Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just fine!

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
There for a family funeral, pleased with the cleanliness, breakfast, and the price per the two night stay. Would recommend to anyone not wanting to spend a fortune for a room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, Wi.

Relaxing Atmosphere

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Close to small businesses but still nice and quiet.
Cons: Nothing
Location: took a nice walk to the DQ close by.
My husband & I stayed 2 nights at your motel, and had 2 wonderful nights sleep. We spent our days in Okoboji where our son is in summer theatre. Compared to Hotel prices there, it was well worth the short drive. We found the room very nice and quiet. The hotel receptionist found us a different room after the first one smelled very musty. She was very apologetic and so very nice. We would definitely return to your hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Bobbi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Vicki

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
We called to let the hotel know we`d be late. They evidently don't have overnight staff so had to put our keys in a drawer in the entrance. A little weird. Hotel could use a bit updating. Still a good experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Owatonna, MN

Posted Jul 4, 2015
didn't spend much time at the hotel. the breakfast was good, as the waffles filled you up.
4 out of 5
by Joshua from San Francisco

Nothing fancy, and nothing wrong with that.

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Recently remodeled, this Super 8 has all the standard features you expect from the chain. The rooms were clean, the people were local and friendly, and you're just 15 minutes from Spirit Lake/Okoboji/Arnolds Park.
4 out of 5
by Richard from New Prague, MN

Estherville Hotel

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Got in late in the evening. Staff was new and was being trained ...very pleasant - the room was nice - seemed updated recently, clean. We even got cookies! We slept well - no noisy late arrivals, did hear a dog early in AM.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoky smell everywhere

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hard bed. Uncomfortable to say the least. Sorry breakfast. Most rooms non-smoking, but that doesn't stop the smoke smell from permeating everything and everywhere. Better than sleeping in your car. Everyone was super nice, but the hotel needs to be ripped down to build a better one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the right track

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
I booked it for a funeral in this small little town which is big on friendliness. Stayed 4 nights. Room (one bed, non-smoking, first floor) was spacious and enjoyed the faux-leather padded rocking chair and ottoman. TV was dated but it worked just fine. Was clean and decorated with pleasing colors. Bathroom was clean. I wish I could have had the top floor but was told there were no single bed rooms on that floor. My biggest complaint was smoke was coming into my room from the hallway and I believe the fan in the bathroom. I stopped using the bathroom fan and turned the furnace to fan only on high and that seemed to help the rest of the time. I was told no one was in a smoking room and the office clerk looked at me quizzically so I'm guessing their workers smoke. I know it was cold but I strongly suggest they smoke outside. If I had my Morher who is quite sensitive to smoke we would have had to change hotels. My only other complaint is that the bedding is thin not cozy for winter travel. I'm the type that likes to feel the weight of blankets. Breakfast was what I expected and typical for other similar hotels: table and chairs seemed new and clean. Overall I think they are on the right track to making this an exceptional choice for the middle of nowhere in Northern IA. Just the smoking and the blankets. Super friendly staff very nice to find!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Keep shopping

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Small town hotel but still not up to parl in my opinion. Will try across the road next time.