Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Quiet rustic lodge

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Rain forest location.
Cons: Bathrooms could use some maintenance
Location: Hiking, canoeing and tours arranged by the Lodge of Iquitos and region
My wife and I had a couple of nights in the Iquitos area after a two-week research expedition up the Samiria River prior to our return to North America and wanted a quiet, off-the-grid lodge. We found San Pedro Lodge over the internet prior to arriving in Peru. The whole experience at the lodge met our expectations. A staff member met us at a hotel in Iquitos and accompanied us on the hour trip by mototaxi and boat to the lodge. Our accommodation was a very comfortable hut, yet basic with a river view where we could watch the occasional boat (canoe) traffic and bird life in the canopy of the rain forest. The location was as expected, remote, quiet and with no electricity (except for a few hours in the evening) which was another advantage as we enjoy being away from the noise of large cities. The Peruvian food was plentiful and well prepared. The lodge offers various tours, however we chose to just relax and take long hikes on some of the nearby paths through the neighboring communities. While the staff spoke no English, Olmes and Walter treated us like family and made us feel very welcome. For us the experience was superb, a quiet stay in the rain forest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Real Amazon lodge experience

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Being close to nature, the staff and the food.
Cons: Hot water! Especially after having walked 8 hours through dense forrest.
Location: The lodge offers walking tours and river tours with visits to the animal orphanage and butterfly farm as well as the local Bora tribe.
The lodge is located about 40 min boat ride from Iquitos in a secluded and beautiful part of the river. It is a perfect starting point for experiencing the wonders of the forrest and they offer walking tours through the jungle with a very knowledgeable guide. The place is very simple but provides the all the necessities and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Apart from the tours offered, you can go swimming and canoeing in the river or walk up to the nearby villages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Grand Junction , CO, USA

Nice place to experience the Amazon River Basin

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Location in the jungle, great food and juice, laid back atmosphere, canoes and other sporting equipment available
Cons: Something sweet or fresh fruit after meals, a better payment system (had to carry way too much cash which left me nervous)
Location: Remote location, but lots of activities at and near the lodge. A bit difficult to access Iquitos, but there was no need to do that.
Our family spent three nights at the San Pedro Lodge to end our 2 week trip in Peru. We booked two rooms which shared a bathroom. Although very basic, the rooms were fine for what we needed. The meals provided were very convenient due to the remote location, and the food was excellent. We went on the Jungle Day Trip and the River Day Trip, which both provided us with great opportunities to experience what the region has to offer. Both of our guides were very informative and helpful. Both the volunteer and paid staff were extremely helpful and fun to hang out with. Our flight was delayed over 3 hours, yet we still were provided transportation to the lodge after dark, which actually provided a very unique and magical way to enter the jungle for the first time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Incredible place. The setting, food, people.

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Wow. An experience for a lifetime. Amazing guided tours with knowledgeable, friendly, bilingual staff..... affordable too. The accommodations were quit nice and the food really good Peruvian homemade dishes. A setting from national geographic and a swim in the river.....Incredible. I hopefully will be returning and most certainly will treasure the memories.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maplewood, NJ

A top-notch, balanced experience in the Amazon

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: We had everything we needed for a successful, wonderful visit.
Location: Far enough from Iquitos to be surrounded by nature, yet close enough to do and see everything your heart desires. The location is a true "sweet spot."
We had only several days to visit the Amazon region and wanted to experience the environment as much as possible. The amazing San Pedro Lodge team gave us an experience we will never forget. The home-cooked meals were delicious and introduced a wide variety of local foods. The day trips were a perfect balance of sights, sounds, tastes, and conversations of a lifetime. Best of all, this was not a sugar-coated depiction of the region -- it was infused with multiple exposures to the realities of the history that continues to shape the region and its people. We slept like babies, and quickly adapted to the cycle of living with the sun, eager to rise each morning for a new experience. To feel truly cared-for by a team of people who have only known you for a few minutes is a remarkable experience. To tour with brilliant, conversant, engaging, caring guides is a privilege. I would do it again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Great stay in Iquitos if you're looking for a jungle experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Cato, Hotel Management
Thank you! Glad to hear that you had a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value if you don;t mind roughing it a little

Posted Oct 27, 2012
I really enjoyed my stay, and it was a great value. I was really tired since my original flight to Iquitos could land due to a storm plane returned to lima. The staff is friendly and works hard to make you stay comfortable. The lodge lent me a small traditional handmade canoe and fishing gear and I had a great time fish the first afternoon I was there. The next I went on a river tour and also had a great time. This hotel is not for everyone. The room have bathrooms but do not have electricity. Now when the rivers are low you must walk about a mile to get to the lodge. They do help the local community and wildlife. I would defiently recommend San Pedro Lodge to anyone who does not mind roughing it a little. Everything they offer is a from tours to lodging is a really good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laszlo from Ouray, Co, USA

Immersed in nature

Posted Jun 5, 2012
Pros: The setting, the atmosphere, the people, the village adjacent to the lodge
Cons: Having to leave
Location: It's magical. You'll have to see it to appreciate it.
San Pedro Lodge is a magical little place in a natural setting close to the Nanay River. The hosts (Gart and Cato) are reliable, intelligent people who speak several languages. The huts are basic, down to earth and comfortible. There are beautiful trees and plants on the grounds. A large variety of exotic birds and other animals frequent the place. The food and all aspect of the accomodations are very reasonable for the price. Overall it's good value for the money. It is a great place to relax or part take in any of the very interesting trips offered by the hosts. The boat ride to and from the lodge is a great experience by itself. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is interested in the rain forest environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New york, NY

Reality without Risk and the right amount of Roughing It

Posted Jul 15, 2011
The San Pedro Lodge is perfect for travelers who are looking for a gritty, amazon experience without the worry and the hassle of finding a guide. The lodge itself is located in the midst of jungle-terrain near several small communities and no other tourists in sight. It is near the city of Iquitos and near the amazon. There are, currently, five bungalows that give the traveler a real sense of camping out. The bungalows are also riverside. The Nanay river runs past the lodge and is a wonderful place for a morning or afternoon dip. More than location, to speak of the lodge, one has to speak of the host Gart Van (Something-or-other[sorry Gart!!!]). Not only is he a great host, but he has been a resident of Iquitos and now San Pedro for many years. In short: traveling around with Gart allows you to meet native Peruvians whom he has known for years. If it is not he, himself, giving you a tour, you will be given a Peruvian guide who is also someone Gart will have known for years. Some travelers enjoy seeing native-activity without getting involved. Some travelers long to be a part of native-activity and, so, spend a lot of money and risk diving head first into the jungle. San Pedro Lodge is the perfect middle-ground for those who want to have really experienced Peru, Iquitos, and the amazon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manuel from 北海道

You want a jungle experiance? Than you are right!

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Nice Lodge, nice people, good tours, easy going & flexible
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2014
Thanks for your kind word Manuel!