Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

not pet friendly

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Information that Expedia has about pet policy.
We called Expedia to reserve room. We asked about pet policy. We were told that the hotel is "pet friendly" by Expedia operator. She said it costs $20 to have pet. We made and paid for reservation as it was after 4 on same day as reservation. She said we should pay for pet at hotel. When we arrived and tried to pay, we were told that cats are not allowed. Expedia representative did not ask what type of pet we have. We called Expedia and were told that all they could see on the hotel website was "pet friendly" and cost. Staff at hotel showed us that it clearly says only dogs on the website. The Expedia representative then called hotel and discussed problem with hotel staff. Initially we were told that WE would have to pay for hotel, since it wasn't Expedia's fault and it appeared to them that the website said pets are allowed. After a considerable amount of time and conversation with representative's superior, our money was refunded. By this time it was late and we had no place to stay. Not a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
I am sorry for your bad experience and the issue regarding the pet policy. Our website lists dogs only. I have reviewed this again and added some more clarification. I am glad that the booking agent agreed to a refund of your money. The Microtel will always do our best to make sure this happens.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Came back to motel at 9:30 PM and caught the person in room next to me peeing on my door! They upgraded me to a suite which was nice. Staff did a tremendous job of handling strange situation. Weird clientele in weird part of town.
5 out of 5
by Annette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Allison from Red Wing, MN

Pleased with our stay

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Thrilled to find a morning paper at our door
4 out of 5
by Bradley

No front desk and no one around.

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Remodeling the lobby so had no front desk just a small table around the corner and no one was around for 25 minutes. We had to call the hotel to get her to come down. Probably still be standing there if we didn't call. Communication could of been better with the guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mendota Heights, MN

Home away from home

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice and helpful.
Location: See above
I live near by and am having some work done in home where my dogs and I needed to leave. We were literally holed up for 3 days and nights. We had a suite and were all very comfortable. I brought food as I couldn't leave the dogs unattended so didn't eat out. While the facility doesn't have a restaurant/bar, there are many within walking distance for guests to frequent. I thoroughly enjoyed our little mini vaca.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Hastings

Great place to stay

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
Really comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
by Celeste from Maryland

A Very Pleasurable Stay

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was very pleasant. My friend and I arrived very tired from our trip, and the front desk clerk was pleasant and fast with the service. The bed was so comfortable that we both ended up taking a nap. The breakfast was good, except the donuts were somewhat stale. But all in all I would recommend this hotel to others.