Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Good 4 star hotel close to Inverness

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Super location but you need a car to get into Inverness in a couple of minutes Can’t fault the hotel, staff, location, grounds, cleanliness Only fault was an uncomfortable double bed that had massive roll together staff did reverse the matrice but it only marginally helped Breakfast was very good hot and well cooked with good choices the selection of fruits, meats and cheese was good and the waitress service was first class Use this hotel and you will not regret it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay, apart form the check in experience.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Cons: Late check service in or easy contact for night porter.
Arrived late at night to check in just before midnight. Unfortunately no one had advised night porter that I was still to check in and upon arrival couldn't find anyone to check in. Tried calling hotel and waited in reception for over fifteen minutes before night porter arrived. Not the NP's fault the last thing you'd want when arriving so late before an early start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kiarnock

A very restful stay.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Staff very welcoming and efficient. Room clean and spacious. Breakfast first class. Eating/drinking in hotel fairly pricey. We chose to eat in Inverness. Good choices if restaurants there. Hotel in beautiful grounds. Would happily return!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Terrible customer service....will NEVER stay again

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Have enjoyed many stays at this hotel for events, however, the hotel's poor customer service and behaviour has resulted in me not wishing to stay agai
Cons: Get new employees or take some action to educate their employees on behaviour with customers
Called the hotel with a query and they told me one thing, whilst Expedia told me another, I explained this to the hotel's General Manager Zsolt Balagh and he told me I was lying and blatantly argued with me and talked to me in a very rude manner, he didn't listen to me and his tone was very aggressive, he said he will go to talk to Expedia as what they were telling me wasn't true. He took 15 minutes and came back and told me that Expedia was indeed correct and he would correct it. I said I tried explaining this to you, but he refused to listen to what I was telling him, he then refused to make the correction that he 5 minutes earlier promised to make, meaning I would loose my £250 and that it was my fault. I don’t see any sense in telling everyone the word-to-word conversation I had with this impolite employee, however I did call the MacDonald call centre to speak to a customer services advisor, who told me she knew who I was talking about as she had the same issue the week before with another customer, so hopefully MacDonald Hotels will take note after knowing of this incident, and will definitely take some action to educate their employees on behaviour with customers, which will prevent the loss of business in future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Nice hotel very peaceful good access to city centre. Good parking. Very nice selection of whisky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Quiet and great if you have a car

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Value for money
Cons: Better directions on how to get there. Took us an hour to find it at first.
Location: Out in the suburbs. Easy dryive to town and shopping.
Out away from the town centre but perfect for travellers with their cars. Plenty of free parking. Great breakfast. Close to shopping centres and grocery stores. Nice and quiet location. Recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penicuik

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Excellent hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. We had a very nice meal on the night but oh my god the difference at breakfast was astonishing, it was as if we had become invisible we were shown to our table and that was that. We had to ask for practically everything and the breakfast I can honestly say was the worst we have ever had so the hotel really needs to sort this out, the food came to the table just about warm and tasted awful. Sorry to say this because it is a lovely hotel and the day and night staff were really nice but they need to sort this breakfast problem as it is also way over priced at what they offer, some breakfast items are supplemented which is really poor.,
5 out of 5
by Claire

Loved the stay !

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
There for the Golf and the Hotel was just great and comfortable, great food as well.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tremendous service, last-minute welcome

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Location: Perfect launch pad for Inverness, Nairn, etc, and we went to the Cawdon Castle
When our Bed n Breakfast (Mardon House) host did not show up, I searched in Expedia for hotels available that night at 9:30 PM!! MacDonald Drumossie did, we went for it, the cost was very reasonable but most meaningful of all is that five minutes after I made the reservation, I walked in and the desk clerk said, "Mr. XXX?" welcoming me by name! That characterized the entire service that we received the entire stay, and we will make that our home base for every trip to Inverness and northeastern Scotland!!