay was very nice. Staff were kind and facilities were very nice. Beds were comfortable. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

As expected

Posted Jul 26, 2016
All was good, location, clean, quiet. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

convenient to St. Paul

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Good price, clean, easy check in, pleasant staff, comfortable bed and good air conditioning and shower.
Cons: The room was cramped, no refrigerator and trouble with the in room coffee pot. Breakfast was not good.
Location: Good access to the twin cities from this hotel and not too far from the airport. Also, there was a Caribou coffee shop a block away, a movie theater.
The room was small and one of the rooms did not have a refrigerator which was inconvenient. The bed was comfortable and the towels and linens good. Good shower. Free breakfast was rather awful.