Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Catrin S.

Fantastic place

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Ebookers
Even better than i could have imagined - right on the beach - right in the middle of the paradise that is Holbox.
5 out of 5
by GAIL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ypsilanti, MI

Rustic Holbox Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Holbox is a rustic island and this hotel is one of the nicer ones. The rooms and beds are small but recently updated. The upper rooms have balconies with a view of the beach. The staff maintains the facilities well. The restaurant has good food and takes credit cards. Everything is on island time so it takes very long time. Plan 2hrs for meals. Breakfast is included but it is just fruit, white toast, homemade jam and juice. You can also order off the menu. The hotel is situated in town. Many people use the beach as the main thorough fare to get from one place on the island to the next, so many people walk by the hotel. The beach is not secluded but they have chaise lounges for guests. We would definitely return to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Eduardo Pacheco., Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments, they make us feel great and also inspire us to improve and offer a better service to our guests, we hope to see you soon in out hotel, your hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic hotel. But in front of the beach beautiful!

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Rustic hotel. But in front of the beach beautiful!
4 out of 5
by jorge enrique from Cancun

nice hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
was very good stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

We loved it

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: We liked the location, the cleanliness of the beach, the staff
Cons: It can get a bit noisy at night especially in the rooms in the far end. I don't think there's much to do about it (maybe provide ear plugs?)
Location: Holbox is great for relaxing and disconnecting from the world. The nature is beautiful, the food is great, the people are amazing
We had a great time in Holbox and our stay at Amaite was very pleasant. The staff are super friendly, the location is perfect - from all the beaches we saw, this one was the best. We will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MEX

Posted Nov 22, 2014
When we arrived they didn't have our room but they offered us a bigger suite for the same price of a regular room for our 3 days. The hotel is a little bit expensive, food and beverages. And the personnel is slow... In the restaurant you have to be very patience when taking the breakfast or dinner, but I can say the food is excellent. The location is excellent. I would say 4.5 out of 5
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pocatello, Idaho

OK Hotel if you like very hard beds

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Nice beachfront property with hammocks and shade to enjoy the beach.
Cons: If staff were more responsive to queries it would have made a huge difference.
Location: Great location. Could rent golf carts to see the island (recommended) and the whale shark experience should not be missed.
Checked in and were welcomed with lovely juice drinks and smiling faces. Booked three rooms for six people. The other two rooms had AC that worked but ours never got beyond horrible. Complained to front desk with no results. Resorted to opening windows but was still horrifically stuffy in July. Incredibly noisy on both sides. Overall staff were very nice and assured us things would be taken care of - and they never were. All six of us complained about the beds - it was like sleeping on a rock. When you added in the overwhelming heat and noise, I didn't sleep much at all.
1 out of 5
by Love to travel from D

What they don't show you in the pictures

Posted Jun 24, 2014
I am old enough to know that when a deal seems to good to be true it probably is. So when we arrived at Amaite hotel, I really should not have been surprised at my disappointment. Let me begin by saying that we paid the hotel for an airport transfer from cancun to the hotel and they were an hour and a half late picking us up. When we finally arrived at the hotel the staff was uninterested in our arrival. We were shown to a very small room that smelled of mold, had dirty floor and walls. The bathroom smelled of urine and despite hotel claims that the bathrooms were recently renovated we saw no evidence of this. The air conditioner was not strong enough to cool even the tiny room and had mold growing around the vent area. It smelled very bad. The bed was hard as a rock! There is no room safe to store valuables and the doors and windows are not secure. The outdoor hallway on the second floor leading to all rooms looks down on a sort of shanty area, sort of dirty and full of discarded items of boxes, furniture and trash. Not a nice view. I can't really comment on the restaurant or beach as we took one look and decided to head down the road to another hotel. As per the hotel cancellation policy we did not receive any refund. So buyer beware of Amaite. It is not worth it even in bargain low season!
4 out of 5
by Mike from Ca

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels
Small rooms with less than average a/c. Great staff. Excellent service. Great location.