Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Dining close by.
Cons: Fix the Air Conditioner so its not so noisy.
Location: Minneapolis and Saint Paul are not far.
The room is a bit small, but comfortable. The Air conditioner kept cycling on and off perpetually making it difficult to sleep as it was right next to the bed and quite loud. Our initial room smelled like smoke, but the front desk took care of it right away and apologized profusely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate it. I am sorry that the air conditioner did not allow a great nights sleep. We have had some very hot days, and the units are running constantly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Nice clean hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: The overall cleanliness and the excellent breakfast.
Cons: The sign out front could be made more noticeable.
Location: Nice gas station across the street and eating establishments nearby.
The staff was excellent with their customer service and knowledge and ability to assist with any questions my wife and I had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
What a great review. Thank you very much. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay. Thanks for the compliments to the staff. It is appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not too far from St Paul

Posted May 23, 2017
Enjoyed my stay and would certainly recommend this hotel. Only hiccup was while checking in we were told that the type of room we booked was not available. We insisted on a similar room and they found one for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope in the future that you confirm your room type prior. When reservations are made on line, we are very limited in being able to change them. Please feel free to call the hotel directly. You will be assured of your room type.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Everything was perfect. The breakfast was good. The check in and checking out was quick. I have nothing negative to say about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
Well, thank you very much for your great review. I am glad that you had a great stay at the Microtel. Please visit us again when you are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Clean... biscuits and gravy were a nice addition to the common continental breakfast!
Location: We were on our way to the RiverCentre in St. Paul it was only a 15 minute drive which was great!
We didn't stay long, it was just a stop over for us. But from check in to check out everything was excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Microtel Manager, Hotel Management
We are very happy that you had a pleasant experience at the Microtel. Many guests coming to the Excel for concerts and hockey games and other events find the Microtel to be very convenient. I am glad that you had a great time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nebraska

Cool

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Couldn't get heat from the heater at night time and bed was very hard to sleep in
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Microtel Manager, Hotel Management
We are so sorry that you did not get a good nights sleep. I hope you contacted the front desk. Usually we are able to remedy these issues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

It was ok

Posted Mar 14, 2017
I would only recommend this hotel if you just need to stay 1 night. Nothing remarkable about this hotel. Clean rooms and nice staff. The rooms are pretty small and while they do serve breakfast, it is all carbs and no fruit. It was an ok hotel, just not a hotel you would want to stay more than a day or two.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you weren't totally happy with your stay at the Microtel. I appreciate that you noticed the clean rooms and friendly staff. As part of our breakfast, we do include apples, oranges and bananas. I am sorry if you missed them. We hope that you will visit us again.
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
Thanks for your five stars. It is greatly appreciated.
4 out of 5
by Jerry

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your stars! We do appreciate them and look forward to your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
Tv didn't work, light fixture was not working and hot tub did now work. Had to wait over an hour for these things to be fixed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate it, and I certainly do acknowledge your frustration with getting the issues resolved in a ore timely manner. I did understand that there was simply a reset button which is required as a precaution for the Jacuzzi. Once that was reset, the issues were resolved. The person working at the front desk also felt bad because she was unable to get away from registering other guests to deal with it more quickly. My apologies for this issue.