Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Room was very comfortable, clean and relaxing. Would recommend it to anyone passing through Spencer or those who are attending the Clay County Fair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Karla, Hotel Management
Thank you Ruth for your review of the Days Inn in Spencer Iowa. I appreciate hearing that the room was clean and relaxing. I also always like seeing that you would recommend us. Thank you and have a great day. Karla R Anderson GM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review the Days Inn in Spencer. I appreciate the comments that your check-in was fast and efficient. We try to staff the hotel adequately for the high volume week. I hope we get a chance to see you again soon. Thank you again for the response and we will take your comments in consideration regarding the rates. Karla
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable! Breakfast was great...lots of extras like 2 flavors of waffle mix, omelets were good...had granola bars, craisins, Nutella, several varieties of Apples in addition plus breakfast was available IN the second building also so no need to go outside...very nice stay...we will be back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Friendly staff and comfortable hotel.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Comfortable. The Staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: The room had a smell to it....not sure why.
Location: Good location for us. We went to antique stores in Spencer, Milford and Okoboji. We attended a play at the Stephens College Summer Theatre.
No problems (other than the room had an odor we didn't like). Breakfast was just fine. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, very basic amenities, great staff

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It is one of the nicer hotels in area. The staff really made our stay a good one.
Cons: Change up the breakfast menu and add a few more options - english muffins, sausage. Professionally have carpets cleaned in rooms to get rid of odors.
Location: Very nice location, close to restaurants and shopping. 20 minutes away you have Lake Okoboji, Arnolds Park and Spirit Lake.
Location close to restaurants and shopping. Wonderful staff ready to help, very friendly and professional. Amenities are very basic, nothing surprising or out of the ordinary. Rooms are cozy and again very basic- carpets can use a good cleaning other than just vacuuming. Bring your own pillow for comfort. For a family who just needs a place to sleep and shower after a day of fun it is a good hotel with good rates for the area.
5 out of 5
by lori from SW Iowa

Great place!

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
The only thing we really disliked was lugging our suitcases & cooler up the stairs. No one to help us & no elevator....if I would've known I would've specifically booked a first floor room.
4 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ramona

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't be back

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Got a handicap room and the bathroom really smelled bad and musty. Overall the room and hotel was average at very best. The breakfast area was very small and seemed as if they had run out everything so the selection was very limited and the table was maybe half full. The doors were propped open at all times of the night and there was what looking like construction workers hanging out by the doors smoking. Which made it very uncomfortable coming and going and also made the whole hotel smell like smoke. My wife and I were in town for a funeral and it was a very quick stay so it was OK, but if were to be staying longer, I would not have wanted to stay in this room or hotel any longer
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels