Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Stay

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Everything
Great Hotel, and the staff really couldn't do enough for you. the only small comment is that the bar is very small so when I arrived back at the hotel late and wanted to eat (the restaurant was closed due to time) there was no space in the bar. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stop over in this area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland On, Canada

Beautiful location at golf course.

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Everything was great, atmosphere, history, and staff. The room was enormous and decorated from another era. Awesome views from the turret in our room.
Cons: The hotel should be rated at least as 4.5 if not as a 5 star
Location: We walked around the ponds and bird watched...swans, mallords etc. Took lots of pics of Meldrum collectables and antiques, as Meldrum is our surname.
Staying at this old home was like living in a different century, as royalty.
5 out of 5
by Stuart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by William from Ayr

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was excellent and we enjoyed a relaxing two days.
5 out of 5
by Philippa from Aberdeen

Excellent wedding venue, lovely hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed in hotel for family wedding. From arrival the staff were excellent & attended to our every need. My parents were in a disabled room & I had asked for the lighting to be changed to brighter lights. Whilst an attempt had been made to do this, unfortunately the bulbs provided were not bright enough for people with visual impairment. An extra lamp was provided though which helped. Subdued lighting in now common practice in hotels & whilst it adds to the atmosphere, I found it difficult to see to get ready for my son's wedding as it was so dark in the room. Most of the wedding party were in the stable block which had low ceilings & tiny windows so having the option of better brighter lighting would have been beneficial. The bathroom was large & very well equipped, with a selection of wonderful Aaran Aromatics toiletries. The shower controls were confusing & the wardrobe doors extremely heavy. The door handle to my room had to be replaced & a handy man was called. It was replaced during the wedding ceremony so as not to inconvenience me further-very efficient. The choice for breakfast was excellent & well cooked. All the guests commented on the wedding reception meal & how lovely the food was. Often large function meals are not the best but Meldrum House exceeded my expectations. It was all wonderful & very attentive service. Well done Meldrum House.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paul from Wales

Best hotel in ages

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
Superb breakfast, cave bar, choice of whisky and the friendliest, most helpful staff I've encountered for years in the British Isles. The character of the hotel and the buildings is fantastic, as are the rooms and the surrounding countryside. Great for business, but more so for romantic getaways or if you have well behaved children who know how to use a knife and fork and say please and thank you. Otherwise stay at Ibis please.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2016
One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had in Scotland. The setting itself is excellent, as are the staff and level of service. Regret such a short stay but it is a must on my next trip. Cant recommend enough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bothwell, Glasgow

Unexpected surprise

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Everything, from arrival to departue.
Cons: If staying more than one night in the winter leisure facilities would be useful.
Location: N/A
Being fed up with poor Aberdeen city hotels at rip off prices i decided to try an out of town hotel. Fair enough additional 30 minutes drive in the morning but well worth it. This was five star in all aspects a real surprise and has altered my opinion about hotel in the NE of Scotland. If you are North of the city it is a must.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Inverness

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
Overnight stay whilst visiting in the area. Have stayed before and was Impressed then with quality of service