Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Very relax and beautiful location

Posted Oct 24, 2017
The Osen facility is amazing however I found that water that they use should have filter so there will be no residue in the water facility. The staffs, some are really great but some butler should be more friendly when the guest walk by, just say hello.. will make me feel more welcome. Food selection is very limited however the vegetarian option for a la carts is excellent . I m not even vegeatarian but I think they were really great! I have to applause to the owner, GM and the team who keep this facility very well! Highly recommended for someone who love nature!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Raymond K, Hotel Management
Dear pam, Thank you for your review. Glad to hear about your great overall stay. We had taken note on your comments also to share we recently have some new team members on board whom are still undergoing trainings, we will definitely look into the friendliness of the team. For the food selection, we are currently in the midst of changing Pomelo menu for more variety and quality and it shall be ready soon. We look forward to serving you better in the near future. Thank you. Best regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Nice place, tiger security.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Everyone was very pleasant and kind. Amenities great minus one thing we will get to. Nice selection of finger foods waiting on us and champagne. Only negative point was the air conditioning in the room was terrible. Despite placing it on the coldest setting the room never got below 30 degrees Celsius (I travel with a thermometer that I use in my work). So, my wife was able to sleep (she is from Ipoh and used to oppressive heat), I am not so has very limited rest. Other than that, good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Raymond K, Hotel Management
Dear Mr George, Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to meet you the other day. We are glad that you had enjoyed your overall stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not managed to get enough rest due to the air cond temperature was not up to your expectation. With regards to it, we had inspected the air cond unit after your departure, however the system is functioning as normal without any issues. We had set it to 16 C which is the lowest and used the infrared thermometer to check and it is as our expectation. Nevertheless, we are grateful and appreciate that you had took your valuable time to feed back to us. We look forward to serving you better during your next visit. Thank you. Raymond Koh Director of Operations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Raymond Koh, Hotel Management
Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you for your ratings. We look forward to serving you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful resort.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Nice spacious grounds. Got the garden villa which had a big private pool. Also a hot tub with hot spring mineral water. Staff was awesome. Very kind and helpful. Breakfast was nice too. Fresh juices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Raymond K, Hotel Management
Dear Ziad, Thank you for your positive comments. It is a pleasure to have you here. We look forward to serving you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

A gem in Ipoh

Posted Jul 8, 2017
My husband and I stayed in Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat for 2 nights and we love everything about this resort. From customer service to the room to food and the facilities. It is a very natural place to be for nature lovers. The surrounding is peaceful and scenic at the same time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Raymond K, Hotel Management
Dear joyce, Thank you for your perfect ratings. Glad that you had a great stay. We look forward to serving you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquile

Posted Jul 8, 2017
An amazing facility in a beautiful location. We loved the pool and other facilities at the resort. A word of warning though, since its is in the wilderness, monkeys might visit you villa, so be careful leaving food outside or just put the toy tiger out. And make sure to bring mosquito repellent and post bite medicines. The staff were very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Raymond K, Hotel Management
Dear tranquile, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations
5 out of 5
by ENG HOW

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Raymond Koh, Hotel Management
Dear ENG HOW, Thank you for choosing to stay in our Retreat. We look forward to serving you again. Best regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service. Excellent Staff

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Very scenic. The hot spring has very low sulphur smell.
Cons: Pricing & the flies problems. Mosquitoes too. Love the insect repellant given to us (much appreciated).
Location: Great food in Ipoh. After the resort we went up to Cameron Highland which is an awesome mix of highland and the resort.
It was a very pleasant stay at Banjaran. Offered a free upgrade to garden ville from the water ville. Awesome staff and personalised staff attention to details. Very scenic place. Will definitely come back again. Only two drawbacks: 1) Very pricey 2) Has to do something to get rid of the flies (not just a few) in the restaurant and the mosquitos in the resort. Flies are usual tell tale signs of garbage management issues. .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Raymond-KIpoh, Hotel Management
Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you for your feed back. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. Just to share on what we had done to rectify the flies issue, we had installed additional fly baits and traps at surrounding area, apart from fogging at nearby area. Past experience tells us that it is also due to fly season which usually happens once a year. We had even paid a visit to external nearby establishments to confirm our finding. Rest assured that Retreat has proper hygiene practices and adhered to Food Safety Guidelines at all times. We will be looking forward to welcome you back to our Retreat soon. Thank you. Raymond Koh Director of Operations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Privacy

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
It was a quiet, serene get away. So much to explore within the hotspring itself and lots of privacy. The only setback was the mosquitoes.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Raymond Koh, Hotel Management
Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you for your feed back. We are glad that you had a great stay. On mosquitoes issues, we have increased our fogging frequency to once a week , however due to proximity to nature, we only can minimise the population but not able to eradicate all unfortunately. We look forward to serving you better next time. Thank you. Raymond Koh Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

You want a real 5 star, this is one.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: A few things that I like about this hotel. Here are several - hot spring, private pool, hot spring watered jacuzzi, spacious and clean room.
Cons: This is hard for the hotel but I think if they would allow an earlier check in compared to the standard 3pm, then it will be good.
Location: Why bother? Once you are there, you just want to stay. Who cares about the location and things nearby.
Took a short weekend stay at this place with my wife. Good place for a couple retreat. It's expensive compared to other hotels but I guess this isn't like any other hotels. This is a 'wealness' hotel, if I am not mistaken. The hot spring was something different, and the plus point is that you get your own private pool and hot spring watered jacuzzi in your room. Staffs were helpful and friendly, and so was the service. The experience I had there was very similar to the one I had in Maldives. Nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Raymond-KIpoh, Hotel Management
Dear Edwin Tan, Thank you for your review and sharing your comments. We are glad that you had a great stay. With regards to check in time, depending on room availability, we do understand our guests need and we also try to be flexible and accommodate our guests requests. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Thank you and Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations