Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

A great place to enjoy beautiful Holbox!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Just returned from 6 really lovely days in Holbox. The Paraiso del Mar was a really calm and pleasant hotel with nice rooms and helpful staff. On the beachfront and a short 10 min walk to the town the hotel struck a good balance between cacooning resort and a base to enjoy the food and atmosphere in Holbox centre. Pleasant mix of couples and families as well as local and foreign tourists. Highly recommend taking breakfast option and eating lunch or dinner in town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little slice of heaven

Posted Apr 13, 2017
If you're looking for a relaxing and friendly place to stay on Holbox, you found it at Villas Paraiso del Mar. The place is very clean, very nice, and very accommodating. Perfect for families, as the beach is right outside, and the pool is kid-friendly. The food is always fresh and home cooked by the sweet staff. Our boys loved the huge breakfast buffet with the option of getting freshly baked pancakes, omelettes, smoothies, or juices every morning. The bar close to the beach is perfect for an afternoon cocktail. The beach is the most kid-friendly as the water stays shallow for a long time, and it's not dangerous at all. Do yourself the favor and book a massage by Marichuy. She is divine. Best massage ever! The sound of the waves in the background, the mild wind blowing. Perfect. We had a fantastic stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great hotel for relaxation and families

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Amazing hotel relaxed and great for families. Beach is perfect food great and staff all very nice. This place is a hidden gem. Fernanda Ani. RIcki. And all the people in the resraraunt and bar areas were great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

It's lovely, and not a typical "Cancun" vacation

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Isla Holbox is a very special place, though based on construction, I don't know how long it will stay that way. The level of care and helpfulness of the staff was very good- Leno, Alhadir, and Rickylove (everyone at the front desk was great) went above and beyond. We got a master suite, all inclusive premium. We had our 4 year old with us, and for that reason I was glad we got all the bells and whistles-we didn't have to plan anything while we were there. The food was good, if redundant after a week. The accommodations were lovely, but of course, sand is everywhere on the beach, and a few things were definitely beginning big to show some age. Overall, it was amazing, and would hope to go again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice but, don't expect

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Hotel was nice for the area. But, don't go expecting a riviera all inclusive. We had a great time after the first day. Check in was not a typical meet and greet. We felt confused and not sure of all the amenities offered.Once we firgured out the layout and the routine we felt more at ease. We went expecting one thing and found a great overall cultural experience. The locals are great and food in town is outstanding and fresh. Trip in to town is only 40 pesos and a short ride or a 15 min walk. We felt safe where ever we went. I would recommend only getting the breakfast option instead of all inclusive. Drinks are cheap and the food in town is better than the buffet food served everyday... Don't miss the sunset at Los Nubes bar and dinner at La peleones. Lobster appetizer is the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morrisville, VT

Great location, rooms need upgrades.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Staff, breakfasts, location, massages on site.
Cons: See above: This is strange: No washcloths provided. Dresser or cubbies for clothes. WiFi in room (available in lobby area only)
Location: 1/2 mile from town, everything walkable.
Amazing location with a lovely beach 1/2 mile walk to the center of town. Our room on the upper floor of one of the nicely laid out buildings in this wonderfully landscaped complex, was very spacious, but lacked a dresser or shelving unit to unpack in. Not all rooms have balconies, and ours was without one, which we did miss a bit, but the outdoor amenities more than made up for this. The bed was comfortable, but the mattress was clearly old and a little creaky, some of the decor was showing wear as well: one or 2 slats on the shutter wall separating the sitting area from the bed was broken, the very cool faucet was loose, and the bowl-type sink was not perfectly level so didn't drain completely. The breakfasts (included) were amazing and the staff was top-notch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Hotel staff were not happy to help costumers. Especially during meals
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lied to and moved

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: This hotel is well situated, mature but a bit claustrophobic and can be very busy making queuing at breakfast a possibility. A good breakfast included
Cons: The staff could learn to be honest
Location: excellent location, across the road from beach, plenty of shade and beds available in the grounds but not on beach itself which is a across a road
When I arrived at this hotel, I was told that I was "chosen to receive an upgrade" to a better hotel next door Hotel HM Palapas del Mar. However, we were given rooms with different specification than we booked. After further discussions I found out that they were overbooked and there was no "special upgrade". The staff at the second hotel were very aged and helpful - see separate review. So my comments are based on limited experience of it. It is well located, easy (10 min ) walk into the small town, plenty of good value restaurants and bars. It is a lovely relaxing island.
4 out of 5
by Bill

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, pleasing experience.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The food for lunch.
Location: sailing, biking,
We liked everything about the hotel except for the fact that the pool is towards the back of the property and seems to be destined for the kids. The breakfast was wonderful with a juice bar and everything you can imagine. the pastries and bread were not so great but overall two thumbs up. We were surprised and sad to see almost no Mexican dishes ever in the buffet however. The pool snacks and lunch were not nice and the menu, very unimaginative. Nobody wants a warm salad, bad fries or a ceviche that was clearly not fresh. The room was beautiful and spacious but a little dark. I appreciated that unlike other nearby hotels, Paraiso had not turned the dune into a sand patch for extra lounges. It is very important to protect this fragile ecosystem which can save them from hurricanes. Although the hotel is pretty big (compared to others) with 80 plus rooms, we didnt seem to "feel" that many people ever. Our favorite part of the day was walking the beautiful white - sand beach early in the morning. Thanks Paraiso and Holbox for a wonderful week.