Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet - very quiet.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The staff, location and the quiet. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The spa facilities were excellent with mud pools from the volcanic substrata.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Tour the island or get on one of the many ferries from Forio port directly to Naples or Pozzuoli. Eat, drink and relax.
Not suitablw for the 18 - 30 crowd. It was blissfully silent out the back of our room with only the occassional bird singing. A pleasant walk to the town using the back entrance got us into Forio, a small lively town full of tourist junk shops with the usual Italian excellence in food and coffee. The hotel is staffed by extremely helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was a bit basic but good quality. Would certainly return to the Gattopardo (named after a book written by Guisseppi Lampedusa) the next time I visit Ischia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Waterloo

A good budget hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2006
We stayed at the Il Gattopardo for three nights in July 2006. Getting to the hotel was an adventure - we took a train from Rome, then a taxi to the port , then a hydrofoil across to Ischia and a taxi to our resort. We found it fairly tricky navigating through all of these forms of transportation without knowing much Italian (our fault, not the locals obviously). The hotel itself is very nice and the prices are VERY reasonable for the accomodations we received. We went with the B and B option so I cannot comment on lunch and dinner. The food at breakfast was ok, but stay away from the eggs (very runny and salty). Rooms were comfortable and virtually every room had a balcomy with a nice view - we were overlooking Mount Epomeo in the rear of the hotel. The beach was actually a short walk (down a steep hill) in front of the hotel. It was free, clean, and fairly nice - though it doesn't compare atall with any of the beaches we ahve been to in the Carribean. The Pools at the hotel were very nice and clean. There was a large non-thermal pool, and three thermal pools (one clear, one light brown, the other dark brown). The thermal pools were very nice - naturally heated between 36 C and 42 C. All areas of the resort were very clean. In summary, would I stay at this hotel again - yes. Would I return to Ischia - probably not as there are much nicer beaches and accomodations in the Caribbean for way less money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Authentisch

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Service.
sympathisches Hotel mit ausnahmslos sehr aufmerksamen, auffallend hilfsbereiten und unkomplizierten Mitarbeitern.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

posizione bella, ma le strutture sono vecchie

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: La posizione. Si vede una bella vista su Forio e su Punta Imperatore.
Cons: Le strutture devono essere rinnovate.
Camera vecchia, bagni da rifare, freddo in camera.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sarebbe sufficiente come 3 stelle.

Posted Aug 18, 2013
L'impressione è che non prenotando direttamente con loro, si venga dirottati verso le stanze peggiori. Infissi vecchi e mal ridotti, bagno cieco, boiler elettrico, pulizia molto approssimativa. Inoltre: telecomando della tv da richiedere, colazione scarsa, ambiente rumoroso: i camerieri sono tenuti a stare in sala a sorvegliare (non si capisce cosa# e si tengono impegnati a lucidare centinaia di posate, sbattendole da un contenitore all'altro; tutte le mattine! Troppa insistenza nel proporci la pensione completa #eravamo in b&b). La zona relativa alla piscina coperta versa in totale abbandono, sia come manutenzione che come pulizia. La stanza avrebbe dovuto essere una "standard"; se lo standard di un quattro stelle è questo...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel per chi non ha molte pretese

Posted Aug 18, 2013
L hotel avrebbe bisogno di qualche ritocco e un po vecchio le stanze standard sono piccole e rispetto ad altri 4 stelle e' inferiore
4 out of 5
by alloin from lyon france

hotel tres agreable ambiance paisible

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels
tres bonne impression le patron est tres pro et sait faire valoir son hotel nous a surclasse sur la categorie des chambres tres appreciable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Milly from Lugano, Svizzera

Giudizio personale in settembre

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: le piscine con acqua termale e le cure di fanghi interni. Eccezionale i tramonti !!!!
Cons: Possibilità di pranzare o cenare senza preavviso ad un prezzo onesto.
Location: Forio molto carino, ma inferiore a Ischia porto come trasporto via terra e intrattenimento serale.
L'hotel con le 3 piscina interne e 3 fuori è molto bello, ma l'acqua non viene controllata regolarmente. Inoltre la spiaggia e scomodissimo soprattutto chi ha problemi di fare le scale! Abbiamo prenotato con expedia soltanto la colazione, quindi volevamo fare la cena al rist. dell'albergo, ma visto il prezzo, abbiamo rinunciato. A pochi metri dall'albergo c'è una nuova pizzeria JAMM JA' che si mangia da dio con ottimi prezzi, condotta da una famiglia simpaticissima, veramente da consigliare. Le cure termali ed il trattamento era perfetto con personale molto gentile e professionale. Da notare che in quest'albergo ci sono soprattutto clientela germanica e pochi italiani, sconsigliato per i bambini piccoli , ma il massimo per gli anziani che non hanno voglia di girare in quanto ci sono lettini ed ombrelloni attorno le piscine e sul terrazzo.
4 out of 5
by Couple from Finland

Poor customer service at breakfast

Posted Aug 14, 2012 on Hotels
+We got a sea view room, so view was veeeery nice. Also the pools were very nice. -Customer service in breakfast room was rude and poor. In the first morning the breakfast room was empty so we picked a small table near window. In few minutes old waiter came to yell at us. He was rude and yelled that we have to take the same number table that our room number is. How could we know that?!? Nobody was in the room telling us that when we came. After the yelling we have to change table and take all our plates with us. We got the worst table in the room right next to fridge. And again room was empty. Not the behaviour you expect to have in an hotel which calls itself 4 star hotel. Next mornings we noticed that only customers with "the whole paccage - breakfast, lunch and dinner" got good service. We with "only" breakfast got nothing.
5 out of 5
by Cassie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2012 on Hotels