Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Amanda from Omha

refreshingly clean!

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
for a lake vacation this place was awesome! I have been coming to Okaboji for years, as a kid, a singlet and now a mom. It is perfect! You get the cabin feel, yet it is clean! Each room has a patio table that over looks the commons area, including the pool. It has a small private parking lot so is safe for kids. Has a fire pit and chairs. And free breakfast. It is also very close to shopping, restraints, the lake and Arnold's Park. I met the owner and she was delightful! I'd much rather give my money to a family business like this!!! Great stay - we will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by Misty, Hotel Management
OH How we LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to read these reviews! We can't tell you how proud we are of our little tucked away gem and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will come back! THANK YOU! We are so proud of Okoboji and what we have to offer and love it when you feel the same way! We look forward to your next stay! In the meantime, take good care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Iowa

Okoboji Charm

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The staff was exceptional. The rooms, while obviously remodeled, are positively charming! Clean, comfortable. We will be back.
Cons: Opening just a half an hour earlier would be helpful.
Location: Prime location within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and boat access to East Lake. A quick bike ride or 3 minute drive to Arnold's Park.
We were upgraded to a larger, double queen room at check-in. Our schedule kept us away from the hotel for most of our stay, but I wish we would have had a chance to use the bon fire pits and relax on the deck. We realized the Lobby didn't open until 8 am when we wanted to check out at 7:30 am. The staff was already onsite and graciously opened early when they saw us at the door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Misty, Hotel Management
Tracy, MUCHO-MUCHO-MUCHO! You must come back and use our Center Fun Area! Our firepits are a perfect way to end your day in Okoboji. I am typing with a big smile on my face as I re-read your comments! WOW! WOW! WOW! We LOVE that you LOVED us soooo much! We are crazy happy when people notice our little touches and attention to your stay. We are quite proud of our RockStar Team and am glad you felt the same way. Please...don't stay away too long! Wishing you the ultimate best! Misty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dennis from Madison WI

Late summer getaway

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice quiet place. Plan on returning next year. Got to the office late one morning, they offered to make another pot of coffee and brought out some juice and pastry that had already been put away. Lynn (I think that was her name) took quite a bit of time to offer suggestions of places to go and things to do, even checked to see if some had closed for the season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Misty, Hotel Management
Thank you Dennis! We love your 5 stars and very sweet comments! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Vintage Block and look forward to your return! Have a wonderful winter and spring season and let's plan on having you as our guest in the summer! YES! We love that! Thanks again and we wish you the very best! Misty, with a big. fat. happy. smile
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and quick to respond to

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Although we were not able to stay in our room due to returning late at night and finding a skunk had sprayed nearby , when calling staff the next morning they worked fantastic with us and very willing to make things right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Misty, Hotel Management
OH I do remember that night! YIKES! You were so gracious to work with us to dodge that unpleasant situation. Please come by next summer and let's start over! We want to make sure you are treated royally at Vintage Block!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by robert

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Misty, Hotel Management
YIPPEEEEEEEEEE! Thanks Robert! We love those four stars! YAY!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Lovely little hotel near the water

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Honestly, for the area, this place is fantastic. We were searching for an updated hotel or lodging close to the water (quite a challenge, actually), and this place was perfect. It doesn't pretend to be what it's not. The staff were unbelievably kind, helpful, and good-natured. Breakfast was continental and the coffee was much better than most places I've been to. The rooms are pretty basic, bathrooms a little small, but we were there mainly to sleep, so no complaints. The firepits outside were the best for us. We loved sitting out and spending time with the other guests, who were so fun and friendly! That community atmosphere is missing from most hotels, that's for sure. And when the bugs got a little bitey, staff provided bug pray! The pool looked clean, but it was too cold to swim. We didn't try the surrey bikes, but heard good things! We would definitely recommend and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome property!

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Super cool rooms. Clean. Staff was very friendly and accommodating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kent from Kansas City

great place to stay

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed in many different places across this country and this place is the best. The staff goes above and beyond any expectations. We will defiantly stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Quaint and friendly!

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Very friendly staff!! Loved the common area with multiple fire pits, grills, and games!! It made our time in town so much more enjoyable!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brian from Mitchell, SD

Perfect stay, the Vintage way!

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel has a very cool vibe. With the rennovations to a vintage motel and courtyard feel to all the amenites and extra bed in the double room we had, its a hit! Wish their was a cool breakfast selection or even breakfast wrap or burrito that could be on an order basis and I might never leave. Loved it!