Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by JOSHUA from London

Lovely family run hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
The family running this hotel are lovely. They helped us with everything; from booking tours to doing our laundry! The room was very spacious and clean and the water was hot. The breakfasts are nice and substantial. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mar del Plata

Bien ubicado, cerca de la playa y centro

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Al llegar nos dijeron que no habían recibido la reserva de habitación por Expedia. Nos derivaron a otro hotel llamado Fragatas de similares características. El desayuno es bueno y lo tomábamos en La gran Tortuga. El personal es amable y la habitación amplia y limpia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A perfect family run hostal

Posted Aug 5, 2015
The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfast is great, and the family who runs La Gran Tortuga takes care of their guests.
3 out of 5
by Nicholas from Minnetonka.

Jose and Juanita Helpful Hosts

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
We were met at ferry when boat arrived. Jose very helpful with luggage--from dock to room. Relaxed and easy-going hosts. Room clean and staff kept it so. No chairs TV very poor quality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Córdoba, argentina

Juanita una "masa".

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Juanita te aconseja y te resuelve todo! José, el marido te lleva a todos lados. La terraza muy buena! Rico el desayuno.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wheaton, MD

Great place to stay on Isabela Island!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Friendly owner whose lived in Isabela all her life, very helpful! Great accommodations, nice location, quiet, clean.
Cons: There were a lot of flies in the breakfast room, even though it is screened in. Not sure if it was just the time of year; close & put AC on.
Location: 2 blocks from the beach, nearby restaurants, tour operators come to get you. You can rent bikes to go nearby and get around the town on foot.
My husband, 17 and 15 year old sons and I stayed at La Gran Tortuga for 4 nights last week. We were touring Isabela island. We were so impressed with the owner, Juana Valladares! Before our trip, she set up several tours for us and even answered our questions about what shoes to bring via e-mail! She was incredibly friendly and helpful for our entire stay, treating us to fresh watermelon grown on her organic farm one afternoon, going out of her way to buy us a special breakfast of "balones," a local dish made of plaintains, and even letting us use our room to shower and change after check out. The 4 of us were very comfortable in the one large room; the beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The breakfasts were generous and delicious - lots of fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, omelettes, etc. It helped that we spoke Spanish so could easily communicate with her.
4 out of 5
by Sylvain from Ile-Perrot

Charmant et confortable

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
Nous avons passé 6 nuits au Gran Tortuga et avons été très satisfaits de la chambre et du service donné par les propriétaires. Nous avions demandé une chambre à l'étage car si le niveau de la rue convient pour un court séjour, nous préférions être plus isolés pour passer une semaine tranquille en amoureux. Les propriétaires sont très avenants et feront leur possible pour accommoder les clients (ex: déjeuner plus tôt un jour de plongée.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires, Arg

Muy lindo Hotel cerca de todo

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Habitación amplia con aire acondicionado y wi fi
Hotel con amplia habitación, a 2 cuadras del centro y de la playa, atendido por sus dueños, siempre muy bien predispuestos ante cualquier duda/consulta. Muy bien la limpieza.Cuentan con wi fi. Muy recomendable
4 out of 5
by María Francisca from Santiago de Chile

Buen servicio en la gran tortuga

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Muy linda decoración habitación. Justo hubo arreglos por agua potable En la calle. Todo funciono peefecto. Exquisitos desayunos que estan incluidps muy amable la sra. Juana que es la dueña. Nos dio buenas recomendaciones de que visitar en Isabela. Nos encantó Isabela es fantástico! ! Lindo comedor y agua disponible siempre.
5 out of 5
by stella maris from San Luis

Vale quedarse en la Gran tortuga

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
La estadía en el hotel fue increible, primero nos estaban esperando en el puerto, la habitación era muy comoda, y muy limpia, un desayuno abundante, y atendido por buena gente