Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Nice hotel on a wonderful beach.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The location and the beautiful grounds.
Cons: Need WiFi in rooms and should have TV in all rooms.
Location: On the beach. A four block walk to most restaurants and shopping.
Service is good. There are no chairs in the room, only the bed to sit on. There is free WiFi but you can only connect if you are in the hotel lobby; cannot connect in the rooms. Wonderful accommodations on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bend oregon

Best way to relax

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Reliable staff, friendly , helpful with arrangements and beautiful setting. Not a overly commercialized hotel ... very relaxing
Cons: Bartenders could use tad more training
Location: On the north point of island. Swimming, snorkeling,whale shark tours , restaurant, shopping
After 12 hr days 7 days a week Na Balam was the best vacation I've had. Hotel was right on the beach an the staff was very accommodating. The nearby restaurants were close and staff helped arrange transportation around island. Been to lots of beaches..this hands down is the cleanest beach ever. Ever morning staff made sure it was always beautiful even after a squal rolled thru. Beach staff never let me go to long without necessary refreshments. Can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

A great experience.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The intimate nature of it.
Cons: A little modernizing. DO NOT TEAR IT DOWN!!!!!!!
Location: Great location.
The whole staff, including Braulio and Irving were very professional and helpful. We stayed on the ocean side, but fell in love with the pool side, and planned our next stay to be on the pool side. Unfortunately, we learned that the entire facility is going to be torn down in May of 2018. What a shame! David Van Houten
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is perfect

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Staff was super friendly but our air conditioning went out twice during our stay. We had booked a room with two beds since it was a family of four and at hotel they gave us a room with a king size and brought in one twin bed. We shared the king with our youngest, so it wasn't the most comfortable sleeping arrangement. The location of hotel makes up for it. They have the best beach access.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Front desk staff was terrible

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The person working the afternoon shift during our check in on 7/2/2017 and the morning shift 7/5/2017 was the same person. I requested late check out the night before with a different staff member. He gave us 1pm and said we could stay until 3pm if we paid a fee. I agreed and was rudely awakened by the morning staff person at 12:20pm asking us to leave saying they were booked and we had 20 min to vacate the room. Extremely rude person and practically called me a liar when I explained to him the late check out I had been offered before. One of the restaurant servers was terrible too and they are all trained to practically beg for tips. I tip! I always tip! I hate being reminded to have to tip and each time I was reminded from my first meal as if I needed a reminder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newport beach

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Robes in room, more than one tiny bottle of water per person in room.
Location: beach, yoga, street food.
last night on the Island after a long quiet week. We reserved the plunge pool with ocean view. The location of the pool was right above the beach, with beautiful views. Amazing views of the lagoon and island side facing the Mia reef. The only downside was we were right next to the Fenix lounge so everyone could see us when we stood up to get in and out of the pool, no privacy. (Fenix also played loud music until the last customers dwindled down.) We were in room #13. So not exactly what we expected for the $340 price. The hotel itself is simple, very nice staff and quiet area. The beach areas were beautiful and the food was good. Rental of a cabanna was $500 pesos, or you could use the free ones, with the same great view. I did love the street vendors that came by with fruit and a few simple things. No hustle, just sweet ladies. check in was simple, however they do not let you check in early. You may check your luggage and go to the pool or beach. So, don't expect an early check in for a nap. Enjoy..... Hope my review helps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Mayan Paradise

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Cons: The restaurant should let you run a tab to be placed on your hotel bill. Credit card could only be used 1x a day & unable to run tab until end of day.
Beautiful boutique hotel located on the beach. Thatch roof rooms with vaulted ceilings, cool tropical shade surroundings, lovely wood furnishings and attentive staff. If you are looking for WiFi, TV, phones and Ipod docking stations this hotel won't appeal to you. If you are looking for a stay where you can disconnect from the world; have your children play with the children of other multi-national guests; lounge on beach beds within feet of calm, cool Azul waters of Isla Mujeres, then this is the Mayan Paradise you are looking for. The ceviche, tacos, guacamole and grilled octopus at the restaurant are to die for. The wood-fire pizzas at the restaurant are also wonderful. The Mayan clay spa treatment on the beach was exquisite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Marcos, TX

A relaxing place to stay!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The location is ideal: a stone's throw from the beach and easily walking distance to restaurant row/shops. Room: perfect - who needs a TV? Go for it!
Cons: Opening the door to the room with the type of key used took getting used to. LOL Service @ bar was below par - had to flag waiter to order & pay.
Location: As mentioned above beach is right there and golf cart not needed to access nearby restaurant/shop row.
The staff was courteous and accommodating. The overall experience there was for us a peaceful, relaxing place to sleep each night after a day of fun in the sun (read: swimming, eating, drinking responsibly,shopping and general cavorting around the island).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best beach area on island

Posted Jun 25, 2017
The hotel and waitstaff overall was very nice, especially the restaurant waitstaff (Nicholas and Salvador are the best!). The beds are a little on the firm side for me but some like that I guess. The weathet was terrible while we were there but had a great time hanging out at the bar with the bartenders. The sun finally returned on our last day so we got to enjoy the beautiful beach and crystal clear blue water. The water off the beach is amazing and feels looks like your swimming in an aquarium, its so clear. Our friends stayed in the plunge pool room and not sure its worth extra money for the pool. Its just a water catch basin really. Its very cold water and not a jaquzzi in any way. Our friends never used it. I guess if you want a room right on the beach then its worth it for that, but to access the beach, you still have to leave your room and walk around. Other rooms are just set back extra 30-50 feet for less.
4 out of 5
by Annette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels