Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Loved our stay here and would definitely stay again! Staff was wonderful. Not your average hotel! Lots of fun things to do while you are there! We spent most of our time outside playing cornhole, riding the surrey, and enjoying the campfire!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chamberlain SD

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This is a very nice and accommodation were a big plus thank you for the great vacation staff was all so friendly close to all activities to do in Okaboj rooms were clean and spacious we will always stay here for are next trips to Okaboj
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Laid back motel with friendly staff

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Price, free breakfast, location, friendly staff.
Cons: Pool temperature! :)
This motel is close to restaurants and the lakes (walking distance of about 3 blocks). The staff was super helpful and welcoming. The owner gave us all kinds of information about where we could go for dinner, etc. with the kids - she even drew us a map. Free breakfast which is nice but it's cold cereals, fruit, and a waffle iron. No eggs, bacon, etc. Pool was nice but freezing. Quiet at night and the bed was comfortable. We were happy with it and would stay here again. If you are looking for a laid-back place, perhaps a little kitschy, this is a good option.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for lake access.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Above
Cons: Was great for price.
Location: Nice motel close to boat ramp for lake. Store and food and coffee donut place is nearby. Center area with pool and fire pit area and games. Bikes to
Nice motel close to boat ramp for lake. Store and food and coffee donut place is nearby. Center area with pool and fire pit area and games. Bikes to ride around, too. Nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Nice staff, close to the lake hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The staff there were nice. I didn't like that my room had only blinds and so it was bright inside at night. I like dark rooms to sleep in so I didn't get that good of sleep. Also, the bed was a lot like a water bed where you'd sink in. It was ok with all the pillows but I prefer beds that don't sink. The A/C in my room worked great and ran all night. Our neighbor's wasn't working. They offered firewood for a fire pit and I thought that was a nice thing. The TV had tons of channels for free so that was good too. Overall this place was OK. Clean and simple.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was quite hotel.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The bathroom was not kept clean and did not get clean bath soap each day of house service. It was a unique decor to the hotel. I liked how it was one story hotel where you step out the room to the outdoor with out having to go down several flights. But can not get over the expense of staying there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Iowa

Okoboji Charm

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The staff was exceptional. The rooms, while obviously remodeled, are positively charming! Clean, comfortable. We will be back.
Cons: Opening just a half an hour earlier would be helpful.
Location: Prime location within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and boat access to East Lake. A quick bike ride or 3 minute drive to Arnold's Park.
We were upgraded to a larger, double queen room at check-in. Our schedule kept us away from the hotel for most of our stay, but I wish we would have had a chance to use the bon fire pits and relax on the deck. We realized the Lobby didn't open until 8 am when we wanted to check out at 7:30 am. The staff was already onsite and graciously opened early when they saw us at the door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Misty, Hotel Management
Tracy, MUCHO-MUCHO-MUCHO! You must come back and use our Center Fun Area! Our firepits are a perfect way to end your day in Okoboji. I am typing with a big smile on my face as I re-read your comments! WOW! WOW! WOW! We LOVE that you LOVED us soooo much! We are crazy happy when people notice our little touches and attention to your stay. We are quite proud of our RockStar Team and am glad you felt the same way. Please...don't stay away too long! Wishing you the ultimate best! Misty
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and quick to respond to

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Although we were not able to stay in our room due to returning late at night and finding a skunk had sprayed nearby , when calling staff the next morning they worked fantastic with us and very willing to make things right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Misty, Hotel Management
OH I do remember that night! YIKES! You were so gracious to work with us to dodge that unpleasant situation. Please come by next summer and let's start over! We want to make sure you are treated royally at Vintage Block!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Lovely little hotel near the water

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Honestly, for the area, this place is fantastic. We were searching for an updated hotel or lodging close to the water (quite a challenge, actually), and this place was perfect. It doesn't pretend to be what it's not. The staff were unbelievably kind, helpful, and good-natured. Breakfast was continental and the coffee was much better than most places I've been to. The rooms are pretty basic, bathrooms a little small, but we were there mainly to sleep, so no complaints. The firepits outside were the best for us. We loved sitting out and spending time with the other guests, who were so fun and friendly! That community atmosphere is missing from most hotels, that's for sure. And when the bugs got a little bitey, staff provided bug pray! The pool looked clean, but it was too cold to swim. We didn't try the surrey bikes, but heard good things! We would definitely recommend and stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome property!

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Super cool rooms. Clean. Staff was very friendly and accommodating!