Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Hotel is great! However the rumors are true in August they are closing!!! Very sad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Aging beauty

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Beach front, free beach loungers, sewer outfall delivers smell to beach and water, clean water to the front of Villa Kiin. Service at room and breakfast is unreliable. So is WiFi. No fridge and TV available. Drainage problems in various bathrooms. Pool front rooms are older, the pick are upstairs. In a beautiful overgrown garden setting Tarzan style. Still good value for an overpriced Carribbean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Na

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: size
Cons: WI-FI
Location: walking distance to everything
After checking in to a deluxe room by the yoga studio across the street and no beach view, I immediately requested an upgrade to a suite which cost almost $100 more per night "ouch" The suite was very nice with its own pool and patio and partial beach view. It was advertised with a Jacuzzi but it was just a big shower and luke warm water. We really enjoyed the suite. BEWARE of the deluxe room by the yoga studio..very uncomfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Placed in a room across the street

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Burn the hotel down.
Location: Located on a crowded beach full of seaweed, it's charm is outnumbered by the people trying to sell you Made In China tourist trinkets and weed.
Placed in a room across the street from the hotel/restaurant property. Requested a move to the hotel property and they said "no, you will be ok because we have a security camera over there." Requested a move to another room as ours had mosquitos and a city street light shines into the window with no curtains. Asked to move into the actual hotel, the manager says that since the room was pre-paid with Expedia, they "would not upgrade". Pool was filthy and unusable. Restaurant staff scoff at your request for the included room breakfast as it is a separate restaurant with a free breakfast agreement with the hotel. Beach bed mattresses smell like urine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location on the beach!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Staff and great location
Cons: rooms need to be updated
Location: Close to ferry,restaurants and the town
Great location right on the beach with a fabulous attentive staff. Food and beverage is excellent and affordable! Rooms are rustic, but the service and location makes up for the rustic rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Location and feeling

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Loved the location and relaxed vibe here. If you're looking for a traditional hotel then this might not be exactly what you're looking for. But my 7 yr old daughter and I spent 5 nights here and very much enjoyed it. Right on one the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. So be prepared for sand! Great breakfast every morning. The bar might be a party spot in on the weekend, not sure since we left on a Friday. Would love to take a romantic vacation getaway here. Easy walk to main street. Really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: The location and the beach were awesome!
Cons: Hot water did not ever work even after leaving the water running for 5+ minutes.
Great location and loved the beach. There was not hot water in our room, and the maid service did not stock coffee every morning. The staff was not nearly as friendly as some of the other hotels we visited in the area, but overall we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Stay for the BEACH

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The Beach
Cons: The rooms aren't the best and No WIFI in the room
While the Hotel itself is just okay, the beach is AMAZING! We did enjoys the staff they are very nice and go out of their way to help you. The Hotel rooms are on the low end, but we didn't pay a ton so didn't expect too much, but the beach is perfect. You get a cabana with your stay, and the cove and ocean are right there! We would stay here again just to get the amazing beach again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Nice hotel on a wonderful beach.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The location and the beautiful grounds.
Cons: Need WiFi in rooms and should have TV in all rooms.
Location: On the beach. A four block walk to most restaurants and shopping.
Service is good. There are no chairs in the room, only the bed to sit on. There is free WiFi but you can only connect if you are in the hotel lobby; cannot connect in the rooms. Wonderful accommodations on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bend oregon

Best way to relax

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Reliable staff, friendly , helpful with arrangements and beautiful setting. Not a overly commercialized hotel ... very relaxing
Cons: Bartenders could use tad more training
Location: On the north point of island. Swimming, snorkeling,whale shark tours , restaurant, shopping
After 12 hr days 7 days a week Na Balam was the best vacation I've had. Hotel was right on the beach an the staff was very accommodating. The nearby restaurants were close and staff helped arrange transportation around island. Been to lots of beaches..this hands down is the cleanest beach ever. Ever morning staff made sure it was always beautiful even after a squal rolled thru. Beach staff never let me go to long without necessary refreshments. Can't wait to go back.