Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Comfortable room, clean & well equipped.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
My room was very comfortable and well equipped wit tv, kettle etc. Breakfast was delicious with a plentiful supply of toast tea/coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable stay in Ipswich

Posted Oct 23, 2017
We stayed only one night and left too early to have breakfast but the room met our needs and the owners were extremely accommodating, allowing us to come back and shower after we had checked out (we had done a local marathon). Very near to the station so very convenient too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottinhham

Near train station

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Breakfast poor shower on top floor needs upgrading noisy because of trains
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Five star

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Five star service recommended to all love all you do and keep up good work and beat all on Price's you then get more custom
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Nice friendly staff

Posted Oct 11, 2017
A little noisy as close to station. Room was functional for a one night stay and clean enough . Facilities a bit dated e.g. old style tv and sink. Staff were very friendly and made a lovely breakfast and they gave it a real family feel to my stay. All in all it did the job for me and was a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Good hotel close the railway station

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Very good hotel and very friendly staff. I stayed at the hotel many times and always been happy with my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Hotel near to railway station

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: close to the railway station and town centre of Ipswich
Room was clean but very shabby making it look grubby in places and the springs could be felt from within the mattress which made the bed very uncomfortable. I was looking forward to English breakfast but was disappointed as they only served turkey bacon which was more fat than meat and they only served beef or vegetarian sausages. This was because of the proprietors religious beliefs and I think this should have been advertised beforehand as I feel they are discriminating against the British culture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NP4 5LG

The guest house

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The Gupstairs Houses is conveniently located in relation to the bus and railway stationstation and in easy walking distance of the Cinemas restaurants and town centre. The Staff were help and able to advise about Ipswich and local amenities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south east england

OK B&B short stay

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Close to station and town centre in walking distance. A bit old fashioned in need of updating and refreshing. .comfortable room with ensuite was OK. Breakfast was good , staff pleasant but untidy. All a bit impersonal Fine for an overnight stay.moth
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southam, warks

Just about ok

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Overall hotel rather disappointing. Decor, fixtures and fittings very tired. Bedding, etc nice and clean and fresh. Owners and staff very pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast good, plenty of choice and served quickly. Large free car park. Paid £59 and £79 for 2 en-suite rooms (numbers 5 & 6), each with 3 single beds. Spacious rooms but very tired carpet and furniture. Absolutely fine if just looking for somewhere to sleep for one night, but wouldn't recommend for any longer visits.