Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Everything was perfect. The breakfast was good. The check in and checking out was quick. I have nothing negative to say about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
Well, thank you very much for your great review. I am glad that you had a great stay at the Microtel. Please visit us again when you are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Clean... biscuits and gravy were a nice addition to the common continental breakfast!
Location: We were on our way to the RiverCentre in St. Paul it was only a 15 minute drive which was great!
We didn't stay long, it was just a stop over for us. But from check in to check out everything was excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Microtel Manager, Hotel Management
We are very happy that you had a pleasant experience at the Microtel. Many guests coming to the Excel for concerts and hockey games and other events find the Microtel to be very convenient. I am glad that you had a great time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nebraska

Cool

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Couldn't get heat from the heater at night time and bed was very hard to sleep in
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Microtel Manager, Hotel Management
We are so sorry that you did not get a good nights sleep. I hope you contacted the front desk. Usually we are able to remedy these issues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

It was ok

Posted Mar 14, 2017
I would only recommend this hotel if you just need to stay 1 night. Nothing remarkable about this hotel. Clean rooms and nice staff. The rooms are pretty small and while they do serve breakfast, it is all carbs and no fruit. It was an ok hotel, just not a hotel you would want to stay more than a day or two.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you weren't totally happy with your stay at the Microtel. I appreciate that you noticed the clean rooms and friendly staff. As part of our breakfast, we do include apples, oranges and bananas. I am sorry if you missed them. We hope that you will visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwestern Wisconsin

Very close to Veterans Medical Center, Minneapolis

Posted Feb 21, 2017
I have been coming to the VA medical center for years. It's a 8 minute drive in good weather and the location of the hotel is incredible. There are a lot of restaurants and this is a very nice area. Very little traffic to get to/from the major interstates. It's a gem, so glad we tried it out. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was very clean. They had a full breakfast not just a continental and it was very good. They will definately be getting our business again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Don, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your kind review. We are happy that your visit was pleasant and look forward to seeing you again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rapid City, SD

Comfortable hotel; friendly staff

Posted Feb 2, 2017
The bed was amazing! So cozy! Our room was very clean and the hotel was nice and quiet so we slept very well. It was close and convenient to our destinations - with restaurants and shopping close by. The breakfast was so-so ...they could improve with some enhancements to their offering...bananas go quick so they should refill more often. But everything was clean and the attendants were friendly. I'd definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Don Microtel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your very kind review. Wee do appreciate it. I am glad that your stay was pleasant. Thanks for the suggestion about the bananas. We will work on that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barnesville, MN

Good location.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Location. Has a very nice seating area by the window. Nice breakfast area.
Cons: Larger bathroom
Location: Outlets are not very far away. Mall of America isn't too far of a driving distance either.
This is the second time we have been here. We enjoy this facility and like the location. Central to a lot of areas that we shop. Nice continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Microtel General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you as a guest again.
5 out of 5
by tou

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Computer in lobby broke, can't print airplane tickets, no one can fix.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate it, and thank you very much. I am sorry that there was an issue with being able to print your boarding pass. We certainly could print it from the front desk, if there was an issue with the computerl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, AFFORDABLE room near MSP

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Clean, comfortable and afforadable room. Had all the amenities I needed and some.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by Don General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much. We appreciate your business and your kind review. We hope that you will visit us again when you are in the area.
3 out of 5
by Sarah

Nice hotel.

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Again it wasn't an awful hotel but just seems old and could use an updated style. Also the lobby smells of strong cleaning chemicals but not in a good way, in a way like they're covering up some other kind of smell. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate it. You may have noticed, that our lobby has just been completely renovated. We are on a continual program of updates. Recently we put in place sixteen new sofa sleepers in our mini suite rooms. New carpet and drapes will be installed in February. Please stop in and have a look. I am not quite sure about the chemicals, the only chemical is what is used to clean the floors, usually lemon scented Pine Sol. Perhaps she used a little extra that day? Absolutely not covering anything up.