Featured Image

Reviews of Melrose Villa

2.5 out of 5
Melrose Villa
35 Kenneth Street, Inverness, Scotland
3.4
Rating 5 - Excellent. 37 out of 260 reviews
5 - Excellent 14%
Rating 4 - Good. 103 out of 260 reviews
4 - Good 40%
Rating 3 - Okay. 66 out of 260 reviews
3 - Okay 25%
Rating 2 - Poor. 32 out of 260 reviews
2 - Poor 12%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 22 out of 260 reviews
1 - Terrible 8%

3.5/5

Cleanliness

3.7/5

Staff & service

2.9/5

Amenities

3.2/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good location, easy parking spaces and good breakfast
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2019

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Never again
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Really great location and owner was very nice and accommodating. Unfortunately the bed mattress was old, springs were popping through into our hips and back so it wasn’t comfortable.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
It's at a walking distance of everything, in a quiet area of multiple B&B, so it is very safe. Being fo sale, it is not as tidy s other places around but it is still clean and the owner is sympathetic. The beakfast has a lot of choices from brie, ham and croissant to fresh fruits, jam and cereals.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2019

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disappointing
The place seemed worn out ,had to park 1/2 a mile away as only had 3 parking permits for 9 rooms. No help from owner on where to park.Cheap continental breakfast (no hot food),all from supermarket packets. Would not recommend staying here. .
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
no go
We were very disappointed with Melrose Villa. We could only get in on 4.30 Pm. The host was very grumpie. A for sale board on the front, so maybe the host was not interested anymore in the B&B. The price was too high for the room, no on suite bathroom which was not clear in the booking. After we booked we got this information. Poor breakfast .
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
We were surprised to find that we were on the 4th floor of an old house that had been turned into a B & B. Normally, that would probably seem charming, but we had 2 weeks worth of luggage with us and no elevator. Also, the WiFi signal was so weak it was unusable. Since we were on the last couple of days of our trip, that was inconvenient , since we couldn’t finalize our travel plans. Our room was very tiny and we had to move the furniture around to fit our luggage. Since it was just two adults for a short time, it was ok, but I wouldn’t stay there any longer than that.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Dreadfully depressing
This was a disastrous place. My single room glad cobwebs all over the ceiling. Dust everywhere, a mattress that was could not be laid on due to springs protruding. I put my duvet over it and tried to get some sleep that way. The breakfast was very average. I was told not to put anything other than wee-wee in the toilet or there would be plumbing problems! The host was rather rude and walked into my room accidentally whilst I was on my bed trying to rest at noon. Awful. I left after one day. Didn’t bother to ask for my money back, just ran away!
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2019

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
This oroprty was in an excellent location, grrat price amd a nice breakfast. The bathroom had to be shared and was inba different floornso this madenit awkward. Also our bedriin was a nice size but it had a double bed and 2 twin beds which made it unnecessarioy crowded
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Room comfort
- 1 shower for all 8 rooms and 1 toilet per floor
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2019

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Cheap and cheerful, could do with some updating but did us nicely
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Kenny is king at Melrose villa.
On the whole a decent experience.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful Victorian house with warm host and staff, five minute walk to downtown, bus station and train station . On a busy street but in room overlooking back garden you would never know it..
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Very warm atmosphere, comfortable , well organized and friendlay. I felt welcome.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 5 nights in May 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Inverness for 2 nights
At the time of writing, the owner of the property was looking to sell Melrose Villa so this review below may not apply in years to come. I was in Inverness for a couple of nights to conclude a house sale, and chose this B&B as the usual place I stay was fully booked. Anyway, on entering, this old fashioned B&B has a feel of being stuck in the past. Don't get me wrong though. I liked it. The owner let me have the room at midday so I could drop my baggage and get out and about. Inverness City centre and bus/train station are 5-10 mins walk away. A Tesco Supermarket is less than 5 mins away. The breakfast is more of a continental style and not cooked. But this suited me too. There was a little confusion on the second morning over breakfast, but nothing major. The up to date wifi code is downstairs. The one printed in the room is old. And the wifi reception can be a problem in some areas of the house. In all I liked it and would stay there again. I hope any new owners don't change it too much.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Melrose Villa
Melrose Villa was fine, nothing spectacular. Although he himself was very helpful and nice. The breakfast left a bit to be desired, but it did the job and the building was quite central.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good location. Advertised on Expedia as having parking there is none. Room had two twin beds. Looked ok. Black hairs in bed. Matresses old and hard. Shared bathroom with bar soap with black hairs on it. Shower drain slow. Disappointing.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Very good bed and breakfast establishment, central
Melville Villa bed and breakfast was a very pretty Victorian semi-detached house, filled with period furniture and lots of interesting decorative items: lamps, flowers all the things I like. The bed and breakfast is conveniently located in a street within easy walking distance of the centre of Inverness. Of course, there aren't the same facilities as a hotel but to me it was comfortable and suited my requirements perfectly. The breakfast was amazing with an enormous selection of food from breakfast cereals, fruit, all sorts of Viennoiseries, cheeses and cold meats as well as yoghurts. The owner serves coffee, tea and toast. Jams and honey are on the tables. The other guests were mostly quite pleasant with a "good morning" in the morning and generally friendly. The thing I most enjoyed, compared to a hotel, was the personal touch of the owner, he really looked after his guests in a polite and caring way. I n a hotel the employees serve you but not necessarily in a pleasant way and the owner of Melville Villa was never intrusive.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2018

