Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Karl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great buffet breakfast, comfy room.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Wonderful staff, money exchange, Fantastic location, near restaurants and they offer booking for some very good tours
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Good Byes Tvl 914/969-5763, Yonkers NY

Only I block from Ipanema Beach

Posted Apr 20, 2016
We had a renovated room which was large, comfy & Great A/C & strong shower. Hotel needs better Satellite TV-very few English stations. Bkfst Buffet was quite good with lots of fresh choices. I was disappointed that I was promised a hotel Carnivale T-shirt, but never rcvd. Good service & security during Carnivale Block & Trucko parties. We had so much fun! Abregado! Liked small rooftop pool & the outdoor seating @ roof top restaurant.
1 out of 5
by Ian from London

A tired property trading on its position.

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms (particularly the bathrooms) are urgently in need of a refit. The air-conditioning is noisy and the rooms have a strange smell about them. The reception supervisor who was on duty when I checked in was one of the most unprofessional hotel staff I have ever encountered. Arriving to check in at 2.00 I was told with no hint of an apology that the room wouldn't be ready until 3.00 and I should come back then. At 3.00 the room was still not ready (again no apology) and remained unready until 3.30. Twice, the Reception Supervisor just walked away in the middle of a conversation leaving me standing at the desk. The second time I had to send a member of her junior staff to bring her back to tell me what was going on. Unprofessional and rude. I will certainly never stay at this Hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

helpful staff. English spoken.

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Proximity to beach. Easy to travel to and from on local transport. Fantastic views from breakfast room.
Cons: A gymnasium.
Location: Near to beach, transport and shops.
The staff assisted in my travel and tour plans. Also assisted in communicating to back home in Australia
4 out of 5
by Luis from London

Good stay

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great choice for location, especially the 23rd floor outside breakfast and pool, and the beach loungers/sombreros. For the price, for British Pound earners, great value. For Brazilians it's a bit pricey for the overall experience - whole hotel could do with an uplift. Wi-fi was touch and go, had to stand by the door as it never worked nearer the bed.
4 out of 5
by Julia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Great location, wonderful front desk staff!

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Great location, our room was great with ocean views, staff was helpful and had some great recommendations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location is the focus of this hotel.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms need to be totally redone.
Location: The beach and shopping. Lots of restaurants nearby. It's in a lovely residential neighbourhood.
There are reno's going on in this hotel. The old rooms are that, old. Mold in the bathrooms bad furniture, just old. The old rooms need to be gutted. Didn't see the new rooms though. The location is spectacular, one block from the beach and shopping, that's why I picked this hotel. I would recommend for the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Ipanema at a glance

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Second time at Rio. I knew that Ipanema was the place to stay. The hotel is not in front of the beach, but it takes only 5 min from the hotel (walking time). Good restaurants around the site. The room had ocean view. The restaurante at 23rd floor has espectacular view to the ocean, lagoa de Ernesto Freitas, and even Corcovado. There's a small pool at the same floor. Well, the hotel is not in his best shape, but I think that the price is fair. Hotel staff were absolutely kind !