Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mark

Great location.

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Villa Maria is a great place to stay! Minutes walk from ferries arriving into Port Ischia. Bus hub was close by as well. While they advertise wifi, it didn't work the whole time we were there. They say only in lobby, but it didn't work there as well. Breakfast was nice - very simple. Great coffee and croissants so that is all we needed although they had cereals, packaged cookies, and bread with jam, cheese or salami. Room was clean and nice. Overall great stay and would recommend to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
This hotel is situated in the hearth of Comune d'Ischia. It's the perfect location if you want to soak in the buzzing atmosphere of this town. It's walking distance from all the best bars, restaurants & shops. Also you can walk to beautiful beaches and the harbour which is very handy. Staff is friendly & helpful and the room clean & spacious. We found the bed very comfy! Highly recommended if you're staying in Comune d'Ischia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very good but center located

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was very old decorated and its bath was not so clean. There was no wifi in the room, only at the lobby. But the location is very near to both the bus station and port.
5 out of 5
by Wendy from Oakland, CA

Great place!

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly, warm, lovely staff, spacious room with a gorgeous view. Very close to the ferry, walking distance to lots of bars, cafes, restaurants, shops, beaches, and sites--just a leisurely stroll to the castle. Can't recommend this hotel enough. Everything was great. Made us feel very welcome in Ischia.
4 out of 5
by MC from Lyon

A perfect place for a family stay!

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Nicely sized room with a balcony. Great advice from the staff for bathing and visiting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice two nights

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels
great stay for two nights in Ischia. Great location, confortable rooms and nice staff.
3 out of 5
by PBinCT from Connecticut, USA

Nice staff, but too many basic problems

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels
I was here for a conference at a neighboring hotel. Villa Maria's location is very central and the neighborhood has many good restaurants and bars. The staff is friendly (though their English is a bit limited) and the breakfast is plentiful and thankfully balances out the standard sweet items of an Italian hotel breakfast with some has savory items like ham and cheese with regular bread, cereal, and plain yogurt, to which you can add honey or jam. I also liked that the hotel had a large sitting area attached to the lobby, which was great for socializing with other guests, or playing cards, etc. There were so many things right about this hotel, that I feel bad about the mediocre rating, but there were too many basic issues that I could not ignore. First, my toilet had some issue where it took over an hour to refill the tank after a flush. I reported this to the cleaning staff, but nothing was done about it. This was annoying for me alone, and would be impossible if I were sharing the room. The internet did not work in the back building. Several guests informed the staff of this: the router was on and you could connect to it, but the router was not connected to the internet. Being on a business trip, it was very annoying having to go to the lobby any time you needed to access email. I was frustrated that these issues occurred, but more frustrated that the staff didn't seem to want to do anything about them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Giuseppe from Sydney NSW, Australia

Giuseppe F. from Sydney Australia.

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Clean and well run hotel in a central location. Continental breakfast was sufficient and lunch or dinner was very good, with fresh local produce used and generous portions. Freindly family run hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending it.
5 out of 5
by Diana

Excellent Location

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on Hotels
I would definitely stay at this hotel again next time I go to Ischia. It is almost right next to a 5 star resort, but you do not have to pay the same amount of money. It is less than a block away from the Port, and that is what makes this hotel so convenient. The bed was very comfortable too. The bathroom is quite small, so that is the only downside that this hotel has. Free breakfast included.