Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rhode island

Posted Aug 31, 2017
They were nice at hotel, location was good and getting around was easy. But, seriously- they should advertise having air conditioning, the room was sweltering hot. Nothing improved, after I asked them to check- no offer to relocate us. Impossible to sleep
4 out of 5
by Aleksander

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
The Pool and the view was amazing! The Room very clean and beautiful! Friendly and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not a 4* experience, amenities have restrictions.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Me and my partner usually goes for budget hotels, but to celebrate my 30th we thought we'd splash out a bit. Unfortunately the promise of 4* didn't live up to the experience. I had dismissed some negative reviews as they were very longwinded and a bit rant like, but they are unfortunately fairly accurate. I'll try and keep this brief. Many amenities have time restrictions, if you go, stay in peak only. Most importantly AIR CON is NOT available until mid June despite the room temperature being 30+ Celsius already. This was the biggest issue we experienced and there is nothing the hotel can/will do (even when it advertised air con at booking). WiFi is very patchy The shuttle bus doesn't run until late June. Hotel is 20min walk downhill to the castle and a bit further to the town centre. Most things close for a siesta early afternoon to evening. Some staff are nice but generally I found them dismissive. Pool is a nice area. It is generally clean but there appears to be mould build up on the edges. I noticed they had started to clean it up on one side perhaps ready for peak season. Bring a swim cap! It's an Italian thing. Room is generally clean and I loved having a balcony. We had a great view. Furniture is rather dated throughout the hotel, but this likely appeals to their retiree target audience. There is a spa onsite which is reasonably priced, we didn't use it though. Food wise we only had the breakfast. It was alright, standard Italian continental plus egg
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: The staff is great, always attentive, helpful and kind!
Location: The location is not ideal for someone travelling alone. At night you have to walk through a dark and isolated street to go anywhere from the hotel.
Overall it was a good experience mainly due to the helpful and kind staff! The reception staff was always smiley and happy to assist with anything I needed, from gluten free food and information about transport and attractions to a medical consultation. Unfortunately the hotel is a bit outdated and a bit far from main attractions.
2 out of 5
by Kevin from Ireland

Average at best

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is located away from the main areas for restaurants, beaches etc so be prepared for plenty of walking. Only one of the receptionists had a good level of English so unless you speak Italian then I would not recommend. Breakfast was adequate but had easily one of the most ignorant head waiters that I have ever seen in action. The AC in our room was noisy and didn't fully work so getting a good nights sleep was difficult.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Providence RI

San Valentino a good choice on a lovely island

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay very much. However, the only drawback was the location high above The main town of Ischia Porto. Other than that it was everything that a relaxing vacation could offer. The staff was extremely helpful and Wi-Fi was available in the public areas in the at the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Authentic traditional Italian resort

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Excellent dining, entertainment and spa services
Cons: The only practical way to get to and from ferries to Naples is to take a taxi The WiFi service works only in the lobby, terrace and card room.
Location: The hotel is a scenic 15 minute walk from the Aragonese Castle, a major landmark perched above the Bay of Naples.
Hotel San Valentino is my favorite hotel and an excellent value. I return every summer for my vacation. It is large enough to have many resort facilities including indoor and outdoor pools, two large sunbathing terraces spacious gardens, game room, TV room and indoor and outdoor dining. But the design spreads the rooms through many different wings, so you feel like you are staying in a villa by the sea. There are fun entertainment programs most nights, folklore evening, pool party, live concerts. The owner's son Claudio plays water polo for the local team and arranges free attendance at games. The artwork collection is large and intriguing -- you can spend half a day viewing it as if you were in a museum. The breakfast buffet offers many choices. The other guests who were on the three meal plan said lunch and dinner were very good. The hotel is on a slope and many rooms offer spectacular sea views with large balconies. The room furnishings are rustic, rather than Hyatt style luxury, but they give the feeling that you are really in Italy. If you visit, make sure to have at least one outfit for dress events. Many Italian guests work in the fashion industry and get dressed up for dinner and evening dances.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hunney4bee from Southampton

Home away from home

Posted Jun 26, 2014
The hotel staff were exceptional & helped me with all queries. Hotel is a 10/15 min walk from the beach & town centre. Perfect for evening stroll. Small supermarket across the road from the hotel that sells all basic needs. Hotel provided gluten free biscuits for my breakfast :)
4 out of 5
by Sheri from Naples, Italy

Great hotel for our one night stay in Ischia

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was a quick 15€ taxi ride from the port. The staff was very helpful. The room and hotel itself was very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast. Decent location with a bus stop close by.
2 out of 5
by Single-traveller from India

Meant for senior people

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel seems to have their eyes fixed on senior people coming in some package deal for thermal bath and treatment. If you are not in that category and do not speak Italian, your experience is unliekly to be good. Very few of the staff speak English, but some of them quite efficient. The breakfast was exactly the same every day, with very limited choice. I had lunch once and decided to have food elsewhere. I was told that lunch and dinner would cost 15.00 Euro but was charged 20.00. When I pointed this out I was told that since I did not eat every day, my rates were high. However, they were nice enough to arrange for a taxi in the early morning when I left. The WiFi is available only in the lobby. There is a desktop though for those who do not have a laptop.