Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great Hotel!

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Whenever we are in the area, this is the hotel we stayed at! It is always clean and staff is always welcoming and friendly. They always have a lot of options for the their breakfast, even hot food! (Bacon, eggs, etc.) The only negative comment I have is on the blanket. They have down blankets on the beds and the one in our room, this stay, was very thin. I know that they are expensive blankets, but they should consider replacing them with thicker ones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in the UP

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: see above
Very helpful staff—pleasant, accommodating, helpful. Cleanliness exceptional, rooms quiet, great beds!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Our rooms were clean and comfortable; front-desk staff was so very accommodating. I'm allergic to feathers, and the young woman at the desk immediately checked and replaced my feather pillows and down comforter with fiberfill pillows and two fleece blankets. So grateful for that! All hotel policies and perks were explained fully when we checked in. The beds were great, and we slept well. We were in town for a family funeral, and they very kindly arranged for us to leave our bags in one of our two rooms for an hour after regular check-out time, so we could return from the service and luncheon and change out of fancy attire and into comfy driving clothes for the trip home. Very kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Great motel. Nice location. Friendly front desk. Great breakfast. Clean room. The only negative would be that the walls must not be very well insulated. We were around crying babies and the sound carried very well. Also, these reviews require too many words which I am assuming is why people don't take the time to fill them out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

For $140.00, room room could have been bigger.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast.
Cons: Size of rooms, especially bathroom
For $140.00, room was nice but very small bathroom. Room itself was quite small also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice, but overpriced

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Great room. Good breakfast.
Cons: Provide better value for the money spent
Location: On US2, which is under construction. Decent restaurant across parking lot.
Americinns are nice, with quality furnishings and amenities. This one was no exception. But it wasn't worth what they charged in a small town like Ironwood.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted Mar 26, 2015
We stayed here for the ice caves. The hotel was packed & the price was about double for a regular weekend. Our room was clean & the hotel staff was super friendly & helpful. There is also a delicious local restaurant in the same lot. On the flip side our room heat was not right; it was always too hot until we turned it so low the room froze. Additionally the bed was hard as a rock and we could here all the activities of the family next door. Overall would not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great hotel in Upper Michigan Ski Area

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: All staff were excellent. We loved the complimentary broccoli and cheese soup at 5:30 p.m. after a day of skiing. Great pool, hot tub and sauna area.
Cons: Improved desk staff knowledge of current conditions at local ski resorts and local pizza delivery options or recommendations.
Location: Downhill and cross country skiing, snowmobiling, hiking, biking, water sports, Lake Superior nearby, Porcupine Mountains nearby.
We would highly recommend this accommodation. After researching lodging options at the various ski resorts, we chose this hotel as it looked updated, convenient and more budget conscious than many of outdated resort options. Our rooms were spotless, extremely well appointed with great bedding, comfortable mattresses and free wifi, which worked great. After a long day of skiing, we loved the unexpected complimentary broccoli and cheese soup served in the beautiful lobby area next to a large fireplace. Breakfast was also excellent. Every staff person we encountered was warm and friendly making you feel like they were really glad you were there. We called the front desk at 9:30 on a Friday night asking for a pizza delivery suggestion and were told no one delivers after 8:30! This was surprising for a tourist town. I'm not sure if that information was accurate or not. Overall, this hotel exceeded our expectations; we would definitely stay there again. It was at the higher end of the rate range for comparable properties, but after visiting, we could see the various aspects that made it worth more money--wonderful pool, hot tub and sauna, beautiful lobby, great breakfast, complimentary evening soup, terrific staff and the rooms were lovely. Our teenagers loved hanging in the pool or lobby/lounge area as they had a large-screen television with one of the football bowl games playing, and they didn't have to be with us the whole time. Plenty of room in lobby for groups too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel, close to family and ski hills

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised by the extraordinary service provided the by the staff
Location: 3 ski hills nearby, snowmobiling, any winter sports that you could think of .
This was the first time that we stayed there and will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Was close to our family

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Room was clean and breakfast was good. Staff friendly