Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ, USA

Practical location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The breakfast quality--the food is served buffet style for travelers on the move.
Location: Inverness--enough said.
The good thing about this hotel is that it is located within walking distance of Inverness and the city's restaurants and sights. Overall, this hotel is the decent sort where tour bus holiday makers might be accommodated, and we were satisfied with our choice. The hotel's decor in the public rooms is a little dated and not a little shabby, but the space includes a lounge/bar and restaurant on the premises, which is always useful. Our bedroom had adequate space, whereas our en-suite was roomy and well-lit with both a shower and separate tub. We might have struck it lucky in that our room location was on an outer wall with windows that allowed for fresh air and light. We noted that the room across the hall was less fortunate, with only a skylight to let in natural light. What this suggests is that it could be hit or miss when it comes to room quality. Overall, for the price and location it was a good stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Fairly low scale hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: These rooms are worth about half what we paid.
This is an Inverness version of a Motor Inn on the old highway. The picture on Expedia looks good, but the rooms in the back are vintage 1980's construction. Uncomfortable beds. Not well cleaned. Kinda scary. Worse yet, the Expedia price was a terrible deal. With a little work, we had great hotels in other Scotland locations that had enormous value compared to the 190 Quid price at Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA, Va

Posted May 31, 2017
The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We were within walking distance of city center
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holiday weekend break

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Well located and in a nice setting.
Cons: See my experience for feedback.
Location: Able to visit many areas of interest driving from this location.
we chose this hotel, which wasn't inexpensive because it looked good on your site. Hotel was well presented with very friendly staff. Food was of a high standard and the breakfast buffet, included in the price, was excellent. The maisonette we stayed in was clean and well presented but had a number of wee problems which should have been rectified before we arrived. Lights not working in keys areas, hot water coming out of cold water taps and loose towel holders. I also had to repair a leaking shower head. In my opinion most of these faults may have been unreported by previous guests but it does suggest that simple maintenance checks may not have been carried out. I will also say that as soon as I reported these faults at check out, a maintenance person was sent into the room to check out our observations so hopefully the next occupants will benefit from our complaint / observations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Convenient hotel to Inverness town centre.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The most interesting thing about this hotel was the pair of oyster catchers on the flat roof outside our room each morning and evening.
Cons: Needs updating and refurbishing.
Location: Not far from the city centre, which has many historic buildings. It is within easy driving distance of many Scottish attractions.
A hotel primarily to appeal to foreign visitors with very Scottish decor, pictures, furnishings etc. It is efficiently run by friendly and relaxed staff but is a trifle old fashioned with small bedrooms and little storage space. It could do with updating, but obviously appeals to tourists and was well used by coach tours.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for the price

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
The people at reception went above and beyond to answer questions and give information. The breakfast was delicious with a broad buffet of both fresh and cooked food. My single room was a bit small and across the hall from the elevator which made a loud knocking sound and woke me up a few times. Earplugs solved that problem. I wished there were a bit more to the outside garden to have a nice place to sit on a beautiful sunny day. Just a mile or so to the castle and river, overall good value for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Little things

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Food and staff.
Cons: Attention to detail in single rooms.
Location: Near city centre.
A great stay with very good food and staff spoilt by a room next to the lift which was noisy, heating thst rarely worked and no water pressure in shower.
5 out of 5
by scott from perth

great service

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
fantastic hotel to rest in