Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa city

Upscale and run down

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The place felt really dirty when we were walking to our room. Paintings missing on the wall and holes where they use to be. The blinds were broken and the staff just told me you won't be charged and left them still broken. Bathroom fixtures we about ready to fall off the wall. For the price of the room I fell the quality of the room did not match. I would not recommend this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
It's gone downhill since it opened. It's getting rundown and the service is not top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vinton, IA

Comfortable - roomy. Great location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Comfortable - roomy - great location. Everything you want to do is within 3 blocks of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln ne

lovely close to most things ...walk everywhere

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: .
Cons: looks like some routine maintenance could occur....not a big deal
Location: Prairie Lights bookstore ,,New Pioneer coop...the Blue Bird Diner ,,,the Pullman......
we have stayed atHotel Vetro several times as we are returning from Canada ,,working as Chefs for the season and we truly enjoy the contemporary luxury this Hotel affords ...thanks Bill And Barb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids

A nice hotel in an iffy location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, bed
Cons: Some kind of noise control, drapes that could be pulled together to more effectively block light.
Location: Lots of restaurants - try Baroncini's for outstanding Italian food.
When I call the location "iffy," I'm not referring to any kind of personal danger - I'm referring to the Ped Mall, which is right outside. We stayed at the Hotel Vetro for two nights - a Friday and Saturday, when school was out and the only activity planned in the area that I know of was the regular Friday night free music on the mall. At 2:30 a.m. that Friday night, there was still plenty of noise from the Ped Mall. All this came through clearly, although we were on the fifth floor of the hotel. To be fair, all was quiet on Saturday night. However, this means to me that unless you plan to party with the crowd, the Hotel Vetro would not be a place you would stay on, for example, a game weekend or a weekend with some kind of concert. Also, the room color is basically white. It's very attractive, very modern looking, but in the morning the sunlight comes through on the sides of the black-out blinds and lights up the room like it's mid-morning. So much for the negatives. On the positive side, the hotel's location does give you great access to restaurants and all that downtown Iowa City has to offer. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room included a good-size refrigerator and other kitchen features, which we didn't use but could be very handy. All things together, it was a very nice hotel in a less-than-relaxing location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
for anyone visiting Iowa U it is convenient, spacious and at a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Iowa city

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Room was not ready at check in. Staff tried to accommodate but about an hour delay in check in
4 out of 5
by Tiffany

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael

Great downtown location

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms have a very industrial feel to them. Spacious and lots of amenities. The walls are thin though and the bed we had definitely needs to be replaced. Great downtown location.