Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Loved meeting Katherina and Manolis. Great family that made us feel right at home. We sure will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester

1 Night Stay

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
1 night stay & the small hotel is a lovely family run friendly place. But, i found it noisy, the floors resonate & every movement next door is heard very loudly. I would not stay here for a long time but Katerina the owner is a lovely lady.
4 out of 5
by Alan from Cheshire

Lovely place but unfortunate smell.

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is a lovely pension not far from the port. We arrived very late and Katerina was very welcoming. The room was a good size but unfortunately there was a strong drain smell. Katrina did come in and bleach the bathroom but unfortunately the smell returned. However on the more positive side her breakfasts are a must and delicious and she is also a charming host. I feel quite saddened to have to state a negative comment as all the rest was fine.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Seattle

Great little hotel!

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
We had a very nice stay at Avra Pension. The host was very nice and helpful, the location was just a short walk from the port, the car rental place, the restaurants etc. Would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location Friendly and helpful owner
Cons: Nothing
Location: Decent tavernas - traditionally cooking on charcoal Good bus service to town and other resorts Good beach within short walking distance
The Avra is well located being only a very short level walk from the port and within easy walking distance of a decent sandy beach. Its location just away from the hustle and bustle of harbor ensures a quiet sleep with the benefits of easy access to the tavernas etc. To reach the town with it's mazey charming streets on the hill above you can either walk up the steps - a moderate 15minute climb but one rewarded by great views, or catch the regular bus that runs late into the night. Buses also run to other resorts from the harbor. Katerina the owner was very friendly and helpful. Being a mature couple we had reservations with Ios's reputation for liveliness but we found it to be relatively quiet and very much to our liking in mid September. We will return and would stay in the Avra again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel room near port

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice hotel room with a well equipped and clean bathroom. The room was big and had a balcony. Unfortunately the bed was not so comfy. Overall, cheap hotel with good location. 5 minutes walking from port. Bus station even closer.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Kidderminster

Excellent

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
This is a fantastic small and friendly pension in the lovely port of Ios. The resort has so much to offer without being overly commercialised - we just left the madding crowds of Santorini so the peace and tranquility here really kick started our holiday. Thoroughly recommended and this hotel is great value for money.
4 out of 5
by C Tong from Toronto, ON

close to port

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel owner, Katerina, was very kind and hospitable. The hotel is very close to the port so we were able to walk there after getting of the ferry. However, most of the action is in the main town, which is a 20-min stair climb away, or a short bus ride away. Room was clean and comfortable. Overall a great hotel to choose. No complaints!
4 out of 5
by Melanie C from Massachusetts

Lovely little hotel with a friendly staff

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels
Avra Pension was well-signed (easy to find) and a very short walk from the port of Ios and a bus station. It is near a supermarket and our room had a nice little balcony which was nice to just sit out at and enjoy the weather. Beds were not the more common hard bed, but had a spring mattress which was maybe a bit old -- a few spots were quite uncomfortable but it was overall ok to sleep on. The bathroom was very clean and the rooms were invitingly decorated. The breakfast was very reasonably priced and very good.