Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
This hotel has a beautiful garden and a pool. It is a quiet oasis. The bed is so comfortable and the pillows and blankets were fantastic. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, WI

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Orbitz
This beautiful hotel is close to the ferry, downtown and the beach. The staff was wonderful, and the pool very refreshing after a day at the beach.
3 out of 5
by Barb

Convenient location

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Nice, relaxing hotel. Free Breakfast consisted of coffee, a dry bun. Beautiful gardens. Nice pool. Our room did not get cleaned. We were there for a two day stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

One day trip to Holbox

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
This place is no 5 star resort but is way more than adequate. Clean, comfortable and friendly. What more can you ask for in paradise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Luz, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for sharing your experience and qualifying. We were happy to read that you spent some very nice days at our facilities. We look forward to your visit again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable priced, onvenient and clean hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at Casa Barbara twice now. It is a cute place with tree logs worked into the walls and ceilings which makes it fun. Also, it is within walking distance from the ferry. Just two blocks up the street. It is a simple hotel and was fine for our one night in Holbox. The beds and pillows were slightly uncomfortable. We were able to leave our bags in the check in area until ready to take the ferry, which was helpful. In Holbox the ATM is very unreliable, so bring plenty of pesos. If you need the cash machine go early before a long line forms. It is upstairs at the corner bank. There were several places that will not take US dollars, but many places that would take credit cards. It has rained heavily each time we have been there and the water fills the streets, sometimes up to six inches so it can be really muddy. People just seem to take off their shoes and wade through the water! We probably will not go back to Holbox as it is very small, and my husband accomplished what he wanted - to go fishing and catch Tarpin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford MS

We Loved It!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, grounds
Cons: For the price, it was perfect.
Location: Close to everything in town, short walk to the beach.
This little hotel might be the best deal in Holbox. We stayed here for two nights during our trip, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. The staff was very friendly, the grounds were beautiful, and our room was very clean. The pool was well-maintained and really pretty. They serve a continental breakfast (coffee and small pastries), and it was good. We also ordered breakfast one morning. I had the ham and cheese omelet, and my husband had Mexican eggs. Both were delicious. The beds are typical Mexican beds (very firm), but we both slept great. AC worked well. The rooms were relatively spacious compared to some other hotels rooms we've stayed in in Mexico. Each room has its own little patio/balcony. The hotel grounds were very quiet and peaceful. Location is good, close to the beach, and pretty much in the middle of town. They advertise Internet in the common areas, but the Internet also worked in our room (#13). Inernet on the island is not fast, in general, but it was enough for us to browse, check emails, etc. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by Colin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Value

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Orbitz
The cost to stay is on the lower end and it's off the beach. But the real value is its simple charm....rustic wood..shady trees...and a burst of sun onto the pool. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holbox Retreat

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
It was a very good stay. Beautiful grounds and pool. Quiet and away from the noise of town but nearby. Two block walk to town. Only thing to watch for was they want you to hang a card on your room door if you want service. Just be aware; not a problem.
4 out of 5
by RD from Texas

Nice reasonable hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Would stay again