Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Great location. Really good breakfast sets you up for the day. Stunning views from rooftop. But what impressed us was the friendly courteous staff. Who were very helpful with organising trip's for us nothing seemed to much trouble. Everyone were so welcoming. Would definetly stay here again if we were fortunate to visit Rio for a second time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Fabulous location and stay in Rio

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Please repair the second elevator
We were so glad we booked this hotel. The location couldn't be better to Ipanema beach. We had an ocean view room for a four night stay. Initially we were on a lower floor but requested to be moved up higher and they very pleasantly honored our request. The breakfast which was included in the price was excellent, the dining room is very pleasant. Another small perk that we appreciated was the hotel has umbrellas, beach chairs and towels free of charge to use daily. The only minor complaint would be that they need to get their second elevator fixed. There is only one elevator in use. We were in no rush so it wasn't really an issue. The rooftop desk is lovely!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from peru

Horrible

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The worst experience only one elevator was in service for 16 stories!! Had to use the stairs everyday My room was not made until 10.26 pm! They send me fruit for an appology! Ja! Beach chairs were old and uncomfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Stressful and disappointed

Posted Sep 24, 2017
One elevator working. Everytime I needed to use the elevator it took a long time to come.Once on the elevator it will be packed with other guest and hotel staff. My hotel room had a horrible smell in the bathroom, even when cleaned by the hotel staff. Bathroom titles looked like it had mold growing. The iconic rio landscape was beautiful to look at in the roof but the pool was too small to accommodate the guest staying in the hotel. Getting breakfast was difficult to find a table to eat too many people not enough room to fit all the guest. Overpriced hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Quick business in Rio

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Hotel staff is excellent and very friendly. The location was perfect for my needs and the views of Ipanema beach are breathtaking. My only complaint is that there was only one working elevator, which did waste a lot of valuable time. For a hotel of that size and with so much business, having one elevator was, at times, an inconvenience. All else was great and I would definitely stay here again. But please fix the elevator. Obrigada!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Beach front, great location in Ipanema

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The rooftop pool area seating should be just tables rather than lounge sofas. The space is really small and it could be better organized.
Location: Arpoador, the hippy fair on Sundays are really close by. Morning runs are refreshing along the path in front of the hotel.
The location is in the heart of the Ipanema with easy access to everything. The restaurant faces the beach and it is wonderful to see the view while having breakfast. Internet and wifi works well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Food
Location: Beach, restaurants, ...
Nice Hotel in front of the beach. Good location, close to multiple restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel, nice staff, beach front

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Perfect location. Very nice staff. Nice breakfast. Really good rooms. I really recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Beach front hotel we loved

Posted Jul 21, 2017
My husband and I had a wonderful 10 days at the Sol Ipanema! Our room had a magnificent view of the beach but that was not all. The staff was really friendly and accommodating, the breakfast varied, the rooms spacious and beds comfortable. It was also near several restaurants, subway and across the street from the beautiful Ipanema beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Windows open onto Ipanema beach! Wonderful staff!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The staff is very kind and helpful, the rooms are nice, and the view cannot be beaten.
Cons: Currently construction on one of the elevators.
Location: Right on Ipanema beach. Luxury shopping nearby.
We love it here. We've stayed twice, and will again. Friendly staff. Lovely rooms, and an incredible beach view. There was elevator construction during the day, which is the only negative I could find.