Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from State College, PA, USA

Centrally located in Inverness!

Posted Oct 21, 2017
This was a perfect place for us to explore the Highlands and to enjoy Inverness and Loch Ness!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa FL

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Very nice hotel. We had taken the train and found it was only steps from the station. They had a nice restaurant and food was good. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east

Convenient

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Lovely Hotel, disappointed with our room, just above the traffic lights so plenty of traffic noise from 5am onwards. Unable to turn radiator off - couldn’t open window for traffic noise - our only option was the fan. (Suggested by reception) apart from that Ok
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room (208) and breakfast.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Comfortable and old fadhioned
Cons: Better food
Location: Location was very good. Only stayed overnight so didn't do anything during day but went to a very good restaurant near the river.
My single room was adequate really nice to have the coffee and tea facilities. The shower was pretty basic and I could hear people walking on the floor above so worn ear plugs! The breakfast again adequate but my coffee was delicious not sure it was worth £12 though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Nice Hotel, but could use some improvement

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Very conveniently located, right by the train station, near the bus station, in the city center close to shops and restaurants.Quiet and comfortable.
Cons: The lobby smells like smoking and you can almost always smell fish from the adjoining restaurant.
Location: Shops, Restaurants, walks by the River Ness.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, the shower was not to par, the towel warmer was not working, we informed the front desk they said they would send someone over but they never sent anyone to fix it. They did not supply any wash cloths all week while we were there, even though we asked. They didn't replace the small soap they provided or supply enough body wash, we had to ask for replacement.There was mold on the bathroom ceiling due to no fan or exhaust. The front desk was cooperative, but not really very helpful or friendly as we came in and out of the hotel, they always seemed to be busy with the computers. The hotel is a beautiful old hotel and holds a lot of history, sections were being painted while we were there, there seemed to be an effort to maintain it, but there are areas that show its age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Hotel in Inverness next to railway station

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Traditional hotel. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast selection. Comfortable room.
Cons: Double glazing could be fitted to the front bedrooms, as it was very noisy outside in the street during some nights, due to rowdy behaviour,
Location: Hotel in city centre, convenient for touring around the Highlands.
Nice hotel in centre of Inverness, very convenient for the railway station. Comfortable room and bed. Very pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east

convenient

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: No
Location: Invernes is a lovely city with road/rail links to the highlands - always worth a visit.
Ideal for the railway - only stayed one night, staff were friendly, room was clean and bed was comfortable - what more can I say ,,,,,,, Oh love the staircase !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hendersonville NC

A great place to explore from.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Stayed 2 nights. Great hotel. The best salmon I've ever eaten in the hotel restaurant. Parking was limited. Excellent breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Shabby hotel - go somewhere else for breakfast

Posted Oct 5, 2017
The hotel says it has parking but this comprises a handful of spaces on a tiny station forecourt that is heavily used by taxis. Access, if a space is available, is therefore difficult. We had to use the underground parking in the shopping centre with which the hotel has an arrangement for an overnight parking fee. The overall appearance of the hotel beyond the entrance hall is run down and shabby. Having booked a superior double room we were given a room with two enormous double beds which occupied most of the space and were both curiously short. The Free Wi-Fi was not accessible in the room neither in the cavernous and soulless dining room for breakfast. The breakfast itself was the worst we have experienced in a hotel. Poorly cooked, undercooked, overcooked. Prepacked cheese portions and tinned fruit. Coffee from machines that try to make a variety of presentations from instant coffee - not freshly ground. An excess of waiting staff in the dining room, whose only function appeared to be to clear tables with an air of sloppy disinterest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

An ideally located hotel.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Every thing was great.
Cons: Could do with a coat of paint in places otherwise great.
Location: Visit to Elgin was great. Strathspey steam railway at Aviemore. Coluden battlefield.
If any thing, the car parking was a little confusing. parking for two hours only at two pounds but not allowed back until after two hours but pay a ticket at 4 pm and it was OK to park until next morning when another two pound ticket could be purchased.