Ratings based on 856 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Perfect

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Amazing place. Great location. Good for Families as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Basic room but clean. Great location!

Posted Feb 20, 2018
We stayed in the tower area... newer area. It was basic but very clean. Our maid was great.. Rebecca!! The location is awesome. .. on the beach and only minutes from the downtown area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Excellent location, friendly staff and very clean rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot in Isla!

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Very clean hotel steps away from a beautiful beach. There are loungers and umbrellas for rent on the beach when you walk thru the back courtyard. The beds were very comfy and great A/C. All of the staff were great and the cleaning staff is fantastic. Safe in each room. We'd definitely stay here again. Great restaurant right next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Creston, IA

Location, Location, Location!!

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: location, peaceful atmosphere
Cons: it would be really nice if a coffee maker, and microwave or hot plate were available.
Location: Next to North Garden, across the street from Cha Cha Cha and Sea Hawk Divers. Buho is to the north on the beach.
This hotel is steps away from the Playa Norte. Reasonably quiet. Cha Cha Cha is across the street and there is live music, but only until 10 p.m. It's entertaining and you can't beat the proximity to Isla's currently rated #1 restaurant on the island, North Garden. You're a few blocks from Centro, easy walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manitoba canada

Good location average accommodation

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Everything was as advertised we had no problems whatsoever. Never ate at the restaurant but can say not real good service at the bar but with so many choice just have a beer somewhere else. I would return to this hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape cod mass

Best location

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Great location Clean and good water provided complimentary Breakfast is toast juice and coffee Beach is nice you rent everything nothing included Best beach to the right
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

On beach, close to town

Posted Feb 1, 2018
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Screens on the windows, hair dryers in room, beach chairs and umbrellas should be free.
Location: Right on Playa Norte, walking distance to downtown.
We stayed 8 nights and Cabanas Maria del Mar and will stay here again on our next trip. Location was perfect for us. You are right on the beach and just a five minute walk to downtown. Our room was very basic but clean. The grounds and pool area are like a tropical garden. Lots of plants, flowers and palm trees. It was beautiful. There are no hair dryers or coffee makers in the room but I knew that so brought my own. I loved having coffee on the balcony each morning and looking at the ocean. You can get beach towels at the front desk so don't bother packing those. You can also rent golf carts in the lobby so that's very convenient. There's water dispensers spaced throughout the area and a mini fridge in the room. There is a small safe in the room. Another thing I packed was wash cloths and I am glad I did because they didn't have any. We have found that to be the case at many places we have stayed in Mexico. You can sit on your balcony at night and listen to the live music from across the street at Cha Cha Cha. They are done by 10:00 or 11:00. It didn't bother us or keep us awake. They don't have screens on the windows. I like to have the windows open and let the ocean air in but we had to run the air conditioning instead. They have loungers and umbrellas available for rent on the beach. It's only a small fee, but I feel that should be included if you are staying there. These are just small negatives and will not stop us from returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn, usa

Very friendly and inviting beachside hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2018
If you are looking for a quaint hotel on the beach with a balcony, Cabanas Maria is a great option. Simple rooms with bed, table, tv, and bathroom, in a destination that you will likely be out of your room most of the time. Each time we come back there are improvements like updated outlets, ceiling fans, and bathroom updates, so we like it for the price. The garden is beautiful and relaxing around the pool area, and all the staff are friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and simple. Best location in town.

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Pros: Location, the king beds were excellent and very clean rooms.
Cons: A foot bath or a hose to wash your feet when u go up to the rooms. Better breakfast or at least better coffee.
Location: Location is perfect. eat at Amar, Olivia's, Lola Valentina, North Garden everyday for Breakfast. Isla brewery is a great stop on a golf cart tour.
Stayed in the Castillo side- best part of the hotel to stay in.Very simple rooms, very clean. Great king beds, nice balconies, cold mini fridge. Best beach on isla. Honestly the best value in town. Just eat the toast at breakfast, skip the coffee and go to North garden up the street for breakfast or coffee to go. 2 short blocks from the main strip. 1 block from the food market when u can get fresh juice and fruit. If you are going to rent a golf cart their prices are the same as everywhere else but they rent for 24 hours which is nice. Very safe and chill. Wifi is perfect in their palapa bar- buhos. Not fancy but the location out weighs everything.