Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Central location friendly staff clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

No bad surprise!

Posted Oct 28, 2017
All you would expect from a Novotel! No bad surprise, all you need. No good surprise either though. All in all a good stay guaranteed! Perfect for business stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Well designed hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Room was comfortable and well thought out. We appreciated the separate toilet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Novotel next to Grand Prix track

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Staff freindly, beds hard and on Fruday and Saturday evening and into the night the local hot wheels club drive at high speed past the hotel making sleep impossible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Good, hotel, good location, a little tlc needed

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast service.
This hotel is very convenient, well located for the port or the town, very clean. In my room the shower needed attention and all door closers needed adjustment. Late at night or early morning, the door closers made the doors bang loudly. Without this, I would have rated this higher. Would use again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, B.C. Canada

Always Nice

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location to town. Clean.
Cons: Another elevator.
Location: Very close to the town. Easy walking to everything. Close to the train station.
We have stayed at this Novotel several times. It's always clean, quiet & with pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, England

Lovely hotel a 5 minute walk from the town centre

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The room and staff
Cons: Lovely breakfast but spoilt by hard bacon and the price.
Location: A few minutes walk from town and waterfront. Felixstowe (beach) 20 minutes by cars, ancient Bury St Edmunds about 25 minutes.
I'd read one or two bad points from customers so was a little wary but I'm very happy to say how impressed I was. My room was spacious and spotless and had a welcome fridge (I have to carry my own Lactose free milk) and a very comfortable Queen size bed. Iron and ironing board in room. The staff were friendly, helpful and always on hand if needed (room service available too). I have to admit that I've never had to pay a car park charge before (£7 a night) but there is a cheap car park opposite that's free from 6pm to 8am opposite. If you have the hotel breakfast it 'is' expensive at £18 so make sure you eat as much as you can. There are plenty of places for breakfast/lunch/evening meal in town and and a Harvester a few minutes walk away. You can take a very short walk to the Waterfront (nicely lit in the evening) for a nice meal and watch all the boats. Check out all the lovely old buildings in and around the town, some beautiful old architecture. All in all, a lovely experience. Kathy D - Norfolk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from taunton

Very Mixed

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Checkin staff, breakfast staff
Cons: Re-terain the team at the bar, start from scratch as clearly none of them has ever served a customer before and have absolutely no clue at all.
Location: Loads of restuarants, but dont forget this is Ipswich not Rome or New York. Bar sevice to match your expectations......
This hotel is centrally located, and in walking distance of most Ipswich based stuff. The room is quite modern, and would have been lovely when new. Its a bit dated now. Look out- these meanies charge for the water bottles in your room. The checkin staff were great, all was well. The bar staff in the evening were dreadful. We were roundly ignored, the inefficiant staff worked at a snails pace, there was liitle or no acknowledgement of our prescence and the drinks were served in a very shabby manner. The bar staff really let this place down and I would reccomend giving these untrained individuals a wide berth and going out for a drink, which will of course be served properly and be half the price too. Because of the rubbish bar staff we just roundly rejected the restuarant where we had plabnned to eat and went out instead. There are great resturants nearby and as we were around for several nights we just went out- nearest good resturants less than a three minute stroll. Breakfast staff were great, a complete opposite of the rubbish bar staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the food though not inspiring was fresh and hot. Check out good, but you are stung for a ridiculously high car parking charge which is just the hotel profiteering and seemed unfreindly and old fashioned. WIFi is OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Went above and beyond

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Vicinity to town and harbour!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Harbour walk along with shopping in town. Many nice restaurants too
We stayed at the Novatel, Ipswich and were very impressed with our room. We arrived home after our first day to a nice tray with a fruit platter with chocolates, yes white linen too. When we were leaving we had ordered a taxi to take us to the train station. The company never showed at 6:55 a.m. The sweet girl Eva from front desk had just arrived for work and she drove us herself in her personal car. That is service. Thanks Novotel
4 out of 5
by Marc

Good!

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Found a great Thai restaurant around the corner. Room was clean and tidy, well enough equipped and staff were very friendly.