4/5 Good

Decent value
Meet my expectations. Nothing fancy but was clean, comfortable and reasonable value for the price.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2018

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Super close to town and very easy to find. Room was very small, and bed had seen better days. And if you're not a fan of dust, this is not the place for you. The wifi signal was very weak and noise from rooms next door came through loud and clear. The continental style breakfast was handy before days out and the staff were very friendly. Overall it's perfectly placed, but needs a little TLC.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2018

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Disappointed
There were no parking permits so had to leave my car quite a distance away. Lots of rules in this guest house, which didn't make me feel particularly welcome. The room was dark with ivy growing over the window. No WiFi in the room (only the hall due to the walls I was told) and no cooked breakfast. I thought this place was over priced for the facilities.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2018

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2018

4/5 Good

Enchanting Inverness and Charming B and B.
Great location, lots of fresh fruit for breakfast, Nice shower, good beds and best of all, a delightful owner. Ps need to be in shape for third floor! :)

3/5 Okay

OOOOOOOOFFT
It was just ok. I was disappointed with the NO hot breakfast!!! The room was ok but very very small. Staff or owners were polite and helpful. I payed £64 for my stay which was too much.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2018

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
MV
Close to town centre. Friendly proprietors. Inverness is a gem
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2018

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
nice friendly place and quite
very friendly staff very good price for what you get could do with updating but generally very good
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2018

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Poor service
Smallest room we have ever had. Looks a bit worn down. Poor wifi in our end of the building. Worst part was that although owner lives in the building, he will not allow any early check in and no early drop off of luggage. He refuses to answer the buzzer until 430 and sometimes even later. We had to pull our luggage another 6 blocks back to River Ness to find a place to sit down for 2 hours. Needs much better service
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Happy and Pleasant Stay!!!
The price was great and easy access to downtown and bus route. Owner Kenny was friendly and accommodating. Rooms were a little small, TV had bad reception, but overall worth it.... as we used it for sleeping and breakfast...
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A very nice hotel, close to what was required for our stay.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stay was ok. I paid in advance for two ensuite rooms. When I got there Kenneth told me I hadnt paid for anything and that he only had a reservation for one room. I had to pay again for both rooms and I only got one ensuite room. Otherwise, my stay was pleasant.
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2017

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Hotel near to Inverness
Hotel clean, light switch didn't work. TV didn't have any normal channels. Hotel near to Inverness, however no parking at hotel. Staff friendly.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Needs some improvement
The overall space was nice but the beds were not very comfortable and one of the mugs in the room was dirty when we checked in. The breakfast was good and the location was good as it was not a far walk to downtown.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great little place to stay and full of character. The owner Kenny was a nice man and easy to talk with. I had a clean room, a soft bed and a good bathroom. Couldn't get good wifi in my room but that's ok, I went out to the hallway and sat in a chair to get a good signal.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Great BnB with a fantastic host.
Really great experience. Rooms were slightly small, but all you're doing is sleeping there. Kenny is absolutely fantastic. He was very accommodating, easy to deal with, took care of all my needs, could not have been friendlier, food was great. I recommend Melrose Villa to anyone.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2017

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Central location
Both sink and shower basin cracked room generally dusty No cooked breakfast,the "rules"reminded me of a joke lodgings of 50s in Blackpool. Never again would I go there
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Nice place close to city center
Reasonable size for the price, Good continential-type breakfast selection. Shared bathroom is fine as long as the facilities are functional. Waited two hours and never had access on first day due to door being locked. Second day could not get shower functional. Road noise was not too bad considering location. Interroom noise was minimal.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness
Good location
Easy walk to town and nearby location. Wi-Fi non existent and the 4:30pm - 9:30pm check-in with a big bag is a bit much.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2017