Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views but impersonal hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Strawberry Hills is in a stunning location that will take your breath away. The bed is one of the comfiest we've slept in and the pool is spectacular. The food is good but breakfast was rather sugar heavy. When we asked to switch cake (which comes with the standard breakfast included in the room rate) for eggs or a Jamaican breakfast this wasn't possible without paying for a new breakfast in full. We were also celebrating a 30th birthday and got engaged the day before we arrived. We mentioned this to the hotel but received no token of congratulations for this at all. Not even a note! We found this quite astonishing for what is meant to be a five star experience. Overall, Strawberry Hills is wonderful for one night but given the price, we would recommend staying elsewhere after that. There's so much to do in Kingston that it's definitely fun to spend some time down in the action after you've absorbed the views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Heavenly!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The resort is absolutely stunning, and the staff are incredible. Food is delicious. Dayne, the driver, was so polite and professional. I hope I have the opportunity to come back, as it was the stay of a lifetime!
Cons: Everything was wonderful! The only downside was the very curvy drive up the mountain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Mountain heaven

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The situation and views are unbeatable
Cons: Food menu could be a bit more varied.
Location: Very little to do nearby that doesn't involve a car trip
At over 3000ft in the Blue Mountains high above Kingston, this is a marvellous place to get away from the bustle of town. The grounds are beautiful and the views stunning. The food is good if not exciting and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Slight downside is there is little to do if the weather turns rainy as it often does in the autumn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful remote mountainside getaway.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Unique resort with great staff. Food excellent albeit pricey. Cool breezes in the evening. Magnificent views over the mountain side. Evening city lights of greater Kingston provide a beautiful view. Lush flora throughout. Quite a bit of stair climbing to reach rooms and dining area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Tranquility with excellent food....

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Location and staff were amazing
Cons: Nothing
Location: The short hike to coffee plantation and serendipity was enjoyable. I needed rest and this place is perfect.
I absolutely loved my visit. The villas were spacious and located in the most exquisite location with amazing views. I have no complaints. Cadeene was attentive to every detail and l look forward to a return visit. You must experience the spa, well worth the time and expense.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheltenham, england

Unbeatable location overlooking Kingston

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Staff very obliging in all respects, were concerned when we were late back one evening. Every bit as relaxing as we had hoped.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Extremely disappointed

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Sorry to say, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. My family and I were EXTREMELY disappointed. The rooms did not look like the pictures online and need updating. The hotel states online that is an ALL-INCLUSIVE hotel but it is NOT. The only meal provided is breakfast which is continental (on the days they choose) and the service is extremely SLOW. Please don't waste your money and stay at this establishment.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Chicago

Can't help fall in love with Straberry Hill.

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful villa with amazing views and very realixing. Absolutely love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Gorgeous setting! Great service! Pricey food!

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: We loved the setting, views and service.
Cons: The resort would be perfect if the food was more reasonably priced and the wild dogs were eliminated.
Location: There isn't much to do nearby.
My family of four stayed at the Strawberry Hill Resort for seven days. We opted to rent a car instead of using a driver. Driving up the mountain to the resort was scary. The road is very windy and very narrow. We never enjoyed driving up or down the mountain, but we did get used to it by day seven. One of our rooms had a view of Kingston and the other a view of the mountain. The city view was spectacular. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the city lights twinkle at night. The mountain view was beautiful, too and we enjoyed watching the sun rising over the mountain in the mornings. However, if your accommodations face the mountain, be prepared to hear packs of wild dogs barking in the middle of the night and roosters crowing at dawn. There’s only one restaurant on the resort premises. The service is wonderful. The wait staff is attentive, polite and unobtrusive. Unfortunately, the food is only adequate and too expensive. Meals cost twice as much as other restaurants in Kingston (quadruple what a comparable meal would cost in the United States). Therefore, we ate at least one meal a day at Café Blue, which is located a quarter of the way down the mountain. Be forewarned-you have to get to the café early, before they run out of food!
5 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels