Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsuitable Management

Posted Sep 24, 2016
My stay in Ischia began with a message that I would be staying at the Continental Ischia Terme, rather than the Continental Ischia. I had no issue with this, and detailed this is a response to the hotel. When I arrived, the hotel downgraded all amenities that had been previously agreed upon, and wanted to charge me for my stay. It was a simple miscommunication that was easily rectified with my persistent explanation, and verification through emails. The fact that the hotel management had not communicated infuriated me. Furthermore, the reluctance, badgering, and outright lying gave me a terrible impression. I asked simply that I be given the exact agreed upon, and paid for stay for a double room, with breakfast included. We had two single beds side by side. When I asked if we could make a better arrangement, I was first outright lied to, then given a dismissive answer. Management simply gave me an unprofessional impression on several occasions. Facilities, amenities, and other staff were excellent.
3 out of 5
by Alexander

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex.UK

Hotel with fantastic views

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Lots of greenery around the hotel, pools were never crowded,plenty of sun lounges around. Fantastic views, quiet and peaceful.
Cons: Free shuttle service from hotel to town should be more regular every 1/2 hour. It has to be reserved and if full it will not do a second run.
Location: Situated not far from the port on a hill side with fantastic views. Aroganese castle , Mortella garden highly recommended. Poseidon thermal spa.
Stayed from 19- 26 Sept. 2014. We are three matured ladies sharing a " comfort room" which consisted of two floors close to the reception area. It consisted of a lounge, settee converted into 2 single beds, balcony with views over grassy area,lower pool and fabulous views of the bay. The first floor had a double bed with windows over looking the same view. The upper bigger pool is a little walk up some steps . There were plenty of sun lounges all over the grounds, the water in the upper pool is cooler and we had it to ourselves the few times we were using it. Walk into town is through a short cut through a private locked gate, steep in places which leads down into the harbour ( not do able with suit cases). Bus stop outside hotel, buses are always crowded with locals and tourist. Only ate twice in the evening at the hotel, disappointing food and treated discourteously by the head waiter. The bar and reception staff were very helpful and polite. On the whole a wonderful and satisfactory stay.
4 out of 5
by jackie cullen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Sep 9, 2013
We were very disappointed with our stay at Continental Mare. The location was disappointing...it was about a 15 minute walk into town along a footpath, which was fine during the day, but we did not feel safe walking at night. We were also disappointed with the staff. They grudgingly answered our questions but always acted like we were bothering them. In addition, every little thing was an extra charge. If you wanted a towel for the pool it would cost 2 euros plus an additional 2 every time you wanted to exchange it for a clean one. Overall, it was reasonably comfortable, but had no charm, a poor location, and the staff made us feel completely unwelcome. You can definitely find something better!
4 out of 5
by Piergiorgio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Andrea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel accueillant à 15 min du port

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Location: sur les hauteurs d'Ischia. prendre le bus pour visiter l'île. A pied, le port est à 15 min. Therme et spa en ville, et en allant vers casamicciole
Hotel accueillant à 15 min du port, personnel agréable, petit déjeuner bon, piscine chauffée par une source thermale, et vue sur la mer magnifique. il y a un petit chemin pour aller jusqu'au port sans passer par la grande route. + vue, proximité avec la ville d'ischia, personnel, calme la nuit - sdb assez petite...rien d'autre